About the university
Laidlaw College is a Christian tertiary college that has trained leaders for church and society since 1922. It teaches theology from certificate to doctoral level, a three-year Bachelor of Counselling, and teacher education (a Bachelor of Education (Primary) and a Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary)). It has a campus in central Henderson, Auckland, with a second campus in Christchurch and distance study.
International students must study full-time and pay international fees, which for 2026 are NZ$25,560 for an average full-time year of 120 credits in most degrees. Some programmes, such as the Te Reo Māori and ministry certificates, are not open to international students.
- Type
- Private Christian tertiary college
- Campuses
- Henderson (Auckland) and Christchurch, plus distance learning
- Study areas
- Theology, counselling and teacher education
- Course levels
- Certificate to doctoral study
- International fee 2026
- NZ$25,560 for a full-time year of most degrees (NZ$213 per credit)
- International study
- Full-time only; 2027 international applications are open
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,560
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (6.0 in all bands); PTE Academic 58
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,560
- Duration
- 3 years full-time (360 credits)
- Intakes
- Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0 (6.0 in all bands); PTE Academic 58
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary)
- Fee / year
- NZ$28,755
- Duration
- 1 year full-time (135 credits)
- Intakes
- Not stated on the pages reviewed; 2027 international applications are open
- English
- Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand English requirements for student teachers
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (NZD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Counselling | 3 years full-time | NZ$25,560 | ≈ ₹13.8 lakh |
| Bachelor of Theology | 3 years full-time (360 credits) | NZ$25,560 | ≈ ₹13.8 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) | 1 year full-time (135 credits) | NZ$28,755 | ≈ ₹15.5 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Laidlaw College with similar universities in New Zealand.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Bachelor of Theology and Diploma in Christian Studies: NCEA Level 3 or an overseas equivalent (Class 12 for Indian students).
- Bachelor of Counselling: at least 20 years old on the first day of semester.
- Bachelor of Arts: University Entrance or equivalent, with an NZQA International Qualification Assessment (IQA) of overseas qualifications before applying.
Postgraduate
- Graduate Certificate and Graduate Diploma in Theology: a completed undergraduate degree or higher.
- Postgraduate Diploma and Master of Theology: a relevant degree with a B (7.0) average or higher in relevant papers.
- Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary): an appropriate Level 7 bachelor's degree.
Documents
- Passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
- Degree certificate and transcripts (for graduate study)
- IELTS Academic or PTE Academic result (IELTS from a single test report form)
- NZQA IQA where asked
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic, Bachelor of Theology and Diploma in Christian Studies | 6.0 with 6.0 in all bands (PTE Academic 58) |
| IELTS Academic, Bachelor of Counselling and graduate theology | 6.5 with 6.0 in all bands (PTE Academic 58) |
| IELTS Academic, Postgraduate Diploma and Master of Theology | 7.0 with 7.0 in writing (PTE Academic 65) |
| Teacher education | Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand requirements for student teachers |
Accommodation and living costs
Laidlaw's pages reviewed do not list student housing prices. Students usually rent privately near the Henderson or Christchurch campus.
| Item | In NZD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
Laidlaw teaches at a campus in central Henderson, Auckland, and in Christchurch, and also by distance.
- Henderson campus in Auckland.
- Christchurch campus.
- On-campus and distance courses can be combined (international students must be full-time).
Careers and graduate outcomes
Graduates work in church ministry, counselling, chaplaincy and school teaching. Laidlaw publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our New Zealand guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in New Zealand
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in New Zealand

Photo: Colin Rose from Montreal, Canada, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Auckland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: ArtNewNZ, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Otago (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dunedin, New Zealand
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Life Sciences

Photo: Panamitsu, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicVictoria University of Wellington (official website, opens in a new tab)
Wellington, New Zealand
Often chosen for Law, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Photograph by Greg O'Beirne, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Canterbury (official website, opens in a new tab)
Christchurch, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: Sophbuchan, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicAuckland University of Technology (AUT) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Business & Management, Nursing & Allied Health

Photo: Michal Klajban, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicMassey University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Often chosen for Business & Management, Life Sciences, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much does Laidlaw cost for international students?
For 2026, most degrees cost NZ$25,560 for an average full-time year (NZ$213 per credit). The Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary) is NZ$28,755. Fees are reviewed each year.
What IELTS score do I need?
6.0 (6.0 in all bands) for the Bachelor of Theology, 6.5 (6.0 in all bands) for the Bachelor of Counselling, and 7.0 for the master's. PTE Academic is also accepted.
Can I study part-time or by distance?
International students must study full-time. Ask Laidlaw which campus and study mode your visa allows.
Sources
- Laidlaw College: home page (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: study options (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: admission requirements (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: 2026 fee schedule (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: Bachelor of Counselling (opens in a new tab)
- Laidlaw College: 2026 BTh programme summary (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.laidlaw.ac.nz (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
