About the university
Birmingham Newman University is a small public university on a single campus at Bartley Green, Birmingham. It has built on its Catholic heritage since 1968 and is known for education, teacher training, counselling, psychology and a close-knit, inclusive community. It now also teaches business, computer science, data science, AI and public health at master's level.
Newman's fees are low: £13,500 for a postgraduate course in 2026/27, cut to £8,000 by an automatic scholarship. But Newman says that, as a new Student visa sponsor, its sponsored students are not allowed to work in the UK and are not eligible for the Graduate Route. Indian students who plan to work part time or stay on after graduating should weigh this carefully.
- Founded
- 1968, with a Catholic heritage
- Type
- Public university with one campus at Bartley Green, Birmingham
- Intakes
- Several for some master's courses: September, November, January and May
- Student visa
- New Student visa sponsor: sponsored students may not work and cannot use the Graduate Route
- International fee 2026/27
- Postgraduate £13,500 (£8,000 after scholarship); undergraduate £12,500 (£11,000 after scholarship)
Rankings
Complete University Guide (UK) 2027
127th of 130 UK universities
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- Full time (length not stated on the course page)
- Intakes
- January 2027; September 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- Full time (length not stated on the course page)
- Intakes
- January 2027; September 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
Applied Artificial Intelligence (AI) MSc
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- 1 year (full time)
- Intakes
- September 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
International Business Management MSc
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- Full time (length not stated on the course page)
- Intakes
- November 2026; January 2027; May 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- Full time (length not stated on the course page)
- Intakes
- November 2026; January 2027; May 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- £13,500
- Duration
- Full time (length not stated on the course page)
- Intakes
- September 2027
- English
- IELTS for UKVI 6.5 (no component below 6.0)
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (GBP) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Data Science (conversion) MSc | Full time (length not stated on the course page) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Advanced Computer Science MSc | Full time (length not stated on the course page) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Applied Artificial Intelligence (AI) MSc | 1 year (full time) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| International Business Management MSc | Full time (length not stated on the course page) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Master of Business Administration | Full time (length not stated on the course page) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
| Master of Public Health | Full time (length not stated on the course page) | £13,500 | ≈ ₹16.5 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Birmingham Newman University with similar universities in the UK.
Scholarships
- Full-time undergraduate and postgraduate
International Excellence Scholarship (2026/27)
Value: £5,500 off postgraduate fees (net £8,000) or £1,500 off undergraduate fees (net £11,000)
Eligibility: All full-time international students who apply in 2026/27. Applied automatically to the offer.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Postgraduate
Chevening Scholarship
Value: Full tuition, a monthly stipend and return airfare
Eligibility: Selected by British embassies and high commissions; see the Chevening website.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- 63% in Class 12 from CBSE, ISC or listed state boards (such as West Bengal, Maharashtra and Karnataka), or 65% from other boards. Where a subject is required, 68% in that subject.
- Apply online with the Apply button on the course page; you must be 18 or over at enrolment.
Postgraduate
- A three-year bachelor's degree from an accredited university with at least 55% overall.
- Most master's courses ask for a relevant degree; lower grades may be considered with relevant professional experience.
- All applicants have a pre-CAS credibility interview by video.
- At least 50% of the fee must be paid to enrol; the rest is paid in two instalments.
Documents
- Valid passport
- Certified certificates and transcripts (Class 12, and degree for master's)
- UKVI-approved English test (SELT) taken in the last two years
- Personal statement
- References (one for undergraduate, two for postgraduate)
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS for UKVI (undergraduate) | 6.0 overall with no component below 5.5 |
| IELTS for UKVI (postgraduate) | 6.5 overall with no component below 6.0 |
| Other tests | Only UKVI-approved SELTs are listed, such as PTE Academic UKVI and Trinity ISE or GESE, at the equivalent level |
| Class 12 English | Not listed as accepted; plan to take a SELT |
Accommodation and living costs
Newman has two halls on its Bartley Green campus: Cofton Hall and the original halls. The year these prices apply to is not stated on the page.
| Item | In GBP | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Original hallsFrom this price | £110per week | ≈ ₹13,420 |
| Cofton HallFrom this price | £172per week | ≈ ₹20,984 |
Campus and location
Newman has a single campus at Genners Lane, Bartley Green, in Birmingham, with teaching buildings and halls on site.
- Small, close-knit campus community.
- Two halls of residence on campus.
- Long-standing strengths in education, teacher training, counselling and psychology.
- Newer master's courses in computer science, data science, AI, business and public health.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Newman states that, as a new Student visa sponsor, its sponsored students are not permitted to work in the UK and are not eligible for the Graduate Route. Check this with the university before you apply, and see our UK guide for general visa rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in the UK
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the UK. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in the UK

Photo: Hampshire County Council, OGL 3 PublicUniversity of Southampton (official website, opens in a new tab)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Data Science & AI

Photo: DrPhoenix, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicThe University of Manchester (official website, opens in a new tab)
Manchester, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Life Sciences

Photo: Tim Green from Bradford, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Leeds (official website, opens in a new tab)
Leeds, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Diliff, CC BY 3.0 PublicUniversity of Glasgow (official website, opens in a new tab)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Computer Science & IT, Law

Photo: Oscar Taylor, CC BY-SA 2.0 PublicCoventry University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Coventry, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Simonham, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Birmingham (official website, opens in a new tab)
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Often chosen for Business & Management, Engineering, Law
FAQs
Why are Newman's fees so low?
For 2026/27 the international postgraduate fee is £13,500, and the automatic International Excellence Scholarship of £5,500 brings it to £8,000. Undergraduate fees are £12,500, or £11,000 after the scholarship.
Can I work part time or get a Graduate visa after studying at Newman?
Newman says that, as a new Student visa sponsor, its sponsored students are not permitted to work in the UK and are not eligible for the Graduate Route. This is a big difference from most UK universities.
Does Newman accept 3-year Indian degrees?
Yes. Newman asks for a three-year bachelor's degree from an accredited university with at least 55% overall.
When can I start?
Some master's courses start in November, January or May as well as September. For example, MSc International Business Management and the MBA list November 2026, January 2027 and May 2027 starts.
Sources
- Birmingham Newman University: international tuition fees and scholarships (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: entry requirements and visa information (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: international students (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: postgraduate courses (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: Data Science (conversion) MSc (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: accommodation (opens in a new tab)
- Birmingham Newman University: About us (opens in a new tab)
- Complete University Guide 2027 league table (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.newman.ac.uk (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
