Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Rouyn-Noranda, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Rouyn-Noranda, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue is a public CEGEP in north-western Quebec with campuses in Rouyn-Noranda, Val-d'Or and Amos. It lists 14 technical DECs for international students, including computer science, electrical and civil engineering technology, industrial maintenance, mineral technology, forestry, nursing, pre-hospital emergency care and pharmacy techniques. All teaching is in French.

International tuition is set by programme group: CAD 7,575 per session for human and administrative techniques, CAD 9,805 for physical techniques and CAD 11,740 for biological techniques. The college estimates total yearly costs at about CAD 28,848 to 39,057, and has residences on all three campuses.

Type
Public CEGEP (college); awards the DEC, not degrees
Language of teaching
French
Campuses
3: Rouyn-Noranda, Val-d'Or and Amos
Programmes
22 programmes; 14 technical DECs open to international students
International tuition
CAD 7,575, 9,805 or 11,740 per session, by programme group
Sessions
Autumn (August to December) and winter (January to May), 16 weeks each

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    • Undergraduate

      Techniques de l'informatique (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$15,150
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Technologie du génie électrique: automatisation et contrôle (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$19,610
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Technologie du génie civil (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$19,610
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Technologie de maintenance industrielle (mécanique) (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$19,610
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Technologie minérale (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$19,610
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Soins infirmiers (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$23,480
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Soins préhospitaliers d'urgence (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$23,480
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    • Undergraduate

      Techniques de pharmacie (DEC)

      Fee / year
      C$23,480
      Duration
      Technical DEC; see the programme page for its length
      Intakes
      Autumn (August); autumn 2027 applications open until 14 March 2027
      English
      Taught in French; no English test applies. A French test accepted by SRAM is required (C1 level asked)
    View all 14 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Techniques de l'informatique (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$15,150≈ ₹10.2 lakh
    Technologie du génie électrique: automatisation et contrôle (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie du génie civil (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie de maintenance industrielle (mécanique) (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie minérale (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Soins infirmiers (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Soins préhospitaliers d'urgence (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Techniques de pharmacie (DEC)Technical DEC; see the programme page for its lengthC$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      Exemption from supplementary tuition

      Value: Exemption from international tuition; limited number

      Eligibility: Students admitted to technical programmes. You do not apply; selected students are contacted. The 2027-28 call opens between May and August 2027

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • UG

      Merit scholarship for international students (Quebec CEGEP network)

      Value: CAD 14,000 a year, plus tuition exemption and RAMQ health coverage

      Eligibility: Based on academic record. You do not apply; selected students are contacted. The 2027-28 call opens between May and August 2027

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • You need the equivalent of a Quebec secondary diploma (Class 12 for Indian students) and the programme's school prerequisites.
    • Fill in the college's readiness form, then apply for admission (SRAM file fee CAD 85). Autumn 2027 applications close on 14 March 2027.
    • Most applicants must send a French test result accepted by SRAM.
    • After the acceptance letter, apply for the CAQ (CAD 135), the study permit (CAD 150) and biometrics (CAD 85). Allow up to six months.
    • Show about CAD 24,617 in funds. International students arrive two weeks before classes start.

    Postgraduate

    • Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue does not offer postgraduate programmes.

    Documents

    • Passport valid for the whole study period
    • Class 12 certificate and mark sheets
    • French test result
    • Acceptance letter, CAQ and study permit
    • Proof of funds (about CAD 24,617)
    • Medical exam, where required for the programme or country

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Language of teachingFrench
    English testsNot used for admission
    FrenchA French test accepted by SRAM; the international page asks for a C1 level

    Accommodation and living costs

    There are residences on all three campuses, but places are limited, so the college advises having a back-up plan. In Rouyn-Noranda, rooms include heating, electricity and Internet; bedding, a small fridge, parking and laundry are extra. Two of the three Rouyn-Noranda residences are for men only. The college's yearly budget puts residence at CAD 4,488 to 6,312.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    Rouyn-Noranda residence, single room (2026-27)C$386–391per month≈ ₹25,862 – ₹26,197
    Rouyn-Noranda residence, double room (2026-27)Per personC$341per month≈ ₹22,847
    Rouyn-Noranda residence, studio (2026-27)C$454–542per month≈ ₹30,418 – ₹36,314
    Food (college estimate)C$4,800per year≈ ₹3.2 lakh
    Health insurance (unless eligible for RAMQ)C$1,380per year≈ ₹92,460
    Total yearly cost (college estimate, with tuition)C$28,848–39,057per year≈ ₹19.3 lakh – ₹26.2 lakh

    Campus and location

    The college has three campuses in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region of north-western Quebec: Rouyn-Noranda (main), Val-d'Or and Amos.

    • Mining and resources focus: mineral technology, forestry and industrial maintenance DECs.
    • Health DECs in nursing, pre-hospital emergency care and pharmacy techniques.
    • Accounting and management DEC at the Amos campus only.
    • Residences on each campus, with limited places.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Technical DECs prepare you for jobs in Quebec. The college notes that a Quebec DEC may not be recognised outside Quebec or Canada, so check this before you enrol. See our Canada guide for work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    Is the college taught in English?

    No. All programmes are in French, and most international applicants must take a French test.

    How much is the tuition?

    CAD 7,575 per session for computer science, business and social programmes, CAD 9,805 for engineering technology and mining, and CAD 11,740 for nursing, health and forestry. There are two sessions a year.

    When is the deadline?

    Autumn 2027 applications are open until 14 March 2027.

    Are there scholarships?

    Yes, but limited. Tuition exemptions and a CAD 14,000 a year merit scholarship are awarded through the Quebec CEGEP network. You do not apply; selected students are contacted.

    Sources

    1. Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue: International students (opens in a new tab)
    2. Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue: Rouyn-Noranda residences (opens in a new tab)
    3. Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue: Homepage (opens in a new tab)

    Official website: www.cegepat.qc.ca (opens in a new tab)

    Check the latest details

    We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026. Fees, entry requirements and scholarships change every year, so confirm them on the university's website before you apply. Listing a university doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents it.

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories