About the university
The University of Lethbridge (uLethbridge) is a public university in Lethbridge, southern Alberta, which opened in 1967. It has about 8,000 students on its main Lethbridge campus and a smaller campus in downtown Calgary, and offers more than 150 undergraduate and over 70 graduate programmes. It calls itself research-intensive, with 32 research chairs, and every arts and science major can take co-op.
For Indian students the main draws are a single, clear international fee (CAD 2,466.22 per course in 2026/2027, the same for every undergraduate programme) and a wide range of business, computer science and science degrees. The Dhillon School of Business offers BBA majors in accounting, finance, marketing, global business and computer science, and the university has a new Bachelor of Engineering in Integrated Engineering.
Lethbridge is a city in southern Alberta. uLethbridge estimates off-campus living at about CAD 1,450 a month in shared housing, plus about CAD 1,500 a year for books and supplies.
- Founded
- 1967
- Type
- Public research university; one of four comprehensive academic and research universities in Alberta
- Students
- 8,051 undergraduate and graduate students (2025/2026 Progress Report)
- Countries
- Students from 88 countries (Fast Facts)
- Campuses
- Two: Lethbridge (main) and Calgary
- Student–faculty ratio
- 18.6 students per faculty member
- International tuition (2026/2027)
- CAD 24,662 a year for 10 courses; CAD 26,391 with compulsory fees
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
Computer Science (BSc; BA⪼ combined BSc/BMgt)
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree, with co-op available
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree (BBA; combined BSc/BBA also offered)
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
Engineering (Integrated Engineering) (BEng)
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- 4 years, Lethbridge campus; co-op available
- Intakes
- September (Fall) only; apply by 30 June, seats limited and filled on a rolling basis
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
- Undergraduate
Business & Supply Chain Management (BBA, integrated diploma and degree)
- Fee / year
- C$24,662
- Duration
- Full-time bachelor's degree
- Intakes
- September (Fall); January (Winter)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); PTE 61 (60 in each part); TOEFL iBT 4.5 (4.5 per section) or 86 (20 per section) for tests before 21 January 2026; Duolingo 120 (110); CAEL 70 (60)
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (CAD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science (BSc; BA⪼ combined BSc/BMgt) | Full-time bachelor's degree, with co-op available | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Computer Science (BBA) | Full-time bachelor's degree (BBA; combined BSc/BBA also offered) | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Applied Statistics (BSc) | Full-time bachelor's degree | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Engineering (Integrated Engineering) (BEng) | 4 years, Lethbridge campus; co-op available | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| General Management (BBA) | Full-time bachelor's degree | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Accounting (BBA) | Full-time bachelor's degree | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Finance (BBA) | Full-time bachelor's degree | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Business & Supply Chain Management (BBA, integrated diploma and degree) | Full-time bachelor's degree | C$24,662 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of Lethbridge with similar universities in Canada.
Scholarships
- UG
High School Awards
Value: Up to CAD 6,000
Eligibility: Students coming straight from high school; based on admission average and criteria such as leadership, volunteering, financial need or artistic ability. Apply through the General and Undergraduate award applications in the Bridge by 15 March. The page does not say whether international students qualify, so confirm with the recruitment team.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - UG
Board of Governors' Admission Scholarship
Value: Not stated on the page
Eligibility: Highest-achieving students entering with Grade 12 marks; automatic if you apply for admission by 15 December. International eligibility not stated.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- India: an academic Standard XII certificate (e.g. CBSE AISSC, ISC or a state HSC) with Second Division standing. Vocational Standard XII certificates are considered case by case.
- Some programmes have extra subject requirements; Engineering, for example, is competitive with limited seats.
- Fall applications open in mid-September; programmes can fill before the deadline, so apply early.
Postgraduate
- Graduate admission is handled by the School of Graduate Studies, which publishes separate international requirements and deadlines.
- Graduate tuition is charged per course, with a separate 2026/2027 fee schedule for each graduate programme (for example Master of Management, Master of Science in Management and a Graduate Certificate in Foundations of Data Science).
- New graduate students pay a non-refundable tuition deposit that is credited to tuition.
Documents
- Official transcripts from all secondary and post-secondary institutions
- Proof of English proficiency (unless exempt)
- Course outlines for any college or university courses you want transfer credit for
- Certified English translations plus originals for documents not in English
- Application fee payment (the application is complete only once it is paid)
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 overall, no band below 6.0 (One Skill Retake accepted) |
| PTE Academic | 61 overall, at least 60 in each part |
| TOEFL iBT | 4.5 overall and in each section; or 86 with 20 per section for tests taken before 21 January 2026 |
| Duolingo | 120 overall, at least 110 in each subscore |
| Class 12 English waiver | CBSE AISSC with the Canadian equivalent of 75% in Core or Elective English (or 80% in Functional English), or CISCE ISC with the equivalent of 75% in English |
Accommodation and living costs
First-year students coming from high school are given priority for residence on the Lethbridge campus. New students live in University Hall (dorm-style rooms) or the Kainai and Piikani House apartments, where a minimum dining plan is compulsory. Rates below are 2026-27 rates per bed for a four-month term.
| Item | In CAD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| University Hall hallway double | C$2,292per term | ≈ ₹1.5 lakh |
| University Hall single rooms and suites | C$3,228–3,992per term | ≈ ₹2.2 lakh – ₹2.7 lakh |
| Kainai and Piikani House apartments (1, 2 or 4 bedrooms) | C$4,196–6,468per term | ≈ ₹2.8 lakh – ₹4.3 lakh |
| Housing application fee and first room depositCAD 60 non-refundable fee plus CAD 100 deposit; a further CAD 900 deposit is due on accepting an offer | C$160one-off | ≈ ₹10,720 |
| Off-campus shared accommodation and living costsuLethbridge estimate | C$1,450per month | ≈ ₹97,150 |
Campus and location
The main campus is at 4401 University Drive, Lethbridge, on traditional Blackfoot Confederacy territory. A second campus is in downtown Calgary.
- More than 150 undergraduate and 70 graduate programmes.
- Co-op is open to all arts and science majors.
- The English Language Institute runs English for Academic Purposes (EAP) courses, which can meet the English requirement.
- The International Centre offers advising, a mentorship programme and pre-arrival help.
- Health and dental cover and a transit pass are included in Students' Union fees.
Careers and graduate outcomes
uLethbridge publishes a high graduate employment rate and an average co-op wage on its international page. Post-study work rights depend on IRCC rules; see our Canada guide.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate employment rate | 95.2% | uLethbridge Future International Students page |
| Average co-op wage | CAD 25.77 an hour | uLethbridge Future International Students page |
Studying in Canada
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Canada

Photo: aka Tman from Guelph.........Ontario, CANADA, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Toronto (official website, opens in a new tab)
Toronto, Canada
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Life Sciences, Engineering

Photo: CjayD, CC BY 2.0 PublicOften chosen for Life Sciences, Business & Management, Engineering

Photo: JFVoll, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Waterloo (official website, opens in a new tab)
Waterloo, Canada
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Engineering, Data Science & AI

Photo: Krylan22, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Windsor (official website, opens in a new tab)
Windsor, Canada
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Computer Science & IT

Photo: Wikimedia Commons (CC0), CC0 PublicMcGill University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Montreal, Canada
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Engineering, Law

Photo: WinterforceMedia WinterE229, Public domain PublicUniversity of Alberta (official website, opens in a new tab)
Edmonton, Canada
Often chosen for Engineering, Data Science & AI, Life Sciences
FAQs
What does the University of Lethbridge cost for Indian students?
For 2026/2027, international undergraduate tuition is CAD 2,466.22 per course, or CAD 24,662 for a 10-course year, whatever your programme. Compulsory fees bring the year to CAD 26,391. Budget about CAD 1,500 for books and around CAD 1,450 a month to live off campus.
Can I skip IELTS with my Class 12 English marks?
Possibly. uLethbridge exempts CBSE students with the Canadian equivalent of 75% in Core or Elective English (80% in Functional English) and ISC students with the equivalent of 75% in English. Otherwise you need IELTS 6.5 (6.0), PTE 61, TOEFL or Duolingo 120.
What marks do I need from India?
uLethbridge asks for an academic Standard XII certificate with Second Division standing, plus any subjects your programme requires.
When can I start?
Most programmes start in September or January. Engineering starts in September only. Fall applications open in mid-September of the previous year.
Sources
- uLethbridge: International undergraduate tuition and fees (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: International undergraduate fee schedule, Fall 2026/Winter 2027 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: Fee schedules (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: Undergraduate programmes (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: English language proficiency requirements (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: International admission requirements by country (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: Future international students (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: Residence fees and payment (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: High school student awards (opens in a new tab)
- uLethbridge: About (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.ulethbridge.ca (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
