Course overview
Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies is a undergraduate (bachelor's) course in law at Justice Institute of British Columbia in New Westminster, Canada. It takes 2 years (60 credits, 20 courses), in person at New Westminster, with intakes in September (apply by 10 March 2027 for September 2027); January.
Justice Institute of British Columbia is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | Justice Institute of British Columbia (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | New Westminster, Canada |
| Course | Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies |
| Level | Bachelor's (undergraduate) |
| Subject area | Law |
| Duration | 2 years (60 credits, 20 courses), in person at New Westminster |
| Tuition per year | C$18,000 (≈ ₹12.1 lakh) |
| Intakes | September (apply by 10 March 2027 for September 2027); January |
| English requirement | IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 80 (20 per section); PTE Academic 58; Duolingo 120; CAEL 60. Tests must be within 24 months of the start date |
Interested in Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is C$18,000 a year, about ₹12.1 lakh. Over 2 years that is roughly C$36,000 (≈ ₹24.1 lakh) before any yearly increase.
JIBC gives this as approximate international tuition per year; the fee year is not stated
Living costs near the university
| Cost | In CAD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Room shared with roommatesJIBC rental average | C$1,000per month | ≈ ₹67,000 |
| Bachelor or studio apartmentJIBC rental average | C$1,800per month | ≈ ₹1.2 lakh |
| One-bedroom apartmentJIBC rental average | C$2,199per month | ≈ ₹1.5 lakh |
Living costs for Canada as a whole: C$20,000–30,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsCareer outcomes
Job roles
- Solicitor
- Barrister
- Paralegal
- Arbitrator
- Company secretary
- Trade mark attorney
Employers hiring for these roles worldwide
Clifford Chance
Linklaters
A&O Shearman
Freshfields
Baker McKenzie
DLA Piper
White & Case
Latham & Watkins
Slaughter and May
Eversheds Sutherland
Eligibility
General entry requirements at Justice Institute of British Columbia for bachelor's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies: high school graduation with English 12 at grade C or equivalent, a 250-word essay and a criminal record check; entry is competitive and may include an interview.
- Bachelor of Law Enforcement Studies: a related two-year diploma with a CGPA of at least 2.0, plus high school English 12 at grade C or equivalent.
- Primary Care Paramedicine: high school graduation, English 12 at grade C, and an Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) licence or certificate from the last three years.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 80 (20 per section); PTE Academic 58; Duolingo 120; CAEL 60. Tests must be within 24 months of the start date.
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 overall, at least 6.0 in each band |
| PTE Academic | 58 overall (Listening 48, Reading 53, Speaking 46, Writing 62) |
| TOEFL iBT | 80 overall, at least 20 in each section |
| Duolingo English Test | 120 overall |
| Other tests | CAEL 60 (50 per band), Cambridge C1 Advanced grade C, LanguageCert Academic 73; tests valid 24 months |
Intakes
This course starts in: September (apply by 10 March 2027 for September 2027); January.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in CanadaHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for Canada, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Passport and study permit (after admission)
- Official transcripts (Class 10, Class 12 and degree as relevant)
- English test result
- Criminal record check
- Essay (law enforcement diploma) or EMR credential (paramedicine)
About Justice Institute of British Columbia
The Justice Institute of British Columbia (JIBC) was set up by the BC government in 1978 to train people for the justice and public safety systems: police, corrections, courts, sheriffs, firefighters and paramedics. Its main campus is in New Westminster, in Metro Vancouver, with five more campuses across the province.
Only four JIBC programmes are open to international students on a study permit: the Diploma, Post-Baccalaureate Diploma and Bachelor of Law Enforcement Studies, and the Primary Care Paramedicine certificate. JIBC says these are PGWP eligible. Indian students should note that many Canadian police, border and corrections jobs need citizenship or permanent residence, which JIBC itself points out, and that JIBC has no student housing.
Similar courses
Law courses at other universities in Canada
- Techniques juridiques (DEC)Cégep de Sorel-Tracy3 years · C$15,604 / year
- Sciences humaines, Profil Droit et enjeux internationaux (pre-university DEC, Terrebonne)Cégep régional de Lanaudière2 years · C$13,242 / year
- Criminology DiplomaCollege of New Caledonia2 years · C$16,949 / year
- Criminology (BA)King's University CollegeUsually 4 years for an honours degree; Western University awards the degree · C$47,493 / year
- Bachelor of Criminal JusticeLethbridge Polytechnic4 years full-time (on campus); diploma holders can enter Year 3 of the post-diploma route · C$18,418 / year
- Bachelor of Arts in Justice Studies (3rd year entry)Royal Roads University12 months on campus (September to August) · C$52,618 / year
More courses at Justice Institute of British Columbia
- Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies2 years (60 credits, 20 courses), New Westminster campus · C$18,100 / year
- Bachelor of Law Enforcement Studies4 years in total; entry is with a related two-year diploma, then 2 years (60 credits) at New Westminster · C$20,500 / year
- Primary Care Paramedicine (Certificate)12 months full-time, blended, including at least 210 hours of practicum · C$26,707 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies at Justice Institute of British Columbia?
The tuition for international students is C$18,000 a year (about ₹12.1 lakh). JIBC gives this as approximate international tuition per year; the fee year is not stated. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies?
The course takes 2 years (60 credits, 20 courses), in person at New Westminster.
What English score do I need?
IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 80 (20 per section); PTE Academic 58; Duolingo 120; CAEL 60. Tests must be within 24 months of the start date. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: September (apply by 10 March 2027 for September 2027); January. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- Justice Institute of British Columbia: Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies (opens in a new tab)
- JIBC: Programs for international students (opens in a new tab)
- JIBC: English requirements (opens in a new tab)
- JIBC: Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies (opens in a new tab)
- JIBC: Diploma in Law Enforcement Studies (opens in a new tab)
