Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Master of Applied Economics (MAE)

Saint Mary's University · Halifax, Canada · Master's (postgraduate)

Researched 28 Oct 2026

Apply with usCall usOfficial course page (opens in a new tab)

Level

Master's

Duration

12 months full time (part-time option)

Tuition / year

C$22,279 (≈ ₹14.9 lakh)

Intakes

Not stated on the programme page

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

Course overview

Master of Applied Economics (MAE) is a postgraduate (master's) course in business & management at Saint Mary's University in Halifax, Canada. It takes 12 months full time (part-time option), with intakes in Not stated on the programme page.

Saint Mary's University is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.

Key highlights

Key highlights
UniversitySaint Mary's University (Public)
LocationHalifax, Canada
CourseMaster of Applied Economics (MAE)
LevelMaster's (postgraduate)
Subject areaBusiness & Management
Duration12 months full time (part-time option)
Tuition per yearC$22,279 (≈ ₹14.9 lakh)
IntakesNot stated on the programme page
English requirementHigher than SMU's general minimum; see SMU's graduate language requirements

Interested in Master of Applied Economics (MAE)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.

Fees and costs

Tuition for international students is C$22,279 a year, about ₹14.9 lakh.

2026-27 international annual tuition

Living costs near the university

Living costs
CostIn CADApprox. in rupees
Rice Apartments, double room with $525 flex plan8 months, 2026-27C$8,800per academic year≈ ₹5.9 lakh
Apartment single or super-single with $525 flex planRice, Loyola South and Vanier SeniorC$10,580–11,000per academic year≈ ₹7.1 lakh – ₹7.4 lakh
Loyola North and Vanier single, room and 7-day meal planMeal plan mandatoryC$16,885–17,150per academic year≈ ₹11.3 lakh – ₹11.5 lakh
7 Day All Access meal planC$6,990per academic year≈ ₹4.7 lakh

Living costs for Canada as a whole: C$20,000–30,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Plan my monthly living costs

Career outcomes

Average (median) salary

C$91,300

≈ ₹61.2 lakh a year

Median employment income two years after graduation, Master's degree

Job roles

  • Business analyst
  • Management consultant
  • Project manager
  • Marketing executive
  • Human resources officer
  • Supply chain manager

Employers hiring for these roles worldwide

  • Deloitte
  • PwC
  • EY
  • KPMG
  • Accenture
  • McKinsey & Company
  • Amazon
  • Unilever
  • Procter & Gamble
  • IBM

Eligibility

General entry requirements at Saint Mary's University for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.

  • MBAN: an undergraduate degree with strength in a quantitative field, at least one statistics course covering hypothesis testing and regression, and a B average (3.0) in the final 60 credit hours.
  • MSc CDA: normally a four-year computing science degree or equivalent quantitative degree, a letter of intent, CV, two recommendations and a technical interview.
  • International seat deposits: CA$5,000 for MFin and MSc CDA; CA$3,000 for MBAN, MTEI, MAE and MBA.

English requirements

For this course: Higher than SMU's general minimum; see SMU's graduate language requirements.

English tests accepted
TestWhat the university asks for
IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no band below 6.0 (undergraduate and most graduate programmes).
PTE Academic58 for undergraduate; 60 (no sub-score below 50) for graduate; 66 for MTEI and MBA.
Duolingo English Test115 (no sub-score below 95) for undergraduate; 125 for graduate; 130 for MTEI and MBA.
TOEFLFor tests from January 2026: 4.5 in listening, no other band below 4.0. Older tests: 83 iBT (no band below 20). MBAN asks for 92 iBT.
WaiverGraduation from an English-language secondary school can waive the undergraduate test. For graduate study, a degree from a non-exempt country with at least three years taught solely in English, confirmed by a Registrar's letter.

Need a score? IELTS and PTE coaching is available with us.

Intakes

This course starts in: Not stated on the programme page.

Upcoming intakes and deadlines in Canada

How to apply

  1. Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
  2. Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
  3. Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
  4. Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
  5. Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
  6. Apply for your student visa for Canada, then arrange accommodation.

Documents you'll need

  • Valid passport
  • Class X, XI and XII mark sheets (predicted Class XII if not yet complete)
  • Degree transcripts with grading scale (postgraduate)
  • English test score (the test taker copy for graduate applications)
  • Letter of intent, CV and recommendations for some master's programmes
  • CA$100 application fee; deposit after an offer; provincial attestation letter (PAL)

Scholarships

  • Council of International Schools (CIS) tuition incentive

    UG

    Value: CA$1,000 off per 3-credit course, estimated at CA$40,000 over the degree

    International students graduating from a CIS member school (from 2025-26 entry). Check whether your Indian school is a CIS member.

    Official page
  • United World College (UWC) tuition incentive

    UG

    Value: CA$1,000 off per course, up to CA$40,000 over a 120-credit degree

    Graduates of a UWC school who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents; no separate application

    Official page
All scholarships for Canada

About Saint Mary's University

Saint Mary's University is a public university in Halifax, Nova Scotia. It is home to the Sobey School of Business, which offers a 12-major Bachelor of Commerce and specialist master's degrees in business analytics, finance, applied economics and technology entrepreneurship. Its Faculty of Science teaches a CIPS-accredited computing science degree and an MSc in Computing and Data Analytics.

Indian students mostly look at the MSc in Computing and Data Analytics (with eight months of paid work), the Master of Business Analytics (SMU reports about 95% internship placement over three years), the Master of Finance (recognised by the CFA Institute) and the BComm. SMU publishes entry requirements for Indian CBSE and state board students. Work-permit rules are set by IRCC; see our Canada guide.

Similar courses

FAQs

What is the fee for Master of Applied Economics (MAE) at Saint Mary's University?

The tuition for international students is C$22,279 a year (about ₹14.9 lakh). 2026-27 international annual tuition. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.

How long is Master of Applied Economics (MAE)?

The course takes 12 months full time (part-time option).

What English score do I need?

Higher than SMU's general minimum; see SMU's graduate language requirements. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.

When can I start?

Intakes: Not stated on the programme page. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.

Can Admission Mantra help me apply?

Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.

We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.

  1. Saint Mary's University: Master of Applied Economics (MAE) (opens in a new tab)
  2. Saint Mary's University: undergraduate tuition and fees (opens in a new tab)
  3. Saint Mary's University: graduate tuition and fees (opens in a new tab)
  4. Saint Mary's University: 2026-27 graduate programme fees (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
  5. Saint Mary's University: international admissions (opens in a new tab)

Apply with Admission Mantra

Tell us about yourself and a counsellor will check your eligibility for Master of Applied Economics (MAE) at Saint Mary's University.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories