Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge across the harbour water, with the city skyline on the right on a partly cloudy morning.
Flag of Australia

SAE University College

Sydney, Australia · Private · Est. SAE dates its history to hands-on audio education in 1976; the Australian founding year is not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

SAE dates its history to hands-on audio education in 1976; the Australian founding year is not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Private

Location

Sydney, Australia

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: DXR, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

SAE University College is a private creative media and technology college in Australia, part of the Navitas Group. It teaches diplomas, associate degrees, bachelor's degrees and a master's degree in film, audio, music, animation, games, VFX, design, computer science and information technology, with campuses in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Byron Bay. TEQSA lists it as a University College that can accredit its own courses.

Indian students look at SAE for hands-on film, animation, games and audio degrees, and for computer science and IT in Sydney. Bachelor's degrees can be taken over 6 trimesters (2-year fast track), 8 or 9 trimesters, and include 80 hours of work placement. SAE is not ranked in the QS or THE world university tables.

Type
Private University College (SAE Institute Pty Ltd, trading as SAE University College), part of the Navitas Group; authorised by TEQSA to self-accredit its courses
TEQSA / CRICOS
TEQSA PRV12042; CRICOS 00312F
Campuses for international students
Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide (plus Byron Bay and Online for other students)
Intakes
February, May and September (2027), varying by course and campus
Students
From over 40 countries (SAE's own figure)
Subjects
Animation, audio, computer science, creative industries, design, film, games, IT, music and VFX

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 9 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (AUD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Information Technology6 trimesters full-time (2 years)A$25,440≈ ₹16.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Computer Science6 trimesters (2-year fast track) or 8 trimesters (2.5 years) full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Games Development (Games Programming)6, 8 or 9 trimesters full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Animation6 trimesters (about 2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Film (Production)6 trimesters (2 years), 8 trimesters (2.5 years) or 9 trimesters (3 years) full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Games Development (Games Design)6, 8 or 9 trimesters full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Audio6, 8 or 9 trimesters full-timeA$29,640≈ ₹19.3 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at SAE University College with similar universities in Australia.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      Creative Media & Technology Scholarship

      Value: A$3,000 to A$5,000 towards tuition

      Eligibility: New international students starting an SAE bachelor's degree; judged on academic, creative and motivation criteria, and may include a short interview.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • PG

      Master of Information Technology Scholarship

      Value: Up to A$10,000 towards tuition

      Eligibility: New international students enrolling in the Master of Information Technology in Australia; September 2026 and February 2027 intakes only.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Australian Year 12 (SSCE) or an equivalent overseas qualification, such as Class 12. If you are unsure whether your certificate counts, send your records with your application and SAE's International Admissions team will review them.
    • Bachelor of Computer Science also accepts formal training equivalent to an Australian VET Certificate IV or above.
    • You must be 18 or older when you arrive in Australia to start.
    • Experience Based Entry (interview plus evidence such as a CV, statement or portfolio) is possible if you lack formal qualifications.

    Postgraduate

    • Master of Information Technology: an Australian bachelor's degree in any discipline or an equivalent qualification, or a substantial portfolio showing at least three years of relevant industry experience.

    Documents

    • International application form
    • Copies of all education records (Class 12 marksheet, degree transcripts and certificates)
    • English test result from the last two years (online IELTS Academic is not accepted)
    • Passport
    • Portfolio, CV or statement if applying through Experience Based Entry

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS AcademicBachelor's: 6.0 overall with no band below 5.5. Master of IT: 6.5 with no band below 6.0. IELTS Academic taken online is not accepted.
    PTE AcademicSAE's equivalence table lists PTE 52 for IELTS 6.0 and PTE 59 for IELTS 6.5, with sub-score minimums.
    TOEFL iBTSAE's table lists 67–80 as equal to IELTS 6.0 and 81–90 as equal to IELTS 6.5.
    DuolingoNot listed on SAE's international entry requirements page.
    Other routesAustralian Year 12 English (or equivalent) with a Satisfactory result, or an Academic English programme with an SAE-approved partner in Australia.

    Accommodation and living costs

    SAE does not publish accommodation options or prices on its international student pages. Ask a Course Advisor, and budget for private rent in your campus city.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn AUDApprox. in rupees

    Campus and location

    SAE teaches studio-based courses across five campuses open to international students; not every course runs at every campus.

    • Campuses for international students: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.
    • Expect about 20 to 24 scheduled class hours a week, plus project work.
    • Bachelor's degrees include 80 hours of work placement in the final trimester.
    • International students must study full-time (1.0 EFTSL a year); up to one-third of a course can be online.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    SAE's degrees aim at film, audio, animation, games, VFX and IT roles, with a work placement built into each bachelor's degree. It publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages we checked. See our Australia guide for work and post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Australia

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Australia. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Australia

    Compare all universities in Australia

    FAQs

    How much does SAE cost for Indian students?

    SAE's course pages give an indicative annual fee of A$29,640 for most bachelor's degrees (film, animation, audio, games, IT, computer science), A$27,960 for VFX and A$25,440 for the Master of IT, plus the student services fee (up to A$384 a year in 2027).

    Can I finish an SAE bachelor's degree in two years?

    Yes, most bachelor's degrees have a 6-trimester fast-track option over two years, as well as 8- and 9-trimester options.

    What IELTS score does SAE need?

    IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for bachelor's degrees, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for the Master of IT. SAE does not accept IELTS taken online.

    Does SAE offer scholarships to international students?

    Yes. The Creative Media & Technology Scholarship gives A$3,000 to A$5,000 for new bachelor's students, and the Master of IT Scholarship gives up to A$10,000 for the September 2026 and February 2027 intakes.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for SAE University College.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories