Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Houses of Parliament and the Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben) in London, seen across the River Thames and Westminster Bridge on a sunny day.
Flag of United KingdomUniversity of Gloucestershire logo

University of Gloucestershire

Cheltenham, United Kingdom · Public · Est. 1847 (university status 2001)

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

1847 (university status 2001)

Type

Public

Location

Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

=98th of 130 UK universities

Photo: Philippe Bontemps, Unsplash License

About the university

The University of Gloucestershire traces its teaching back to 1847, when Cheltenham Training College was founded, and became a university in 2001. It has about 11,300 students, including around 2,000 international students, on four campuses in Cheltenham and Gloucester, close to the Cotswolds.

For 2026/27, international fees for a full master's are set in four bands, from £18,490 to £20,190 for the whole award, and Indian students receive an automatic India Scholarship of £4,000 a year (postgraduate) or £5,000 a year (undergraduate). Most master's need a 2:2 degree and IELTS 6.0, and 70% in Class 12 English is accepted as proof of English. Gloucestershire publishes undergraduate fees on separate lists that we could not read, so only master's courses are listed below.

Founded
1847, as Cheltenham Training College, founded by Reverend Francis Close; university status in 2001
Total students
About 11,300 (About us page)
International students
About 2,000 from more than 92 nationalities (About us page)
Campuses
Four: Park and Francis Close Hall in Cheltenham; Oxstalls and City Campus in Gloucester
Graduate outcomes
94% of graduates in work or further study within 15 months (Graduate Outcomes Survey, 2023/24 leavers, via the university)
Intakes
September; January for some master's, including MSc Marketing and the LLM

Rankings

  • Complete University Guide (UK) 2027

    =98th of 130 UK universities

Popular courses with Indian students

View all 4 courses with filters

Fees for international students

Course fees
CourseDurationFee / year (GBP)Approx. in rupees
MSc Cyber Security1 year full time£18,490≈ ₹22.6 lakh
MSc Marketing1 year full time£18,490≈ ₹22.6 lakh
MSc Construction Project Management1 year full time£20,190≈ ₹24.6 lakh
LLM International Business Law and Management1 year full time£19,570≈ ₹23.9 lakh

Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of Gloucestershire with similar universities in the UK.

Scholarships

  • Undergraduate and postgraduate

    India Scholarship

    Value: £5,000 off each year's fee (undergraduate); £4,000 off each year's fee (postgraduate)

    Eligibility: Indian students. Applied automatically at the point of offer.

    Official page (opens in a new tab)

Admission requirements

Undergraduate

  • Gloucestershire's India page lists separate undergraduate and foundation requirements; check them with the university or a listed agent before applying.
  • 70% in Class 12 English (CISCE, CBSE and several state boards) is accepted as proof of English for all levels.

Postgraduate

  • Most master's on this page ask for at least a 2:2 honours degree or equivalent; MSc Cyber Security needs a computing or engineering subject.
  • MSc Construction Project Management asks for an architecture or construction-related degree, or a bridging course.
  • Work experience is considered for several business and law master's.

Documents

  • Valid passport
  • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
  • Degree certificate and transcripts
  • English test certificate, Class 12 English marks or an English-medium letter
  • Personal statement
  • Reference

Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

English language requirements

English requirements
Test or routeTypical requirement
IELTS AcademicMost undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses: 6.0 with no band below 5.5. Exceptions include MSc Human Resource Management (6.5, 6.0 in writing) and health courses (7.0).
PTE Academic64 for courses needing IELTS 6.0 (59 per band equals IELTS 5.5)
TOEFL iBT80 for courses needing IELTS 6.0 (Reading 20, Writing 19, Listening 19, Speaking 22)
Class 12 English70% accepted for all levels from CISCE, CBSE, Kerala, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal boards (valid 5 years)
English-medium letterAccepted from the top 100 Indian universities in the NIRF ranking, valid 10 years from graduation. Duolingo is not listed.

Accommodation and living costs

University halls include all bills (heating, water and electricity with no caps), fast internet and contents insurance. The 2026/27 halls contract runs for 40 weeks, from 12 September 2026 to 19 June 2027, and a £200 advance rent secures a room.

Accommodation and living costs
ItemIn GBPApprox. in rupees
Oxstalls Halls premium en suite, Gloucester (2026/27)£191per week≈ ₹23,302
Pittville Student Village shared townhouse, CheltenhamYear not stated on the hall page£167–173per week≈ ₹20,374 – ₹21,106
Pittville Student Village enhanced en suiteYear not stated on the hall page£186–194per week≈ ₹22,692 – ₹23,668
Advance rent payment£200one-off≈ ₹24,400

Campus and location

Gloucestershire has four campuses across Cheltenham and Gloucester, so check where your course is taught.

  • Park, Cheltenham: computing and cyber security.
  • Francis Close Hall, Cheltenham: the historic campus with the chapel; construction and architecture courses.
  • Oxstalls, Gloucester: business and law, with on-campus halls about 20 minutes' walk from the city centre.
  • Pittville Student Village is about 10 minutes' walk from Francis Close Hall and Cheltenham town centre.

Careers and graduate outcomes

The university reports strong graduate outcomes, and several master's include optional placements. After graduating you can apply for the UK Graduate visa; see our UK guide.

Graduate outcomes
WhatFigureSource
Graduates in work or further study within 15 months94%Graduate Outcomes Survey (2023/24 leavers), via University of Gloucestershire

Studying in the UK

Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:

Other universities in the UK

Compare all universities in the UK

FAQs

How much is a master's at Gloucestershire?

For 2026/27, a full master's costs £18,490 to £20,190 for international students, depending on the course band; the full-time master's on this page last one year. Indian students get an automatic £4,000 India Scholarship.

Can I use Class 12 English instead of IELTS?

Yes. 70% in Class 12 English from CISCE, CBSE and several state boards is accepted for all levels.

Is there a January intake?

Yes, for some master's, including MSc Marketing and the LLM International Business Law and Management.

Where would I live?

University halls in Cheltenham and Gloucester include all bills; an Oxstalls premium en suite is £191 a week in 2026/27 on a 40-week contract.

Sources

Talk to our counsellor

Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of Gloucestershire.

IELTS / PTE status
Best way to reach you

#YouInspireUs

Stories from our students and parents

#StudyAbroadSample
ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

#1 Student name

MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

All student stories