Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of Canada

Computer Information Technology (Diploma)

bcit · Burnaby, Canada · Bachelor's (undergraduate)

Researched 28 Oct 2026

Apply with usCall usOfficial course page (opens in a new tab)

Level

Bachelor's

Duration

2 years full-time (about 3 years with co-op)

Tuition / year

C$25,735 (≈ ₹17.2 lakh)

Intakes

September; January (January 2027 open at the time of research)

Course overview

Computer Information Technology (Diploma) is a undergraduate (bachelor's) course in computer science & it at bcit in Burnaby, Canada. It takes 2 years full-time (about 3 years with co-op), with intakes in September; January (January 2027 open at the time of research).

bcit is a public institution. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.

Key highlights

Key highlights
Universitybcit (Public)
LocationBurnaby, Canada
CourseComputer Information Technology (Diploma)
LevelBachelor's (undergraduate)
Subject areaComputer Science & IT
Duration2 years full-time (about 3 years with co-op)
Tuition per yearC$25,735 (≈ ₹17.2 lakh)
IntakesSeptember; January (January 2027 open at the time of research)
English requirementIELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 5.5); PTE 60 (no skill below 60); Duolingo 120; TOEFL iBT 86 (no section below 20) on the pre-2026 scale

Interested in Computer Information Technology (Diploma)?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.

Fees and costs

Tuition for international students is C$25,735 a year, about ₹17.2 lakh. Over 2 years that is roughly C$51,470 (≈ ₹34.5 lakh) before any yearly increase.

BCIT estimate of CAD 51,470.24 for the whole 2-year programme, divided by 2; the page does not state the fee year

Living costs near the university

Living costs
CostIn CADApprox. in rupees
Townhouse bedroom2026-27 rates: Fall 2026 CAD 3,569.72; Winter 2027 CAD 4,298.65 (pending Board approval)C$3,570–4,299per term≈ ₹2.4 lakh – ₹2.9 lakh
Connected single roomFall 2026 CAD 4,636; Winter 2027 CAD 5,662C$4,636–5,662per term≈ ₹3.1 lakh – ₹3.8 lakh
StudioFall 2026 CAD 5,551; Winter 2027 CAD 6,779.50C$5,551–6,780per term≈ ₹3.7 lakh – ₹4.5 lakh
Commitment feeCredited to tuition on registrationC$6,000one-off≈ ₹4 lakh

Living costs for Canada as a whole: C$20,000–30,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Plan my monthly living costs

Eligibility

General entry requirements at bcit for bachelor's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.

  • Class 12 from CBSE, CISCE or a state board, assessed against BCIT's British Columbia course requirements: English Studies 12 at 67% (or an English test) and the maths and science courses each programme lists, for example Pre-Calculus 12 at 67–73% for computing and engineering diplomas.
  • Seats are offered on a first-qualified basis and intakes fill early. Applications for September open on 1 October; the international deadline for many programmes is 2 July.
  • Newly admitted international students pay a CAD 6,000 commitment fee to confirm their seat; it is credited to tuition and forfeited if you decline or do not register.
  • Check the PGWP line on the programme page: some BCIT diplomas (for example Accounting and Finance) do not meet the eligible field of study requirement.

English requirements

For this course: IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 5.5); PTE 60 (no skill below 60); Duolingo 120; TOEFL iBT 86 (no section below 20) on the pre-2026 scale.

English tests accepted
TestWhat the university asks for
IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no band below 5.5 (Category 2, needed for most diplomas)
PTE Academic60 overall with no skill below 60
TOEFL iBT86 overall with no section below 20 (tests before 21 January 2026); 4.5 overall with 3.5 in each skill on the new scale
Duolingo English Test120 overall with no integrated subscore below 95
CAEL70 overall with no component below 60

Need a score? IELTS and PTE coaching is available with us.

Intakes

This course starts in: September; January (January 2027 open at the time of research).

Upcoming intakes and deadlines in Canada

How to apply

  1. Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
  2. Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
  3. Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
  4. Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
  5. Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
  6. Apply for your student visa for Canada, then arrange accommodation.

Documents you'll need

  • Valid passport
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets (and degree transcripts for advanced entry)
  • English test score meeting BCIT's Category 2 standard
  • Provincial Attestation Letter for the study permit (unless IRCC exempts you)
  • Proof of funds for tuition and living costs as required by IRCC

Scholarships

  • Cost of Living Grant for International Students

    Current international students

    Value: CAD 800 (one-time grant)

    International students living in Canada and enrolled in at least 9 credits in the Fall term; apply through myBCIT. The Fall 2026 round is closed; check for future rounds.

    Official page
All scholarships for Canada

About bcit

The British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) is a public polytechnic that has trained students for industry since 1964. Its main campus is in Burnaby, next to Vancouver, and it also runs a downtown Vancouver campus and specialist campuses for marine, aerospace and trades training.

BCIT is known for hands-on, job-focused diplomas and degrees in computing, engineering technology, business and health. Programmes run on a full timetable, close to a working week, and many include co-op terms, internships or a mandatory work component.

Similar courses

FAQs

What is the fee for Computer Information Technology (Diploma) at bcit?

The tuition for international students is C$25,735 a year (about ₹17.2 lakh). BCIT estimate of CAD 51,470.24 for the whole 2-year programme, divided by 2; the page does not state the fee year. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.

How long is Computer Information Technology (Diploma)?

The course takes 2 years full-time (about 3 years with co-op).

What English score do I need?

IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 5.5); PTE 60 (no skill below 60); Duolingo 120; TOEFL iBT 86 (no section below 20) on the pre-2026 scale. Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.

When can I start?

Intakes: September; January (January 2027 open at the time of research). Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.

Can Admission Mantra help me apply?

Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.

We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.

  1. bcit: Computer Information Technology (Diploma) (opens in a new tab)
  2. BCIT: International fees (opens in a new tab)
  3. BCIT: Full-time studies tuition and fees (opens in a new tab)
  4. BCIT: Computer Systems Technology diploma (opens in a new tab)
  5. BCIT: Computer Information Technology diploma (opens in a new tab)

Apply with Admission Mantra

Tell us about yourself and a counsellor will check your eligibility for Computer Information Technology (Diploma) at bcit.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories