Course overview
Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE) is a undergraduate (bachelor's) course in arts, design & media at Cégep de Thetford in Thetford Mines, Canada. It takes 2 years (4 sessions), with intakes in August.
Cégep de Thetford is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | Cégep de Thetford (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | Thetford Mines, Canada |
| Course | Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE) |
| Level | Bachelor's (undergraduate) |
| Subject area | Arts, Design & Media |
| Duration | 2 years (4 sessions) |
| Tuition per year | C$15,150 (≈ ₹10.2 lakh) |
| Intakes | August |
| English requirement | Taught in French; a French test is required (see the college's international FAQ) |
Interested in Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is C$15,150 a year, about ₹10.2 lakh. Over 2 years that is roughly C$30,300 (≈ ₹20.3 lakh) before any yearly increase.
Average yearly tuition for international students (two sessions) from the college's online cost calculator, read 28 Oct 2026; the fee year is not stated. Registration fees (CAD 526), health insurance and materials are extra
Living costs near the university
| Cost | In CAD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| On-campus residence (2026-27)Paid for 10 months a year | C$315–630per month | ≈ ₹21,105 – ₹42,210 |
Living costs for Canada as a whole: C$20,000–30,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsCareer outcomes
Job roles
- Broadcast journalist
- Magazine journalist
- Editorial assistant
- Digital copywriter
- Public relations officer
- Social media manager
Employers hiring for these roles worldwide
BBC
Reuters
Bloomberg
News Corp
Axel Springer
Bertelsmann
WPP
Heineken
Meta
Google
Eligibility
General entry requirements at Cégep de Thetford for bachelor's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- Attend the college's information session for international applicants, then follow its instructions to submit your application.
- Apply by 1 February for the August start; files are processed from September to February.
- Take a French language test (required unless you are a French national).
- Pay a CAD 5,000 deposit to receive your admission letter. It counts towards first-session tuition and is refunded in full if your immigration application is refused.
- Then apply for the CAQ, the study permit and a visa or eTA.
English requirements
For this course: Taught in French; a French test is required (see the college's international FAQ).
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| Language of teaching | French |
| English tests | Not used for admission |
| French test | Required for applicants who are not French nationals; see the college FAQ for details |
Intakes
This course starts in: August.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in CanadaHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for Canada, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Valid passport
- School records as requested in the college's application instructions
- French test result
- College admission letter
- Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ)
- Study permit and visa or eTA
Scholarships
Quebec tuition exemptions and scholarships for international students
UG
Value: Exemption from international tuition or a scholarship; rare and not guaranteed
Only applicants officially admitted for the coming intake who meet that year's criteria are invited to apply. Places are shared across all Quebec CEGEPs
Official page
About Cégep de Thetford
Cégep de Thetford is a public CEGEP in Thetford Mines, Quebec. It offers pre-university DECs in natural sciences, human sciences and arts, and technical DECs including computer science, mechanical, plastics and electrical engineering technology, mineral technology, pharmacy techniques, nursing, business administration and special education. All teaching is in French, and all its DECs are open to international students.
The college gives its international tuition through an online cost calculator. In October 2026 it showed CAD 15,150 a year for most programmes, CAD 19,610 for the engineering technology programmes and CAD 23,480 for nursing and pharmacy techniques, plus registration fees, health insurance and materials.
Similar courses
Arts, Design & Media courses at other universities in Canada
- Bachelor of Design: Visual Communication Design (Graphic Design & Advertising stream)Alberta University of the Arts4 years full-time (120 credits), in person and studio-based · C$23,041 / year
- Bachelor of Design: Visual Communication Design (Illustration stream)Alberta University of the Arts4 years full-time (120 credits), in person and studio-based · C$23,041 / year
- Bachelor of Fine Arts: Studio ArtAlberta University of the ArtsFull-time, studio-based; one or two concentrations such as animation, ceramics, media arts, painting or photography · C$23,041 / year
- Bachelor of Creative Industries: Applied Creative IndustriesAlberta University of the Arts4 years; in person, non-studio and hybrid (launched in 2026) · C$28,023 / year
- New Media Design and Web Development (Diploma)British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT)18 months (78 weeks) full-time, blended, with a 9-week internship · C$29,709 / year
- Bachelor of MusicBrandon UniversityFull-time bachelor's degree · C$17,904 / year
More courses at Cégep de Thetford
- Techniques de l’informatique (DEC 420.B0)3 years (6 sessions) · C$15,150 / year
- Techniques d’administration et de gestion (DEC 410.G0)Technical DEC; see the course page · C$15,150 / year
- Technologie du génie électrique (DEC 243.D0)3 years (6 sessions) · C$19,610 / year
- Techniques de génie mécanique (DEC 241.A0)3 years (6 sessions) · C$19,610 / year
- Techniques de génie du plastique (DEC 241.B0)3 years (6 sessions) · C$19,610 / year
- Technologie minérale (DEC)3 years · C$19,610 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE) at Cégep de Thetford?
The tuition for international students is C$15,150 a year (about ₹10.2 lakh). Average yearly tuition for international students (two sessions) from the college's online cost calculator, read 28 Oct 2026; the fee year is not stated. Registration fees (CAD 526), health insurance and materials are extra. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE)?
The course takes 2 years (4 sessions).
What English score do I need?
Taught in French; a French test is required (see the college's international FAQ). Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: August. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- Cégep de Thetford: Arts, lettres et communication (DEC 500.AE) (opens in a new tab)
- Cégep de Thetford: Your project step by step (international) (opens in a new tab)
- Cégep de Thetford: International FAQ (opens in a new tab)
- Cégep de Thetford: Costs to expect (opens in a new tab)
- Cégep de Thetford: Scholarships and exemptions (opens in a new tab)
