Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Houses of Parliament and the Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben) in London, seen across the River Thames and Westminster Bridge on a sunny day.
Flag of United Kingdom

University of Suffolk

Ipswich, United Kingdom · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Ipswich, United Kingdom

Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

44th of 130 UK universities

Photo: Philippe Bontemps, Unsplash License

About the university

The University of Suffolk is a public university based on a waterfront campus in Ipswich, Suffolk, with a London Centre in Southwark. It teaches business, computing, health and nursing, science, psychology, education and the creative arts, and was named University of the Year at the WhatUni Student Choice Awards 2025.

For Indian students, 2026/27 international fees run from £16,020 to £18,900 for taught master's and £15,900 to £18,870 for bachelor's degrees, with automatic merit discounts of £1,000 to £3,000. Several master's courses start in January as well as September. Entry asks for 60% in Class 12 (CBSE, CISCE or ISC) for a bachelor's, and a three-year degree with 50% (Tier 1 universities) or 55% for a master's.

Type
Public university
Campuses
Ipswich campus, plus a London Centre in Southwark
Location
Ipswich is about an hour from London and Cambridge (university's fees page)
Intakes
September for most courses; January for several master's courses
Student awards
University of the Year at the WhatUni Student Choice Awards 2025
International fees 2026/27
Undergraduate £15,900–£18,870; taught postgraduate £16,020–£18,900 a year

Rankings

  • Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

    44th of 130 UK universities

Popular courses with Indian students

View all 15 courses with filters

Fees for international students

Course fees
CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
MSc Data Science and Artificial Intelligence1 year full time£17,000≈ ₹20.7 lakh
MSc Computer Science1 year full time£16,550≈ ₹20.2 lakh
MSc International Business Management1 year full time£16,335≈ ₹19.9 lakh
Suffolk MBA1 year full time£18,288≈ ₹22.3 lakh
MSc Financial Technology (FinTech)1 year full time£16,020≈ ₹19.5 lakh
MSc Digital Marketing and Data Analytics1 year full time£16,020≈ ₹19.5 lakh
MSc Human Resource Management1 year full time£16,020≈ ₹19.5 lakh
MSc Public Health and Wellbeing1 year full time£16,500≈ ₹20.1 lakh

Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of Suffolk with similar universities in the UK.

Scholarships

  • Undergraduate and taught postgraduate, at Ipswich or the London Centre

    International Merit Scholarship (2026/27)

    Value: £1,000 to £3,000 fee discount, depending on grades and level; undergraduates receive it in each year of study

    Eligibility: International students who meet or exceed the published entry requirements for their country. Automatic: you are told by email once you get an offer.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)
  • Postgraduate

    Alumni Postgraduate Loyalty Scheme

    Value: Up to 25% off selected postgraduate fees

    Eligibility: Members of the University of Suffolk Alumni Association.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)

Admission requirements

Undergraduate

  • Class 12 from CBSE, CISCE or ISC with 60%; West Bengal Board with 50%; other boards with 65%.
  • A State Board of Technical Education qualification (or allied health subject) at 60% is also accepted.
  • Course pages may ask for specific subjects, for example GCSE Maths or an equivalent for Accounting and Finance.

Postgraduate

  • A bachelor's degree of at least three years with 50% from a Tier 1 university, or 55% from other universities.
  • MSc Computer Science asks for a 2:2 or above and a computing background; MSc Data Science and AI is a conversion course for graduates from any background.
  • Several master's courses accept applications for January 2027 entry.

Documents

  • Valid passport
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
  • Degree certificate and transcripts for master's courses
  • English test certificate, or Class 12 English marks for undergraduate entry
  • Personal statement
  • Reference

Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

English language requirements

English requirements
Test or routeTypical requirement
IELTS Academic or UKVIUndergraduate 6.0 (5.5 in each); postgraduate 6.5 (5.5 in each); professional health courses such as nursing 7.0 (6.5 in each)
PTE AcademicUndergraduate 59 (59 in each); postgraduate 62 (59 in each)
TOEFL iBTUndergraduate 75 (or 4 on the scale used from 21 January 2026); postgraduate 82, with minimum section scores
Class 12 English (undergraduate only)70% from CISCE, CBSE, Maharashtra, Gujarat (second language) and Tamil Nadu boards; professional health courses need 80% (CISCE/CBSE) or more
Other testsLanguageCert Academic, Oxford Test of English, Oxford ELLT, Password Skills Plus, PSI Skills for English and Cambridge English are accepted

Accommodation and living costs

Suffolk lists halls and houses in Ipswich, all self-catered with bills, Wi-Fi and weekly communal cleaning included. Tenancies at Athena Hall are 44 or 51 weeks. Prices below are 2026/27 weekly rates.

Accommodation and living costs
ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees
Athena Hall en suite (Bronze to Gold)44 or 51-week tenancy; the 51-week rate is lower per week£139–183per week≈ ₹16,958 – ₹22,326
Athena Hall studio£215per week≈ ₹26,230
75 Grimwade Street en suite48 or 51-week tenancy£140–155per week≈ ₹17,080 – ₹18,910
Ormonde House (quiet house)£150–173per week≈ ₹18,300 – ₹21,045
Athena Hall reservation feeTaken off the first rent instalment£100one-off≈ ₹12,200

Campus and location

Most courses are taught at the Ipswich campus; some are also offered at the University of Suffolk London Centre in Southwark.

  • A £15m Health and Wellbeing building with clinical simulation, immersive and VR spaces for nursing and health students.
  • A Bloomberg Lab with Bloomberg Terminals for finance and FinTech students.
  • Computing students work with resources from Amazon Web Services, Juniper and Oracle, and a Google Student Club.
  • Athena Hall, the main hall, has a Students' Union gym on the ground floor and 24-hour staff.

Careers and graduate outcomes

Courses include placements and industry projects, and the Careers, Employability and Enterprise Team supports students during and after their studies. Suffolk does not publish graduate salary figures on the pages we checked. After graduating you can apply for the UK Graduate visa; see our UK guide.

Graduate outcomes
WhatFigureSource

Studying in the UK

Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

Other universities in the UK

Compare all universities in the UK

FAQs

How much does a master's at Suffolk cost?

Most master's on this page cost £16,020 to £18,288 for 2026/27; MSc Data Science and AI is £17,000 for 2027/28. An automatic merit discount of £1,000 to £3,000 can lower this.

Can I start in January?

Yes. MSc Computer Science, MSc International Business Management, the Suffolk MBA, MSc FinTech and others are open to international applicants for January 2027.

Can I use Class 12 English instead of IELTS?

For bachelor's degrees only: 70% in Class 12 English from CBSE, CISCE, Maharashtra, Gujarat (second language) or Tamil Nadu boards. Nursing and other professional health courses need 80% or more.

Where would I live?

Athena Hall in Ipswich is the main hall, with en suite rooms from £139 to £183 a week in 2026/27, bills included.

Sources

Talk to our counsellor

Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of Suffolk.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories