About the university
The Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland (PTFI) awards postgraduate theology degrees under a Royal Charter, taught at Union Theological College in Belfast. Its undergraduate BA (Hons) Theology is validated and awarded by St Mary's University, Twickenham. Union says international students can apply, and that non-UK or Irish nationals need a Student visa for study of six months or more.
For Indian students the options are narrow. The BA (Hons) Theology has applications suspended, the MA and MTh degrees are taught online, and the Master of Divinity is part time. The full-time PhD in Theology is the programme listed here, with its published international fee.
- Type
- Theological college; PTFI validates postgraduate degrees under its Royal Charter
- Teaching institution
- Union Theological College, Belfast
- Subjects
- Theology, biblical studies and ministry only
- Programmes
- 10 listed, including BA, MA, MTh, MDiv and PhD
- Intakes (MTh)
- Autumn and Spring semesters
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £17,300
- Duration
- Full time or part time (length not stated; thesis of 80,000–100,000 words)
- Intakes
- Ask Union Theological College
- English
- IELTS Academic 7.0 (6.5 in all elements) or TOEFL iBT 100 (20 in each skill), the postgraduate requirement
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (GBP) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| PhD Theology | Full time or part time (length not stated; thesis of 80,000–100,000 words) | £17,300 | ≈ ₹21.1 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Presbyterian Theological Faculty, Ireland with similar universities in the UK.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Applications for the BA (Hons) Theology are currently suspended. Its usual requirement is BBB at A level or equivalent, with five GCSEs at grade C/4 including English Language.
Postgraduate
- PhD: typically a master's degree or equivalent in theology or a related discipline.
- Taught master's applicants send a CV, a sample of academic work, a letter of intent and two signed references, at least one academic.
- The MA in Theology and the MTh degrees are taught online, and the MDiv is part time; ask the college whether any route can lead to a Student visa.
Documents
- CV and letter of intent
- Sample of academic work
- Two signed references (at least one academic)
- Academic transcripts and degree certificates
- English language certificate, if applicable
- Proof of identity, name and date of birth
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS (postgraduate) | IELTS Academic 7.0 with at least 6.5 in all elements, taken within two years of the programme start. |
| TOEFL iBT (postgraduate) | 100 overall with at least 20 in each skill. |
| IELTS (BA Theology) | 6.0 with 5.5 in all elements, or TOEFL iBT 80 (Listening 17, Reading 18, Speaking 20, Writing 17). |
| English-taught degree | Nationals of, or degree holders from, majority English-speaking countries are normally assumed to meet the UKVI requirement. |
Accommodation and living costs
The Union Theological College pages we opened do not describe student accommodation or its costs; ask the college office.
| Item | In GBP | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
PTFI's degrees are taught at Union Theological College in Belfast, Northern Ireland.
- Theology, biblical studies, ethics and ministry programmes.
- MA and MTh degrees delivered online, some through the Alexandrian Institute.
- Ordained ministry and deaconess training programmes.
- International students can pay fees online through TransferMate.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Union's MDiv is designed for advanced study of the disciplines needed for Christian ministry. The college publishes no graduate employment figures on the pages we opened.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in the UK
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in the UK

Photo: Hampshire County Council, OGL 3 PublicUniversity of Southampton (official website, opens in a new tab)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Data Science & AI

Photo: DrPhoenix, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicThe University of Manchester (official website, opens in a new tab)
Manchester, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Life Sciences

Photo: Tim Green from Bradford, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Leeds (official website, opens in a new tab)
Leeds, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Diliff, CC BY 3.0 PublicUniversity of Glasgow (official website, opens in a new tab)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Computer Science & IT, Law

Photo: Oscar Taylor, CC BY-SA 2.0 PublicCoventry University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Coventry, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Simonham, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Birmingham (official website, opens in a new tab)
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Law
FAQs
Can Indian students study at Union Theological College?
International students can apply, and Union says non-UK or Irish nationals need a Student visa for study of six months or more. Its BA is suspended and its taught master's degrees are online or part time, so check with the college which route suits a Student visa.
What does the PhD cost for international students?
For 2026/27 entrants, £17,300 a year full time (£8,650 part time), plus a £210 annual registration fee.
What English score do postgraduates need?
IELTS Academic 7.0 with 6.5 in all elements, or TOEFL iBT 100 with 20 in each skill.
Sources
- Union Theological College: homepage (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: all programmes (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: PhD Theology (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: BA (Hons) Theology (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: MTh in Reformed Theology (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: Master of Divinity (opens in a new tab)
- Union Theological College: fees (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.union.ac.uk (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details

