Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Houses of Parliament and the Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben) in London, seen across the River Thames and Westminster Bridge on a sunny day.
Flag of United Kingdom

University of the Highlands and Islands

Inverness, United Kingdom · Public · Est. Not stated on the UHI pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the UHI pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Inverness, United Kingdom

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Philippe Bontemps, Unsplash License

About the university

The University of the Highlands and Islands (UHI) is a partnership of colleges and research institutes spread across the Highlands and Islands, Moray and Perthshire, with its office in Inverness. It describes itself as an integrated university that teaches everything from further education to PhD. It had 30,643 students in 2024/25, of whom 9,769 were in higher education.

Only some UHI courses can be studied on campus with a Student Route visa, and each is tied to one campus. Indian students mainly look at aviation engineering, audio engineering and music business in Perth, marine science in Oban, environmental science in Inverness, hospitality, and adventure tourism in Fort William. Postgraduate courses open to Student visa holders are limited to archaeology in Orkney. Campuses are small, with small classes, and many are in rural or island settings.

Type
Public integrated university combining further and higher education
Total students
30,643 in 2024/25, including 9,769 higher education students
International students
6% of higher education students from outside the EU, plus 1% from the EU (2024/25)
Partners
Ten partner colleges and research institutes, teaching in 48 locations
On-campus study for Student visa holders
Eight campuses: Dornoch, Fort William, Halkirk, Inverness, Isle of Skye, Oban, Orkney and Perth
Intakes
August/September for international on-campus students

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 8 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
    Aircraft Maintenance Engineering and Management BSc (Hons)4 years full time (UHI Perth)£17,970≈ ₹21.9 lakh
    Hospitality Management BA (Hons)4 years full time (UHI Perth)£16,820≈ ₹20.5 lakh
    BSc (Hons) Audio Engineering4 years full time (UHI Perth)£17,970≈ ₹21.9 lakh
    BSc (Hons) Marine Science4 years full time (SAMS UHI, Oban)£17,970≈ ₹21.9 lakh
    Environmental Science BSc (Hons)4 years full time (Inverness)£17,970≈ ₹21.9 lakh
    Music Business BA (Hons)4 years full time (UHI Perth)£16,820≈ ₹20.5 lakh
    Adventure Tourism Management BA (Hons)4 years full time (Fort William)£16,820≈ ₹20.5 lakh
    MSc Archaeological Practice1 year full time (UHI Archaeology Institute, Orkney)£17,170≈ ₹20.9 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of the Highlands and Islands with similar universities in the UK.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      South Asia Scholarship

      Value: 10% tuition discount

      Eligibility: Students whose permanent residence is in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan or Sri Lanka, on undergraduate courses of at least one year. Applied automatically at offer stage.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Indian Senior School Year 12 with an average of 60%.
    • Some courses ask for specific subjects (for example Maths and Physics for Aircraft Maintenance Engineering).
    • Student visa holders must study full time on a course approved for on-campus study.

    Postgraduate

    • MSc Archaeological Practice: a 2:2 honours degree or above in archaeology or a related subject, or equivalent qualifications or professional experience.
    • UHI gives no India-specific postgraduate grades; it points to overseas degree equivalency guidance.

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
    • Degree certificate and transcripts (postgraduate)
    • Certified English test result
    • Personal statement
    • Deposit before the CAS is issued (counts towards tuition)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic (undergraduate)6.0 overall with no element below 5.5.
    IELTS Academic (postgraduate)6.5 overall with no element below 6.0.
    Other testsUHI accepts other approved English tests; scores are on its approved English language qualifications page.
    Class 12 EnglishUHI's English pages do not list Indian Class 12 English as an exemption.

    Accommodation and living costs

    Accommodation is run campus by campus and UHI's pages we checked do not list prices. Inverness has studio and single rooms on campus, Dornoch has 40 en-suite residence bedrooms and Sabhal Mòr Ostaig on Skye has 84 en-suite bedrooms. Perth, Fort William and SAMS in Oban have their own accommodation pages. Ask the campus for current rents.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees

    Campus and location

    UHI's courses are spread across many small campuses. Each course open to Student visa holders is taught at one campus, so choose the course and the place together.

    • Perth: music, audio engineering, aviation, art and hospitality (8 approved programmes).
    • Inverness: a broad range of subjects, including forestry.
    • Oban: marine science at the Scottish Association for Marine Science.
    • Fort William: outdoor and adventure studies near Ben Nevis.
    • Orkney: archaeology and heritage at the UHI Archaeology Institute.
    • Dornoch, Halkirk and Skye: golf and hospitality, equestrian studies, and Gaelic.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    UHI courses are closely linked to local industries such as aviation, marine science, tourism and the creative industries. The pages we checked publish no graduate outcome figures. See our UK guide for the Graduate Route.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in the UK

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in the UK

    Compare all universities in the UK

    FAQs

    How much are UHI's fees for Indian students?

    For 2026-27, on-campus international fees are £16,820 a year for arts, humanities, social science and business degrees and £17,970 for science and technology degrees. Some courses charge £9,460 for the HNC/HND years. Check each course page.

    Is there a scholarship for Indian students?

    Yes. The South Asia Scholarship gives a 10% tuition discount on undergraduate courses of at least one year for students permanently resident in India. It is applied automatically at offer stage.

    Can I study any UHI course on a Student visa?

    No. Only courses UHI lists as eligible for on-campus Student Route visa study can be taken, and only full time. Many UHI courses are online or part time.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    6.0 overall (no element below 5.5) for undergraduate study and 6.5 (no element below 6.0) for postgraduate study.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of the Highlands and Islands.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories