Course overview
PhD Theology is a postgraduate (master's) course at Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland in Belfast, United Kingdom. It takes Full time or part time (length not stated; thesis of 80,000–100,000 words), with intakes in Ask Union Theological College.
Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | Belfast, United Kingdom |
| Course | PhD Theology |
| Level | Master's (postgraduate) |
| Duration | Full time or part time (length not stated; thesis of 80,000–100,000 words) |
| Tuition per year | £17,300 (≈ ₹21.1 lakh) |
| Intakes | Ask Union Theological College |
| English requirement | IELTS Academic 7.0 (6.5 in all elements) or TOEFL iBT 100 (20 in each skill), the postgraduate requirement |
Interested in PhD Theology?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is £17,300 a year, about ₹21.1 lakh.
2026/27 international (including EU) full-time fee per year, plus £210 annual registration; 2027/28 not yet shown
Living costs for the UK as a whole: £12,000–18,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsEligibility
General entry requirements at Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- PhD: typically a master's degree or equivalent in theology or a related discipline.
- Taught master's applicants send a CV, a sample of academic work, a letter of intent and two signed references, at least one academic.
- The MA in Theology and the MTh degrees are taught online, and the MDiv is part time; ask the college whether any route can lead to a Student visa.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS Academic 7.0 (6.5 in all elements) or TOEFL iBT 100 (20 in each skill), the postgraduate requirement.
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS (postgraduate) | IELTS Academic 7.0 with at least 6.5 in all elements, taken within two years of the programme start. |
| TOEFL iBT (postgraduate) | 100 overall with at least 20 in each skill. |
| IELTS (BA Theology) | 6.0 with 5.5 in all elements, or TOEFL iBT 80 (Listening 17, Reading 18, Speaking 20, Writing 17). |
| English-taught degree | Nationals of, or degree holders from, majority English-speaking countries are normally assumed to meet the UKVI requirement. |
Intakes
This course starts in: Ask Union Theological College.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in the UKHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for the UK, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- CV and letter of intent
- Sample of academic work
- Two signed references (at least one academic)
- Academic transcripts and degree certificates
- English language certificate, if applicable
- Proof of identity, name and date of birth
About Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland
The Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland (PTFI) awards postgraduate theology degrees under a Royal Charter, taught at Union Theological College in Belfast. Its undergraduate BA (Hons) Theology is validated and awarded by St Mary's University, Twickenham. Union says international students can apply, and that non-UK or Irish nationals need a Student visa for study of six months or more.
For Indian students the options are narrow. The BA (Hons) Theology has applications suspended, the MA and MTh degrees are taught online, and the Master of Divinity is part time. The full-time PhD in Theology is the programme listed here, with its published international fee.
Similar courses
FAQs
What is the fee for PhD Theology at Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland?
The tuition for international students is £17,300 a year (about ₹21.1 lakh). 2026/27 international (including EU) full-time fee per year, plus £210 annual registration; 2027/28 not yet shown. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is PhD Theology?
The course takes Full time or part time (length not stated; thesis of 80,000–100,000 words).
What English score do I need?
IELTS Academic 7.0 (6.5 in all elements) or TOEFL iBT 100 (20 in each skill), the postgraduate requirement. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: Ask Union Theological College. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland: PhD Theology (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: homepage (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: all programmes (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: PhD Theology (opens in a new tab)
