Course overview
Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) is a postgraduate (master's) course at Laidlaw College in Auckland, New Zealand. It takes 1 year full-time (135 credits), with intakes in Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open.
Laidlaw College is a private institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | Laidlaw College (Private) |
|---|---|
| Location | Auckland, New Zealand |
| Course | Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) |
| Level | Master's (postgraduate) |
| Duration | 1 year full-time (135 credits) |
| Tuition per year | NZ$28,755 (≈ ₹15.5 lakh) |
| Intakes | Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open |
| English requirement | Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand English requirements for student teachers |
Interested in Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is NZ$28,755 a year, about ₹15.5 lakh.
2026 international fee for the full-time year of 135 credits (NZ$213 per credit). Needs a relevant Level 7 bachelor's degree. Laidlaw's 2027 zero-fees offer for teacher education may not apply to international students; check with the college.
Living costs for New Zealand as a whole: NZ$20,000–27,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsEligibility
General entry requirements at Laidlaw College for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma in Theology: a completed undergraduate degree or higher.
- Postgraduate Diploma and Master of Theology: a relevant degree with a B (7.0) average or higher in relevant papers.
- Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary): an appropriate Level 7 bachelor's degree.
English requirements
For this course: Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand English requirements for student teachers.
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic, Bachelor of Theology and Diploma in Christian Studies | 6.0 with 6.0 in all bands (PTE Academic 58) |
| IELTS Academic, Bachelor of Counselling and graduate theology | 6.5 with 6.0 in all bands (PTE Academic 58) |
| IELTS Academic, Postgraduate Diploma and Master of Theology | 7.0 with 7.0 in writing (PTE Academic 65) |
| Teacher education | Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand requirements for student teachers |
Intakes
This course starts in: Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in New ZealandHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for New Zealand, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
- Degree certificate and transcripts (for graduate study)
- IELTS Academic or PTE Academic result (IELTS from a single test report form)
- NZQA IQA where asked
About Laidlaw College
Laidlaw College is a Christian tertiary college that has trained leaders for church and society since 1922. It teaches theology from certificate to doctoral level, a three-year Bachelor of Counselling, and teacher education (a Bachelor of Education (Primary) and a Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary)). It has a campus in central Henderson, Auckland, with a second campus in Christchurch and distance study.
International students must study full-time and pay international fees, which for 2026 are NZ$25,560 for an average full-time year of 120 credits in most degrees. Some programmes, such as the Te Reo Māori and ministry certificates, are not open to international students.
Similar courses
FAQs
What is the fee for Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) at Laidlaw College?
The tuition for international students is NZ$28,755 a year (about ₹15.5 lakh). 2026 international fee for the full-time year of 135 credits (NZ$213 per credit). Needs a relevant Level 7 bachelor's degree. Laidlaw's 2027 zero-fees offer for teacher education may not apply to international students; check with the college. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary)?
The course takes 1 year full-time (135 credits).
What English score do I need?
Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand English requirements for student teachers. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
