Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of University of London
Flag of United Kingdom

University of London

London, United Kingdom · Public · Est. Federal university; founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Federal university; founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

London, United Kingdom

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: An Siarach at English Wikipedia, Public domain

About the university

The University of London is a federation of London universities that also teaches its own students, mainly through online and distance-learning degrees, which it says make it the UK's largest provider of international distance learning. Students who want to live and study in London on a Student visa do so at its School of Advanced Study (SAS) in Bloomsbury, which offers specialist master's degrees in art history, cultural history, languages and law.

SAS courses are taught at the Warburg Institute, the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and other institutes around Senate House. Overseas fees for 2026/27 are about £17,000 to £21,500 a year. Entry needs a first or upper second-class degree (or overseas equivalent) and IELTS 7.0 with at least 6.0 in each part, which is higher than at many UK universities. Online degrees have their own fees and do not lead to a Student visa.

Type
Federal university that convenes London-based universities; it teaches directly through online degrees and the School of Advanced Study
Online learning
Describes itself as the UK's largest provider of international distance and online learning (online degrees do not lead to a Student visa)
On-campus study
Postgraduate degrees in the humanities and law at the School of Advanced Study (SAS), Bloomsbury, central London
Student visa
Full-time SAS students are sponsored by the University of London; part-time students cannot be sponsored
Intakes
September for most SAS master's; January and September for the LLM in Drafting Legislation

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 4 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
    LLM in Drafting Legislation, Regulation, and PolicyFull time on campus (course page lists 1–3 years full time)£16,957≈ ₹20.7 lakh
    MA in Art History, Curatorship and Renaissance Culture12 months full time£21,477≈ ₹26.2 lakh
    MA in Cultural, Intellectual and Visual History12 months full time£20,837≈ ₹25.4 lakh
    MA in Languages and Cultures Across Borders12 months full time£20,738≈ ₹25.3 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of London with similar universities in the UK.

    Scholarships

    • Taught master's at SAS

      SAS Masters Studentship

      Value: £18,000 (fees plus maintenance); two awards

      Eligibility: Merit-based, for self-funded students on SAS taught master's. The 2026 deadline was 19 March.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • Taught master's at SAS, full time

      SAS Convocation Trust Bursary

      Value: £10,000; four awards

      Eligibility: Self-funded UK, EU or overseas students from groups under-represented among SAS master's students.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • LLM in Drafting Legislation, Regulation and Policy (on campus)

      Allan and Nesta Ferguson Charitable Trust Scholarship

      Value: Full tuition, a £23,919 stipend, visa fee, healthcare surcharge and a travel stipend

      Eligibility: Residents of low or middle-income countries (World Bank list) with an offer for on-campus study in London. Merit and financial need.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • SAS does not offer on-campus bachelor's degrees. The University of London's undergraduate degrees are mainly online, which do not lead to a Student visa.

    Postgraduate

    • A first or upper second-class honours degree from a UK university, or an overseas qualification of an equivalent standard, normally in a related subject.
    • Applicants without these qualifications may be considered if they have other qualifications or relevant experience.
    • Only full-time on-campus students can be sponsored for a Student visa; SAS issues the CAS (£55 administration charge).

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • Degree certificate and transcripts
    • IELTS Academic certificate
    • Personal statement
    • References

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic7.0 overall with no component below 6.0, valid for two years
    Trinity College London (ISE)Accepted, but can only be taken inside the UK
    Other tests and waiversSAS accepts only UKVI-approved Secure English Language Tests (IELTS and Trinity). Writing samples and interviews cannot replace a test; no Class 12 English waiver is mentioned.

    Accommodation and living costs

    The University of London runs intercollegiate halls in central London, where students live alongside peers from other London universities; check eligibility with SAS when you apply. Contracts are 40 weeks and Wi-Fi is included. Prices below are 2026/27 weekly rates for two example rooms.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees
    Nutford House large single, shared bathroom (catered: breakfast and dinner)40-week licence£294per week≈ ₹35,894
    Garden Halls standard superior room (self-catered)40-week licence£319per week≈ ₹38,883
    Student visa maintenance funds (SAS guidance)For 9 months (£13,761), plus any unpaid first-year tuition£1,529per month≈ ₹1.9 lakh

    Campus and location

    SAS is based in Bloomsbury, central London, around Senate House and Russell Square.

    • Senate House Library holds millions of books, journals and digital resources.
    • The Warburg Institute teaches art and cultural history; the MA in Art History is run with the National Gallery.
    • The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies is at Charles Clore House, Russell Square.
    • Intercollegiate halls let you live with students from other London universities.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    SAS master's are specialist humanities and law degrees; the MA in Art History is run with the National Gallery, and the LLM focuses on drafting legislation and policy. SAS does not publish graduate salary figures on the pages we checked. After graduating you can apply for the UK Graduate visa; see our UK guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in the UK

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in the UK

    Compare all universities in the UK

    FAQs

    Can I study at the University of London on a Student visa?

    Yes, on a full-time on-campus master's at the School of Advanced Study in Bloomsbury. The university's online degrees and part-time SAS courses do not lead to a Student visa.

    How much are the fees?

    For 2026/27, overseas full-time fees are £16,957 for the LLM in Drafting Legislation, Regulation, and Policy and about £20,700 to £21,500 for the MA courses on this page. Fees rise each year.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    IELTS Academic 7.0 overall with no component below 6.0. SAS accepts only IELTS or Trinity College London tests.

    Where would I live?

    The University of London's intercollegiate halls are one option. In 2026/27 rooms we checked cost about £294 to £319 a week on a 40-week licence.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of London.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories