About the university
Heritage College is a public English-language CEGEP in Gatineau, Quebec, across the river from Ottawa. It teaches two-year pre-university programmes (Science, Social Science, Liberal Arts, Visual Arts) and three-year career programmes such as Computer Science, Business Administration, Nursing and Electronics Engineering Technology. It awards the Quebec college diploma (DEC), not degrees.
Heritage accepts international students whose schooling is equivalent to Quebec's Secondary V, through the SRAM admissions service. Fees for non-Canadian students are CAD 7,000 a semester for most programmes. You need a Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ) and a study permit before the first day of class, or you must reapply the next year.
- Type
- Public English-language CEGEP; the only public Anglophone CEGEP in Western Quebec. Awards the DEC (DCS) college diploma, not degrees
- Location
- Gatineau, Quebec, beside Gatineau Park and about ten minutes from downtown Ottawa
- Programmes
- 7 three-year career programmes and 4 two-year pre-university programmes
- Semesters
- Fall (August) and Winter (January)
- International fee
- CAD 7,000 a semester for most programmes; CAD 9,061 for Electronics Engineering Technology; CAD 10,849 for Nursing
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
Computer Science (career programme)
- Fee / year
- C$14,000
- Duration
- 3 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
Business Administration (career programme)
- Fee / year
- C$14,000
- Duration
- 3 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$21,698
- Duration
- 3 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
Electronics Engineering Technology (career programme)
- Fee / year
- C$18,122
- Duration
- 3 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
Graphic and Web Design (career programme)
- Fee / year
- C$14,000
- Duration
- 3 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
Science (pre-university programme)
- Fee / year
- C$14,000
- Duration
- 2 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
- Undergraduate
Social Science (pre-university programme)
- Fee / year
- C$14,000
- Duration
- 2 years (DEC)
- Intakes
- August (Fall)
- English
- Proof of sufficient English required (Heritage's test rules are set in its bylaw; minimum scores not stated on the admissions page)
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (CAD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science (career programme) | 3 years (DEC) | C$14,000 | ≈ ₹9.4 lakh |
| Business Administration (career programme) | 3 years (DEC) | C$14,000 | ≈ ₹9.4 lakh |
| Nursing (career programme) | 3 years (DEC) | C$21,698 | ≈ ₹14.5 lakh |
| Electronics Engineering Technology (career programme) | 3 years (DEC) | C$18,122 | ≈ ₹12.1 lakh |
| Graphic and Web Design (career programme) | 3 years (DEC) | C$14,000 | ≈ ₹9.4 lakh |
| Science (pre-university programme) | 2 years (DEC) | C$14,000 | ≈ ₹9.4 lakh |
| Social Science (pre-university programme) | 2 years (DEC) | C$14,000 | ≈ ₹9.4 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Heritage College with similar universities in Canada.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Secondary education equivalent to Quebec's Secondary V Diploma, plus each programme's prerequisites.
- Apply through SRAM (Service régional d'admission du Montréal métropolitain); CAD 30 application fee. Decisions take 3 to 8 weeks.
- The offer is conditional on a CAQ (6 to 8 weeks to issue), a study permit and health insurance for the whole period of classes.
Postgraduate
- Heritage is a CEGEP and offers no postgraduate programmes.
Documents
- Valid passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
- English test result
- Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ)
- Canadian study permit
- Proof of health and hospital insurance valid for every semester
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| Language of teaching | English; Heritage is an Anglophone CEGEP |
| English proof | Required from international applicants with the admission request; tests may be offered only on set dates |
| Minimum scores | Not stated on the international applicants page; ask the Registrar's Office |
Accommodation and living costs
Heritage's international pages do not cover housing, and no housing costs are published on the pages we checked. Ask the Registrar's Office about housing before you accept an offer.
| Item | In CAD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
Heritage has one campus in Gatineau, bordering Gatineau Park and about ten minutes from downtown Ottawa.
- Career programmes last three years and lead to work; pre-university programmes last two years and lead to university.
- International students get an orientation guide in Omnivox covering arrival, transport and insurance.
- Students are enrolled in the student association's group health plan unless they opt out.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Heritage's career programmes, such as Computer Science and Nursing, prepare students for work; pre-university graduates go on to university. Jobs are not guaranteed. For work rights during and after study, see our Canada country guide.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in Canada
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Canada

Photo: aka Tman from Guelph.........Ontario, CANADA, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Toronto (official website, opens in a new tab)
Toronto, Canada
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Life Sciences, Engineering

Photo: CjayD, CC BY 2.0 PublicOften chosen for Life Sciences, Business & Management, Engineering

Photo: JFVoll, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Waterloo (official website, opens in a new tab)
Waterloo, Canada
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Engineering, Data Science & AI

Photo: Krylan22, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Windsor (official website, opens in a new tab)
Windsor, Canada
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Computer Science & IT

Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC0), CC0 PublicMcGill University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Montreal, Canada
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Engineering, Law

Photo: WinterforceMedia WinterE229, Public domain PublicUniversity of Alberta (official website, opens in a new tab)
Edmonton, Canada
Often chosen for Engineering, Data Science & AI, Life Sciences
FAQs
What does Heritage College cost for international students?
CAD 7,000 a semester for most programmes, CAD 9,061 for Electronics Engineering Technology and CAD 10,849 for Nursing. The fees are set by Quebec's ministry and can change.
Is Heritage College taught in English?
Yes. Heritage is the only public English-language CEGEP in Western Quebec.
How do I apply?
Through SRAM, the Montréal regional admissions service, which also shows which programmes are open to international students. You then need a CAQ and a study permit before classes start.
Sources
- Heritage College: fees (opens in a new tab)
- Heritage College: international applicants (opens in a new tab)
- Heritage College: programmes (opens in a new tab)
- Heritage College: future students overview (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.cegep-heritage.qc.ca (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
