Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Houses of Parliament and the Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben) in London, seen across the River Thames and Westminster Bridge on a sunny day.
Flag of United Kingdom

University of Greater Manchester

Bolton, United Kingdom · Public · Est. Formerly the University of Bolton; founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Formerly the University of Bolton; founding year not stated on the pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Bolton, United Kingdom

Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

118th of 130 UK universities

Photo: Philippe Bontemps, Unsplash License

About the university

The University of Greater Manchester, formerly the University of Bolton, is a public university based in the town of Bolton in Greater Manchester. It teaches business, computing, engineering, health, nursing, education and the creative arts, and many taught master's courses run for 12 or 18 months with September or January starts.

For Indian students the main draw is a single international fee: most courses are £17,500 a year, and the university says it offers some of the lowest fees and living costs of any UK university. Entry asks for 60% in Class 12 for a bachelor's, and 65% in a three-year degree or 55% in a four-year degree for a master's. The university has a South Asia office in India and merit discounts of up to £3,000 for Indian applicants.

Name
University of Greater Manchester, formerly the University of Bolton; many course pages still carry the Bolton name
Type
Public university
Main campus
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Intakes
September for most courses; January for some bachelor's and master's courses
International fee
Most courses £17,500 a year (university's international fees page)

Rankings

  • Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

    118th of 130 UK universities

Popular courses with Indian students

View all 12 courses with filters

Fees for international students

Course fees
CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
International MBA (Graduate Entry)12 months full time (18-month January-start version also offered)£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc International Management12 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Artificial Intelligence18 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Civil Engineering12 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Mechanical Engineering12 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Electrical and Electronic Engineering12 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Accountancy and Financial Management18 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh
MSc Logistics and Supply Chain Management12 months full time£17,500≈ ₹21.4 lakh

Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of Greater Manchester with similar universities in the UK.

Scholarships

  • Three-year bachelor's, taught master's (including MBA) and PhD; Year 1 only

    International Excellence Scholarship (International Merit Package)

    Value: Gold £3,000 (first class or 70%), Silver up to £2,000 (upper second or 60%), Bronze up to £1,000

    Eligibility: Self-funded international students from countries outside the Global Excellence list (India is not on that list), and all applicants who apply through an agent. Four-year courses with a foundation year get Bronze only; MRes courses are excluded.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)

Admission requirements

Undergraduate

  • Year 1 entry: 60% or more in Class 12 (all boards), or a two-year diploma from a state board or approved polytechnic.
  • Applicants who do not meet Year 1 entry may be considered for a foundation or access programme.
  • Entry to Year 2 or 3 is assessed case by case.

Postgraduate

  • A three-year bachelor's degree with 65% or more from a recognised university.
  • Or a four-year degree with an upper second class (55%).
  • Some master's, such as MSc Data Analytics and Technologies, ask for a related subject.

Documents

  • Valid passport
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
  • Degree certificate and transcripts for master's courses
  • English test certificate
  • Personal statement
  • Reference

Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

English language requirements

English requirements
Test or routeTypical requirement
IELTS Academic or IELTS IndicatorUndergraduate 6.0 with no band below 5.5; postgraduate as stated on each course page (6.0 with no band below 5.5 for the courses on this page)
PTE AcademicAt least 59 in each component for courses needing IELTS 6.0 or 6.5; 76 in each for IELTS 7.0
TOEFL iBTFor courses needing IELTS 6.0: Reading 18, Writing 17, Listening 17, Speaking 20
Other testsPearson Versant, Trinity ISE and Cambridge Advanced English are accepted. Indian Class 12 English is not listed as an alternative on the English requirements page.

Accommodation and living costs

The university recommends Orlando Village, a private student village about 10 minutes' walk from the main campus. All rooms include bills and Wi-Fi, with Bronze, Bronze Plus, Silver and Gold (en suite) room types, a free campus bus and 24/7 security.

Accommodation and living costs
ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees
Orlando Village, 49-week contractStarting price in the university's 2025/26 living-cost estimate£6,811per year≈ ₹8.3 lakh
Estimated total living costs (with Orlando Village)University's 2025/26 estimate; excludes transport£10,886per year≈ ₹13.3 lakh

Campus and location

Teaching is based on the main campus in Bolton, with Orlando Village halls a short walk away.

  • Schools and centres cover business, computing, engineering, motorsport and construction, health and nursing, education and creative arts.
  • Many master's courses offer 12-month and 18-month versions, some with January starts.
  • A South Asia office in India supports Indian applicants.

Careers and graduate outcomes

Courses are career-focused, and many engineering and business master's offer 18-month versions. The university does not publish graduate salary figures on the pages we checked. After graduating you can apply for the UK Graduate visa; see our UK guide.

Graduate outcomes
WhatFigureSource

Studying in the UK

Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

Other universities in the UK

Compare all universities in the UK

FAQs

How much does the University of Greater Manchester cost?

Most courses cost £17,500 a year for international students. Some special-category courses differ, so check the Fees & Funding tab on the course page.

Is there a scholarship for Indian students?

Yes. Indian applicants fall under the International Merit Package: £3,000 off Year 1 for a first class or 70%, up to £2,000 for 60%, and up to £1,000 for others.

What marks do I need?

60% in Class 12 for a bachelor's. For a master's, 65% in a three-year degree or 55% (upper second) in a four-year degree.

Is this the same as the University of Bolton?

Yes. The University of Greater Manchester was formerly the University of Bolton, and many course pages still use the Bolton name.

Sources

Talk to our counsellor

Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of Greater Manchester.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories