Course overview
MPH Public Health is a postgraduate (master's) course in medicine & health sciences at University of Winchester in Winchester, United Kingdom. It takes 1 year full time, with intakes in September; January; May.
University of Winchester is a public institution, ranked 97th of 130 UK universities in the Complete University Guide (UK) 2027. Read the full course description, modules and entry rules on the official course page.
Key highlights
| University | University of Winchester (Public) |
|---|---|
| Location | Winchester, United Kingdom |
| Course | MPH Public Health |
| Level | Master's (postgraduate) |
| Subject area | Medicine & Health Sciences |
| Duration | 1 year full time |
| Tuition per year | £17,450 (≈ ₹21.3 lakh) |
| Intakes | September; January; May |
| English requirement | IELTS 6.0 (including 5.5 in academic writing) |
Interested in MPH Public Health?A counsellor checks your eligibility and helps you apply, free of charge.
Fees and costs
Tuition for international students is £17,450 a year, about ₹21.3 lakh.
2027/28 international fee
Living costs near the university
| Cost | In GBP | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| West Downs, shared bathroom (39 weeks)£6,128.85 to £6,579.30 for the licence | £157–169per week | ≈ ₹19,172 – ₹20,581 |
| En suite at Burma Road, Queens Road or West Downs (39 weeks)47-week licences cost slightly less per week | £186–222per week | ≈ ₹22,631 – ₹27,115 |
| Catered halls, 10 meals a week (St Elizabeths & Beech Glade, 34 weeks) | £221per week | ≈ ₹26,961 |
| One-bedroom self-contained flat (50 weeks) | £231per week | ≈ ₹28,139 |
Living costs for the UK as a whole: £12,000–18,000 a year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Plan my monthly living costsCareer outcomes
Job roles
- Health improvement practitioner
- Health service manager
- Epidemiologist
- Community development worker
- Environmental health practitioner
- Policy officer
Employers hiring for these roles worldwide
World Health Organization
UNICEF
GSK
Red Cross
PATH
World Bank
IQVIA
NHS
Bupa
Save the Children
Eligibility
General entry requirements at University of Winchester for master's courses. Some courses ask for more, so check the course page.
- A bachelor's degree of at least three years with 55% or above from a recognised university.
- Graduates of well-recognised colleges of major metropolitan universities are normally considered with 60% and above; lower marks may be accepted from the University of Calcutta and University of Pune.
- Some courses ask for a related subject, for example MSc Cyber Security needs a computing-related degree.
English requirements
For this course: IELTS 6.0 (including 5.5 in academic writing).
| Test | What the university asks for |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 overall with 5.5 in each component for standard undergraduate and postgraduate entry; master's course pages ask for 6.0 with at least 5.5 in writing |
| Nursing | IELTS 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in writing |
| Other tests | Cambridge English, Kaplan Test of English, LanguageCert (including online), Oxford ELLT, PTE Academic and TOEFL iBT (including Home Edition) are accepted; ask Admissions for scores |
| Student visa | Your English qualification must be at CEFR B2 in all four skills |
Intakes
This course starts in: September; January; May.
Upcoming intakes and deadlines in the UKHow to apply
- Check the entry requirements and the deadline on the official course page.
- Take IELTS, PTE or the test the university accepts, if you need one.
- Prepare your documents: transcripts, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and CV.
- Apply on the university's application portal and pay any application fee.
- Accept your offer, meet any conditions and pay the deposit.
- Apply for your student visa for the UK, then arrange accommodation.
Documents you'll need
- Valid passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
- Degree certificate and transcripts for master's courses
- IELTS or other English test certificate
- Personal statement
- Reference
Scholarships
International Student Scholarship – Postgraduate
Taught postgraduate, new international students (2026/27)
Value: £5,000
All new international students joining a taught programme. Automatic: applied to your offer letter.
Official pageInternational Student Scholarship – Undergraduate
Undergraduate, new international students (2026/27)
Value: £4,000
All new international students joining a taught programme. Automatic: applied to your offer letter.
Official pageChevening Scholarships
One-year master's
Value: Set by Chevening (not stated on Winchester's page)
Listed by Winchester as a funding option for Indian students; apply to Chevening directly.
Official page
About University of Winchester
The University of Winchester began in 1840 as a Church of England teacher training school and became the University of Winchester in 2005. It is a small, campus-based university in Winchester, Hampshire, a historic cathedral city and former capital of England, with close to 8,000 students. It teaches business, computing and cyber security, psychology, law, nursing, education, humanities and the creative arts.
For Indian students, 2027/28 international fees are £16,700 a year for bachelor's degrees and £17,450 for one-year master's courses, and every new international student on a taught course receives an automatic scholarship (£5,000 for postgraduate, £4,000 for undergraduate in 2026/27). Several master's start in September or January, and some in May. Entry asks for a three-year degree with 55% for a master's, or 70% in Class 12 (CISCE) for a bachelor's.
Similar courses
Medicine & Health Sciences courses at other universities in the UK
- Master of Public HealthArden University1 year (full time, blended) · £17,500 / year
- Public Health and Health Promotion MScBangor University1 year (full time) · £19,000 / year
- Master of Public HealthBirmingham Newman UniversityFull time (length not stated on the course page) · £13,500 / year
- Global Healthcare Management MScBrunel University of London1 year (full time) · £22,985 / year
- Public Health and Health Promotion MScBrunel University of London1 year (full time) · £22,985 / year
- MSc Global Public HealthCanterbury Christ Church University1 year · £17,000 / year
More courses at University of Winchester
- MSc Cyber Security1 year full time · £17,450 / year
- MSc International Business Management1 year full time · £17,450 / year
- MBA Master of Business Administration1 year full time · £17,450 / year
- MSc Digital Marketing and Analytics1 year full time · £17,450 / year
- MSc International Financial Management1 year full time · £17,450 / year
- MSc Project Management1 year full time · £17,450 / year
FAQs
What is the fee for MPH Public Health at University of Winchester?
The tuition for international students is £17,450 a year (about ₹21.3 lakh). 2027/28 international fee. Fees usually rise each year, so check the course page before you apply.
How long is MPH Public Health?
The course takes 1 year full time.
What English score do I need?
IELTS 6.0 (including 5.5 in academic writing). Some universities also accept Class 12 English marks or other tests; confirm on the course page.
When can I start?
Intakes: September; January; May. Apply early: popular courses can fill up before the deadline.
Can Admission Mantra help me apply?
Yes. A counsellor checks your eligibility, helps you prepare your documents and statement of purpose, and guides you through the application and visa. The first conversation is free.
We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026 from the university's own pages. Fees, entry rules and intakes change every year; confirm them on the official course page before you apply. Listing a course doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents the university.
- University of Winchester: MPH Public Health (opens in a new tab)
- University of Winchester: MSc Cyber Security (opens in a new tab)
- University of Winchester: BSc (Hons) Computer Science (opens in a new tab)
- University of Winchester: international entry requirements (India) (opens in a new tab)
- University of Winchester: English language requirements (opens in a new tab)
