Course overview
Bachelor of Film (Production) is a undergraduate (bachelor's) course in arts, design & media at SAE University College in Sydney, Australia. It takes 6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-time, with intakes in February; May; September.
SAE University College is a private institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | SAE University College (Private) |
|---|---|
| Location | Sydney, Australia |
| Course | Bachelor of Film (Production) |
| Level | Bachelor's (undergraduate) |
| Subject area | Arts, Design & Media |
| Duration | 6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-time |
| Tuition per year | A$29,640 (≈ ₹19.3 lakh) |
| Intakes | February; May; September |
| English requirement | IELTS Academic 6.0 (no band below 5.5), or equivalent |
Interested in Bachelor of Film (Production)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is A$29,640 a year, about ₹19.3 lakh. Over 2 years that is roughly A$59,280 (≈ ₹38.5 lakh) before any yearly increase.
Indicative annual course fee for international students on the SAE course page (based on 1.0 EFTSL, a full-time year), plus the SSAF (A$384 a year maximum in 2027). The fee year is not stated; the page lists 2027 start dates. Units: 14 × A$3,705 and 5 × A$7,410
Living costs for Australia as a whole: A$29,710–40,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsCareer outcomes
Graduate employment
53%
Full-time employment rate
Highly skilled jobs
51%
Employed in a managerial or professional occupation
Average (median) salary
A$63,200
≈ ₹41.1 lakh a year
Median annual full-time salary, about 4-6 months after course completion, domestic undergraduates
Job roles
- Film director
- Film/video editor
- Television/film/video producer
- Animator
- Location manager
- VFX artist
Employers hiring for these roles worldwide
Disney
Netflix
Warner Bros. Discovery
BBC
Sony
Wētā FX
Wētā Workshop
DNEG
Endemol Shine Group
ProSiebenSat.1
Eligibility
General entry requirements at SAE University College for bachelor's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Australian Year 12 (SSCE) or an equivalent overseas qualification, such as Class 12. If you are unsure whether your certificate counts, send your records with your application and SAE's International Admissions team will review them.
- Bachelor of Computer Science also accepts formal training equivalent to an Australian VET Certificate IV or above.
- You must be 18 or older when you arrive in Australia to start.
- Experience Based Entry (interview plus evidence such as a CV, statement or portfolio) is possible if you lack formal qualifications.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS Academic 6.0 (no band below 5.5), or equivalent.
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | Bachelor's: 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5. Master of IT: 6.5 with no band below 6.0. IELTS Academic taken online is not accepted. |
| PTE Academic | SAE's equivalence table lists PTE 52 for IELTS 6.0 and PTE 59 for IELTS 6.5, with sub-score minimums. |
| TOEFL iBT | SAE's table lists 67–80 as equal to IELTS 6.0 and 81–90 as equal to IELTS 6.5. |
| Duolingo | Not listed on SAE's international entry requirements page. |
| Other routes | Australian Year 12 English (or equivalent) with a Satisfactory result, or an Academic English programme with an SAE-approved partner in Australia. |
Intakes
This course starts in: February; May; September.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in AustraliaHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for Australia, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- International application form
- Copies of all education records (Class 12 marksheet, degree transcripts and certificates)
- English test result from the last two years (online IELTS Academic is not accepted)
- Passport
- Portfolio, CV or statement if applying through Experience Based Entry
Scholarships
Creative Media & Technology Scholarship
UG
Value: A$3,000 to A$5,000 towards tuition
New international students starting an SAE bachelor's degree; judged on academic, creative and motivation criteria, and may include a short interview.
Official pageMaster of Information Technology Scholarship
PG
Value: Up to A$10,000 towards tuition
New international students enrolling in the Master of Information Technology in Australia; September 2026 and February 2027 intakes only.
Official page
About SAE University College
SAE University College is a private creative media and technology college in Australia, part of the Navitas Group. It teaches diplomas, associate degrees, bachelor's degrees and a master's degree in film, audio, music, animation, games, VFX, design, computer science and information technology, with campuses in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Byron Bay. TEQSA lists it as a University College that can accredit its own courses.
Indian students look at SAE for hands-on film, animation, games and audio degrees, and for computer science and IT in Sydney. Bachelor's degrees can be taken over 6 trimesters (2-year fast track), 8 or 9 trimesters, and include 80 hours of work placement. SAE is not ranked in the QS or THE world university tables.
Similar courses
Arts, Design & Media courses at other universities in Australia
- Bachelor of 3D AnimationAcademy of Interactive Technology3 years full time (Sydney or Melbourne) · A$23,000 / year
- Bachelor of Game DesignAcademy of Interactive Technology3 years full time (Sydney or Melbourne) · A$23,000 / year
- Bachelor of 2D AnimationAcademy of Interactive Technology3 years full time (Sydney or Melbourne) · A$23,000 / year
- Diploma of 3D AnimationAcademy of Interactive Technology1 year full time (Sydney or Melbourne) · A$23,000 / year
- Bachelor of Music (Performance)Australian Academy of Music and Performing Arts2 years (6 trimesters, full time) · A$39,300 / year
- Bachelor of DanceAustralian Academy of Music and Performing Arts2 years (6 trimesters, full time) · A$39,300 / year
More courses at SAE University College
- Master of Information Technology6 trimesters full-time (2 years) · A$25,440 / year
- Bachelor of Computer Science6 trimesters (2-year fast track) or 8 trimesters (2.5 years) full-time · A$29,640 / year
- Bachelor of Information Technology6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-time · A$29,640 / year
- Bachelor of Games Development (Games Programming)6, 8 or 9 trimesters full-time · A$29,640 / year
- Bachelor of Animation6 trimesters (about 2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-time · A$29,640 / year
- Bachelor of Games Development (Games Design)6, 8 or 9 trimesters full-time · A$29,640 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for Bachelor of Film (Production) at SAE University College?
The tuition for international students is A$29,640 a year (about ₹19.3 lakh). Indicative annual course fee for international students on the SAE course page (based on 1.0 EFTSL, a full-time year), plus the SSAF (A$384 a year maximum in 2027). The fee year is not stated; the page lists 2027 start dates. Units: 14 × A$3,705 and 5 × A$7,410. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Bachelor of Film (Production)?
The course takes 6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-time.
What English score do I need?
IELTS Academic 6.0 (no band below 5.5), or equivalent. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: February; May; September. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
