Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Cégep de Thetford
Flag of Canada

Cégep de Thetford

Thetford Mines, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Thetford Mines, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: HroyerHugo Royer, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

Cégep de Thetford is a public CEGEP in Thetford Mines, Quebec. It offers pre-university DECs in natural sciences, human sciences and arts, and technical DECs including computer science, mechanical, plastics and electrical engineering technology, mineral technology, pharmacy techniques, nursing, business administration and special education. All teaching is in French, and all its DECs are open to international students.

The college gives its international tuition through an online cost calculator. In October 2026 it showed CAD 15,150 a year for most programmes, CAD 19,610 for the engineering technology programmes and CAD 23,480 for nursing and pharmacy techniques, plus registration fees, health insurance and materials.

Type
Public CEGEP (college); awards the DEC, not degrees
Language of teaching
French
Open to international students
All DECs (technical and pre-university); AECs are not open
International intake
August only; apply by 1 February
Admission deposit
CAD 5,000, credited to first-session tuition and refundable if you do not come
Residence
5 buildings on campus with 130 places

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 12 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Techniques de l’informatique (DEC 420.B0)3 years (6 sessions)C$15,150≈ ₹10.2 lakh
    Techniques d’administration et de gestion (DEC 410.G0)Technical DEC; see the course pageC$15,150≈ ₹10.2 lakh
    Technologie du génie électrique (DEC 243.D0)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Techniques de génie mécanique (DEC 241.A0)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Techniques de génie du plastique (DEC 241.B0)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie minérale (DEC)3 yearsC$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Soins infirmiers (DEC 180.A0)3 years (6 sessions)C$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Techniques de pharmacie (DEC 165.A0)3 years (6 sessions)C$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Cégep de Thetford with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      Quebec tuition exemptions and scholarships for international students

      Value: Exemption from international tuition or a scholarship; rare and not guaranteed

      Eligibility: Only applicants officially admitted for the coming intake who meet that year's criteria are invited to apply. Places are shared across all Quebec CEGEPs

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Attend the college's information session for international applicants, then follow its instructions to submit your application.
    • Apply by 1 February for the August start; files are processed from September to February.
    • Take a French language test (required unless you are a French national).
    • Pay a CAD 5,000 deposit to receive your admission letter. It counts towards first-session tuition and is refunded in full if your immigration application is refused.
    • Then apply for the CAQ, the study permit and a visa or eTA.

    Postgraduate

    • Cégep de Thetford does not offer postgraduate programmes. AECs are not open to international students.

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • School records as requested in the college's application instructions
    • French test result
    • College admission letter
    • Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ)
    • Study permit and visa or eTA

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Language of teachingFrench
    English testsNot used for admission
    French testRequired for applicants who are not French nationals; see the college FAQ for details

    Accommodation and living costs

    The college has five residence buildings on campus with 130 places in furnished 2, 3 or 4-bedroom apartments. Rent includes electricity, heating and Wi-Fi and is paid over 10 months a year. Admitted students can join the waiting list. There is also an off-campus residence on rue Caouette Est.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    On-campus residence (2026-27)Paid for 10 months a yearC$315–630per month≈ ₹21,105 – ₹42,210

    Campus and location

    Cégep de Thetford has one campus in Thetford Mines, Quebec.

    • Technical DECs in mineral technology and plastics, mechanical and electrical engineering technology.
    • Computer science, nursing and pharmacy techniques DECs.
    • On-campus residences for 130 students.
    • Les Filons college sports teams, including football, hockey, basketball and baseball.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Technical DECs prepare you for jobs in Quebec. The college advises that your funding should not rely on working in Quebec. See our Canada guide for work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    Is Cégep de Thetford taught in English?

    No. All programmes are taught in French, and you must pass a French test unless you are a French national.

    How much is the tuition?

    The college's cost calculator showed CAD 15,150 a year for most DECs, CAD 19,610 for engineering technology DECs and CAD 23,480 for nursing and pharmacy techniques (October 2026). Registration fees of CAD 526, health insurance and materials are extra. You pay a CAD 5,000 deposit, which counts towards your first session's tuition.

    Which programmes can I apply to?

    All DECs, technical and pre-university, are open to international students. AECs are not.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Cégep de Thetford.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories