About the university
Plymouth Marjon University is a small university on a single campus in Derriford, Plymouth, with roots going back to 1840. It is known for sport, sport therapy, speech and language therapy, education and health courses, and it says it has welcomed students from more than 60 countries.
Its non-UK fees are £15,200 a year for undergraduate degrees and £16,500 for full-time taught master's in 2026/27. Undergraduates apply through UCAS and postgraduates apply directly. Non-UK students pay the full year's fee before starting, as Marjon does not offer them instalments.
- Founded
- Est. 1840 (Marjon homepage)
- Type
- Public university, strong in sport, health and education
- Campus
- Single campus at Derriford, Plymouth
- International students
- From more than 60 countries (Marjon international page)
- On-campus housing
- Seven halls of residence and a student village of 38 houses
- Deposit for CAS
- 50% of the first year's tuition
Rankings
Complete University Guide (UK) 2027
=125th of 130 UK universities
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
MSc Business, Management and Enterprise
- Fee / year
- £16,500
- Duration
- 1 year full time (hybrid: campus and online, two days a week)
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 in each category, or PTE Academic UKVI 76 in each (Student visa)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £16,500
- Duration
- Full time available (length not stated); up to 3 years part time
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 in each category, or PTE Academic UKVI 76 in each (Student visa)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £16,500
- Duration
- 1 year full time
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 in each category, or PTE Academic UKVI 76 in each (Student visa)
- Undergraduate
BSc (Hons) Sport & Exercise Sciences
- Fee / year
- £15,200
- Duration
- 3 years full time
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.0 in each category, or PTE Academic UKVI 59 in each
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- £15,200
- Duration
- 3 years full time
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.0 in each category, or PTE Academic UKVI 59 in each
- Undergraduate
BSc (Hons) Speech & Language Therapy
- Fee / year
- £15,200
- Duration
- 3.5 years full time
- Intakes
- Start month not stated on the course page; ask Marjon
- English
- IELTS 8.0 with no element below 7.5
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (GBP) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSc Business, Management and Enterprise | 1 year full time (hybrid: campus and online, two days a week) | £16,500 | ≈ ₹20.1 lakh |
| Master of Public Health (MPH) | Full time available (length not stated); up to 3 years part time | £16,500 | ≈ ₹20.1 lakh |
| MSc Psychology (Conversion) | 1 year full time | £16,500 | ≈ ₹20.1 lakh |
| BSc (Hons) Sport & Exercise Sciences | 3 years full time | £15,200 | ≈ ₹18.5 lakh |
| BSc (Hons) Sport Therapy | 3 years full time | £15,200 | ≈ ₹18.5 lakh |
| BSc (Hons) Speech & Language Therapy | 3.5 years full time | £15,200 | ≈ ₹18.5 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Plymouth Marjon University with similar universities in the UK.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Typically 104–120 UCAS points (112–128 for Speech & Language Therapy) or an equivalent qualification. Marjon's pages do not give a Class 12 percentage; ask admissions.
- Apply through UCAS.
Postgraduate
- Usually a 2:2 honours degree in any subject (MSc Business, Management and Enterprise) or a related subject (MPH); a 2:1 for MSc Psychology.
- Apply directly to Marjon.
Documents
- Passport
- Academic transcripts and certificates
- IELTS for UKVI or PTE Academic UKVI result
- Deposit of 50% of the first year's tuition to receive the CAS
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS (undergraduate, Student visa) | IELTS for UKVI with at least 6.0 in each category. |
| IELTS (postgraduate, Student visa) | IELTS for UKVI with at least 6.5 in each category. |
| PTE Academic UKVI | 59 in each category (undergraduate) or 76 in each category (postgraduate). |
| Higher requirements | Some courses ask for more: Speech & Language Therapy needs IELTS 8.0 with no element below 7.5. |
| Class 12 English | Marjon's English requirements page does not mention a Class 12 waiver. |
Accommodation and living costs
Marjon owns and manages seven halls of residence and a 38-house student village on campus, with bills, contents insurance and broadband included. The accommodation page does not list room prices; it says they are significantly lower than the South West average of £166 a week (NUS/Unipol 2021 survey).
| Item | In GBP | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
Marjon has one campus on Derriford Road, Plymouth, with housing, teaching and dining on site.
- Seven halls and a 38-house student village on campus.
- Three dining outlets: the Dining Hall, the Grandstand Cafe and Barjon.
- 24/7 support from duty staff and senior resident students in term time.
- Sport courses endorsed by CASES and CIMSPA; Sport Therapy accredited by the STO.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Marjon's pages we opened do not publish graduate employment figures. Several courses lead to professional registration, such as Speech & Language Therapy (HCPC). For the Graduate Route, see our UK guide.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in the UK
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in the UK

Photo: Hampshire County Council, OGL 3 PublicUniversity of Southampton (official website, opens in a new tab)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Data Science & AI

Photo: DrPhoenix, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicThe University of Manchester (official website, opens in a new tab)
Manchester, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Life Sciences

Photo: Tim Green from Bradford, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Leeds (official website, opens in a new tab)
Leeds, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Diliff, CC BY 3.0 PublicUniversity of Glasgow (official website, opens in a new tab)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Computer Science & IT, Law

Photo: Oscar Taylor, CC BY-SA 2.0 PublicCoventry University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Coventry, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Simonham, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Birmingham (official website, opens in a new tab)
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Law
FAQs
What are Plymouth Marjon's fees for international students?
For 2026/27, non-UK fees are £15,200 a year for undergraduate degrees and £16,500 for full-time taught master's. 2027/28 fees are not yet published.
How much deposit do I pay?
50% of the first year's tuition before Marjon issues your CAS; the rest is due before registration. It is refundable if your visa is refused, unless the refusal is due to incorrect or fraudulent documents.
What IELTS score does Marjon need?
IELTS for UKVI with 6.0 in each part for undergraduate study and 6.5 in each part for postgraduate study.
Sources
- Plymouth Marjon University: homepage (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: fees and funding (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: international student visas (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: English language requirements (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: courses for international students (opens in a new tab)
- Plymouth Marjon University: accommodation (opens in a new tab)
- Complete University Guide 2027 league table (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.marjon.ac.uk (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
