About the university
The Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki (WITT) is a public institute of technology with campuses in New Plymouth and Hāwera on New Zealand's west coast. It teaches business and management, accounting, nursing, engineering, arts and design, cookery, beauty therapy, agriculture and foundation studies. Its about page describes WITT as part of Te Pūkenga and an NZQA category two provider.
For Indian students, WITT offers a small campus and New Zealand bachelor's degrees in applied management, nursing and design, plus a one-year Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways) for graduates. International fees for 2027 intakes run from about NZ$23,400 to NZ$28,250 a year, and new international students receive an automatic scholarship of up to NZ$2,500 on many programmes.
- Type
- Public institute of technology (Te Kura Matatini o Taranaki); its site describes it as WITT Te Pūkenga
- Campuses
- New Plymouth (Bell Street) and Hāwera, South Taranaki
- NZQA rating
- Category two provider (as stated on its about page)
- Intakes
- February and July 2027 for most programmes
- Course levels
- Certificates and diplomas to bachelor's degrees and graduate diplomas
- International scholarship 2027
- NZ$500–NZ$2,500 off first-year tuition, applied automatically
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Applied Management (Level 7)
- Fee / year
- NZ$23,942
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- February; July
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5, or equivalent
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways) (Level 7)
- Fee / year
- NZ$28,250
- Duration
- 1 year full-time (120 credits)
- Intakes
- July
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; WITT's Level 7 minimum is IELTS Academic 6.0 (no band below 5.5) or PTE Academic 50
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Nursing (Puahou Tapuhi o Aotearoa) (Level 7)
- Fee / year
- NZ$26,816
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- February
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; ask WITT
- Undergraduate
New Zealand Diploma in Business (Accounting or Leadership and Management) (Level 5)
- Fee / year
- NZ$28,166
- Duration
- 1 year full-time
- Intakes
- February; July
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.5 with no band below 5.0, or equivalent
- Undergraduate
Bachelor of Design and Arts (Level 7), major in Visual Arts
- Fee / year
- NZ$23,942
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- February
- English
- IELTS 6.0 (General or Academic) with no band below 5.5, or equivalent
- Undergraduate
Diploma in Professional Cookery (Level 5)
- Fee / year
- NZ$23,442
- Duration
- 2 years full-time
- Intakes
- Ask WITT ("enrolling now for the next intake")
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.5 with no band below 5.0, or equivalent
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (NZD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Applied Management (Level 7) | 3 years full-time | NZ$23,942 | ≈ ₹12.9 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways) (Level 7) | 1 year full-time (120 credits) | NZ$28,250 | ≈ ₹15.3 lakh |
| Bachelor of Nursing (Puahou Tapuhi o Aotearoa) (Level 7) | 3 years full-time | NZ$26,816 | ≈ ₹14.5 lakh |
| New Zealand Diploma in Business (Accounting or Leadership and Management) (Level 5) | 1 year full-time | NZ$28,166 | ≈ ₹15.2 lakh |
| Bachelor of Design and Arts (Level 7), major in Visual Arts | 3 years full-time | NZ$23,942 | ≈ ₹12.9 lakh |
| Diploma in Professional Cookery (Level 5) | 2 years full-time | NZ$23,442 | ≈ ₹12.7 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki with similar universities in New Zealand.
Scholarships
- Eligible certificate, diploma and degree programmes (not nursing and wellness)
WITT International Scholarship (2027 intakes)
Value: NZ$500 to NZ$2,500 off tuition, depending on the programme (e.g. NZ$2,500 for the Bachelor of Applied Management and Bachelor of Design and Arts)
Eligibility: New full-fee international students with a valid offer starting in 2027; applied automatically, first year only
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Bachelor's degrees: NCEA Level 3 or University Entrance, or equivalent (ask WITT how it treats an Indian Class 12 certificate).
- Level 5 diplomas: NCEA Level 2 or equivalent; cookery asks for 48 credits at NCEA Level 2 or equivalent.
- Most programmes take international students in February and July.
Postgraduate
- Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways): an engineering, science, geology or similar degree, and enough maths knowledge to satisfy the programme manager.
Documents
- Passport
- Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets; degree certificate and transcripts for the graduate diploma
- English test result taken within the last two years (one test report)
- Travel and medical insurance (NZ$800 a year through WITT's provider)
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS, Level 6–7 diplomas and degrees | Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 |
| IELTS, Level 5 diplomas | Academic 5.5 with no band below 5.0 |
| PTE Academic | 50 (no band below 42) for degrees; 42 (no band below 36) for Level 5 |
| TOEFL iBT | 60 (writing 18) for degrees; 46 (writing 14) for Level 5 |
| Other tests | Cambridge, NZCEL, OET, LanguageCert and Trinity ISE accepted; no Duolingo or Class 12 waiver listed |
Accommodation and living costs
WITT has an on-campus lodge in New Plymouth, Te Henui Lodge, for students aged 18 and over. Homestays are for students under 18. Older students can also board with a family or rent a room in a shared flat.
| Item | In NZD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Te Henui Lodge, single furnished roomFood and laundry not included | NZ$280per week | ≈ ₹15,120 |
| Te Henui Lodge, double furnished room | NZ$380per week | ≈ ₹20,520 |
| Boarding with a family (18+)Estimate | NZ$180–250per week | ≈ ₹9,720 – ₹13,500 |
| Flatting, per roomEstimate, plus bills | NZ$200–250per week | ≈ ₹10,800 – ₹13,500 |
| Homestay (under 18 only), incl. meals | NZ$345per week | ≈ ₹18,630 |
Campus and location
WITT's main campus is at the end of Bell Street in New Plymouth, with a second campus in Hāwera. It describes itself as a smaller, friendly campus.
- A nursing centre and other professional training facilities on the New Plymouth campus.
- Te Henui Lodge offers on-campus rooms for students aged 18 and over.
- Some programmes mix campus, blended and online study.
- The Bachelor of Accounting moves from campus study in Year 1 to online study by Year 3, so check the delivery mode of any programme before applying.
Careers and graduate outcomes
WITT's programmes are built around work in business, nursing, engineering, hospitality and the creative industries in Taranaki and beyond. It publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our New Zealand guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in New Zealand
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in New Zealand

Photo: Colin Rose from Montreal, Canada, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Auckland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: ArtNewNZ, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Otago (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dunedin, New Zealand
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Life Sciences

Photo: Panamitsu, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicVictoria University of Wellington (official website, opens in a new tab)
Wellington, New Zealand
Often chosen for Law, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Photograph by Greg O'Beirne, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Canterbury (official website, opens in a new tab)
Christchurch, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: Sophbuchan, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicAuckland University of Technology (AUT) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Business & Management, Nursing & Allied Health

Photo: Michal Klajban, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicMassey University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Often chosen for Business & Management, Life Sciences, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much are WITT's international fees?
For 2027 intakes, programme pages show yearly international fees of NZ$23,942 for the Bachelor of Applied Management, NZ$26,816 for the Bachelor of Nursing and NZ$28,250 for the Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways). Insurance and the student services fee are extra.
Is there a scholarship for Indian students?
New international students starting in 2027 receive an automatic scholarship of NZ$500 to NZ$2,500 on eligible programmes. Nursing and wellness programmes are excluded.
What IELTS score do I need?
Usually IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for degrees and 5.5 with no band below 5.0 for Level 5 diplomas. PTE and TOEFL are accepted.
Where would I live?
Students aged 18 and over can live in Te Henui Lodge on campus from NZ$280 a week, board with a family or rent a room in a flat.
Sources
- WITT: home page (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: about us (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: international study programmes (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: international scholarships (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: English language entry requirements (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: accommodation (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: Bachelor of Applied Management (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: Bachelor of Nursing (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Highways) (opens in a new tab)
- WITT: Bachelor of Accounting (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.witt.ac.nz (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
