About the university
Universitat Rovira i Virgili was created in 1991 by the Parliament of Catalonia, growing out of University of Barcelona programmes that had run in Tarragona since 1971. It is named after Antoni Rovira i Virgili, a Tarragona-born journalist and politician. Today it has about 16,000 students in 12 faculties and schools.
URV offers nearly 60 master's. Several are taught in English, especially in engineering, computing and business: computer security and AI, computational engineering and mathematics, electric vehicle technologies, chemical engineering, international markets, technology and engineering management, and tourist destination management. It is also a partner in the inter-university Master's in Artificial Intelligence coordinated by UPC.
For Indian students, URV combines English-taught options with public fees. Students who are not EU nationals or Spanish residents pay about €2,913 for a 60-credit master's in 2026–27, plus a one-off academic tax of €218.15.
URV describes itself as the public university of Tarragona, and its seven campuses include sites in Tarragona, Vila-seca, Terres de l'Ebre and the Penedès.
- Founded
- 1991, by Law 36/1991 of the Parliament of Catalonia, from University of Barcelona programmes run in Tarragona since 1971
- Type
- Public university; URV calls itself the public university of Tarragona
- Students
- About 16,000 (URV)
- Faculties and schools
- 12
- Programmes
- Nearly 60 bachelor's and 60 master's (URV)
- Campuses
- Seven: Catalunya, Sescelades, Bellissens, Vila-seca, Terres de l'Ebre, Baix Penedès and Vilafranca del Penedès
- Intake
- September for most master's; some start in October
Rankings
QS World University Rankings 2027
851–900 in the world
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Computer Security Engineering and Artificial Intelligence
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS), on campus or online
- Intakes
- September (2026–27 runs 22 September 2026 to 16 June 2027)
- English
- Taught in English; the page does not state a minimum score
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Computational Engineering and Mathematics
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS), online
- Intakes
- September (2026–27 runs 22 September 2026 to 18 June 2027)
- English
- Taught in English; the page does not state a minimum score
- Postgraduate
Master's Degree in Electric Vehicle Technologies
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS)
- Intakes
- September (2026–27 runs 21 September 2026 to 17 June 2027)
- English
- Taught in English; the page does not state a minimum score
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Chemical Engineering
- Fee / year
- €1,884
- Duration
- 90 ECTS (60 in year one, 30 for internship and thesis)
- Intakes
- September (mid-September start)
- English
- Taught in English, face to face
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Technology and Engineering Management
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS)
- Intakes
- September (late September to mid-June)
- English
- Taught in English; the page does not state a minimum score
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in International Markets
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS)
- Intakes
- September (2026–27 runs 28 September 2026 to 14 May 2027)
- English
- Taught in English; the page does not state a minimum score
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Tourist Destination Management
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS), blended or online
- Intakes
- September; pre-registration for 2027–28 opens in March 2027
- English
- Taught in English, with some optional subjects in Spanish
- Postgraduate
University Master's Degree in Business Management
- Fee / year
- €2,913
- Duration
- 1 year (60 ECTS)
- Intakes
- September (2026–27 runs 28 September 2026 to 11 June 2027)
- English
- Taught in Spanish
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (EUR) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| University Master's Degree in Computer Security Engineering and Artificial Intelligence | 1 year (60 ECTS), on campus or online | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in Computational Engineering and Mathematics | 1 year (60 ECTS), online | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| Master's Degree in Electric Vehicle Technologies | 1 year (60 ECTS) | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in Chemical Engineering | 90 ECTS (60 in year one, 30 for internship and thesis) | €1,884 | ≈ ₹2 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in Technology and Engineering Management | 1 year (60 ECTS) | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in International Markets | 1 year (60 ECTS) | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in Tourist Destination Management | 1 year (60 ECTS), blended or online | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
| University Master's Degree in Business Management | 1 year (60 ECTS) | €2,913 | ≈ ₹3.1 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Universitat Rovira i Virgili with similar universities in Spain.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Most URV bachelor's degrees are not taught in English; check the language of each degree.
Postgraduate
- A bachelor's degree that gives access to master's study; each master's sets its own admission profile.
- Pre-register online for each master's; for 2027–28, pre-registration opens in March 2027 for several programmes.
- A non-refundable pre-enrolment fee of €30.21 applies.
- Students with degrees from outside the EU pay a one-off academic tax of €218.15 on first enrolment.
Documents
- Passport
- Bachelor's degree certificate and transcripts, legalised (Hague Apostille for India) and translated where required
- Proof of English for English-taught master's
- CV and motivation letter where the programme asks for them
- Proof of funds and health insurance for the student visa
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| English-taught master's | Several, including Computer Security Engineering and AI, Electric Vehicle Technologies, Chemical Engineering, International Markets, Technology and Engineering Management, and Tourist Destination Management. |
| Test scores | The course pages we checked do not name minimum IELTS or TOEFL scores; ask the programme which certificates it accepts. |
| Spanish-taught master's | Some, such as Business Management, are taught in Spanish. |
Accommodation and living costs
We did not open URV accommodation pages with prices for this research, so no costs are listed. Check URV's housing information for residences and shared flats.
| Item | In EUR | Approx. in rupees |
|---|
Campus and location
URV has seven campuses: Catalunya, Sescelades, Bellissens, Vila-seca, Terres de l'Ebre, Baix Penedès and Vilafranca del Penedès.
- The School of Engineering runs the computer security, AI, computational engineering and electric vehicle master's.
- The Faculty of Tourism and Geography runs the Tourist Destination Management master's.
- Several master's can be taken online or blended, which suits working students but check visa implications for online study.
- URV has about 2,600 teaching and research staff.
Careers and graduate outcomes
URV does not publish employment figures for international master's graduates that we could find. See our Spain guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in Spain
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Spain. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Spain

Photo: Luis García (Zaqarbal), CC BY-SA 3.0 PrivateIE University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Madrid and Segovia, Spain
Often chosen for Business & Management, Law, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Jordiferrer, CC BY-SA 3.0 PrivateEsade (official website, opens in a new tab)
Barcelona, Spain
Often chosen for Business & Management, Finance & Accounting, Law

Photo: DigitalCompas, CC BY 4.0 PublicUniversity of Barcelona (official website, opens in a new tab)
Barcelona, Spain
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Medicine & Health Sciences, Business & Management

Photo: Zarateman, CC0 PublicOften chosen for Life Sciences, Law, Engineering

Photo: Spanishstudent006, CC BY-SA 3.0 PrivateEU Business School (official website, opens in a new tab)
Barcelona, Spain
Often chosen for Business & Management, Finance & Accounting

Photo: Jorge Franganillo, CC BY 3.0 PublicPompeu Fabra University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Barcelona, Spain
Often chosen for Business & Management, Arts, Design & Media, Life Sciences
FAQs
How much does a master's at URV cost for Indian students?
For 2026–27, most 60-credit master's list €2,913 for students who are not EU nationals or Spanish residents, plus a one-off €218.15 academic tax for non-EU degree holders. Chemical Engineering lists €1,884 for its first course.
Does URV teach master's in English?
Yes. Computer Security Engineering and AI, Electric Vehicle Technologies, Chemical Engineering, International Markets, Technology and Engineering Management, and Tourist Destination Management are taught in English.
When do URV master's start?
Most start in the second half of September. Pre-registration for 2027–28 opens in March 2027 for several programmes.
Are any courses online?
Yes. Computational Engineering and Mathematics is online, and Computer Security and Tourist Destination Management have online places. Check whether an online programme fits your visa plans.
Is URV ranked?
It is in the 851–900 band of the QS World University Rankings 2027.
Sources
- URV: master's prices (opens in a new tab)
- URV: master's in information technologies (opens in a new tab)
- URV: master's in engineering (opens in a new tab)
- URV: Master's in Computer Security Engineering and AI (opens in a new tab)
- URV: Master's in International Markets (opens in a new tab)
- URV: Master's in Electric Vehicle Technologies (opens in a new tab)
- URV: Master's in Chemical Engineering (opens in a new tab)
- URV: about (opens in a new tab)
- URV: history (opens in a new tab)
- QS World University Rankings 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.urv.cat (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details