Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of New Zealand

Unitec Institute of Technology

Auckland, New Zealand · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on Unitec's pages; now part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on Unitec's pages; now part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec

Type

Public

Location

Auckland, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

About the university

Unitec Institute of Technology is a public institute of technology in Auckland with campuses at Mt Albert and Waitākere. Since 2026 it has formed a combined provider with Manukau Institute of Technology (MIT), serving about 20,000 students a year across five Auckland campuses.

Unitec focuses on applied, career-focused study. Its best-known areas include construction, engineering technology, architecture, computing, business and nursing, and many programmes are accredited by professional bodies such as Engineering New Zealand and the New Zealand Institute of Builders.

Indian students often choose Unitec's one-year graduate diplomas and 18-month master's in computing and business. Fees are lower than at most New Zealand universities, and an International Study Grant of NZ$2,000 to NZ$4,000 comes off the first year's fees without a separate application.

Auckland is New Zealand's largest city and its main business centre.

Type
Public institute of technology; since 2026 part of the combined provider Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec
Students
About 20,000 a year across MIT and Unitec combined
Campuses
Mt Albert and Waitākere (Henderson) in Auckland; five campuses across Auckland with MIT
Intakes
February and July for most programmes; Master of Applied Business also starts in October
International fees 2027
NZ$27,207.20 for most bachelor's and graduate diplomas; NZ$31,327.20 for master's and postgraduate diplomas (per 120 credits)
International Study Grant 2027
NZ$2,000–4,000 off first-year fees, applied automatically

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 13 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Applied Technologies-Computing18 months (180 credits, full time)NZ$31,327≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Computing1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$27,207≈ ₹14.7 lakh
    Master of Applied Business18 months (180 credits, full time)NZ$31,327≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma of Applied Technologies-Computing1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$31,327≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Business1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$31,327≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Master of Professional Accounting12 months (180 credits, full time)NZ$31,327≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Construction Project Management1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$27,207≈ ₹14.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Nursing3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$31,983≈ ₹17.3 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Unitec Institute of Technology with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

    • Most programmes, first year only (first 120 credits)

      Unitec International Study Grant 2027

      Value: NZ$4,000 (architecture master's), NZ$3,000 (most other master's), NZ$2,000 (most bachelor's, graduate diplomas and NZ diplomas)

      Eligibility: New international students enrolling full time in Semester 1 or 2 of 2027 who meet entry requirements. Applied automatically; Semester 1 deadline 18 November 2026, Semester 2 deadline 26 April 2027. Cannot be combined with other Unitec awards.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Be at least 16 when you start and meet Unitec's country-specific admission requirement for your Indian Class 12 qualification.
    • Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Civil) also accepts students who complete the New Zealand Diploma in Engineering (Civil).
    • Bachelor of Nursing needs a personal statement, a medical self-declaration and police vetting consent.

    Postgraduate

    • Master's and postgraduate diplomas ask for a recognised bachelor's degree in the same or a similar field with at least a B- average, or an equivalent professional qualification.
    • Graduate diplomas accept a recognised degree or relevant professional qualification; Construction Project Management gives preference to applicants with industry experience.
    • Students who do not meet the academic criteria may be considered through bridging programmes or special admission.

    Documents

    • Passport (proof of identity)
    • Academic certificates and transcripts (Class 10, Class 12 and degree as relevant)
    • IELTS or other accepted English test result taken within the last two years
    • Personal statement and medical and police forms for nursing

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic (bachelor's and graduate diplomas)6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for most; Bachelor of Nursing 6.5 in every band
    IELTS Academic (master's and postgraduate diplomas)6.5 overall with no band below 6.0
    Other testsOther evidence of English proficiency accepted under NZQA rules (see Unitec's English language requirements page)
    English pathwayNZ Certificate in English Language (Levels 3–5) at Unitec for students below the required score

    Accommodation and living costs

    Unitec does not list halls or homestay prices on its international pages. Most students rent privately (flatting) in Auckland, where rents vary by size and area; a bond of up to four weeks' rent is usual. Unitec's cost of living page also says you need about NZ$15,000 a year for living costs on top of tuition; check the current visa figure in our New Zealand guide.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees
    Living costs stated on Unitec's cost of living pageOn top of tuitionNZ$15,000per year≈ ₹8.1 lakh

    Campus and location

    Most international programmes are taught at the Mt Albert campus in central-west Auckland. Nursing, medical imaging and social practice are at the Waitākere campus in Henderson.

    • Mt Albert: computing, business, construction, engineering and architecture.
    • Waitākere (Henderson): nursing, medical imaging and social practice.
    • Combined with Manukau Institute of Technology, giving five campuses across Auckland.
    • Engineering technology degrees accredited by Engineering New Zealand; construction degrees accredited by the New Zealand Institute of Builders.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Unitec programmes are practical and many lead to professional recognition, for example Engineering New Zealand membership for engineering technology graduates and provisional CA ANZ and CPA Australia membership for the Master of Professional Accounting. Unitec does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we used. For post-study work rights, see our New Zealand guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in New Zealand

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in New Zealand

    Compare all universities in New Zealand

    FAQs

    How much are Unitec's fees for Indian students?

    For 2027, most bachelor's and graduate diplomas cost NZ$27,207.20 per 120 credits (a year of full-time study). Master's and postgraduate diplomas cost NZ$31,327.20 per 120 credits, so an 18-month, 180-credit master's costs more in total. Fees include GST and the Student Services Fee.

    When can I start?

    Most programmes start in February or July. The Master of Applied Business also has an October start.

    Is there a scholarship?

    Unitec's International Study Grant 2027 takes NZ$2,000 to NZ$4,000 off your first-year fees, depending on the programme. There is no separate application; it is applied when you enrol.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    Usually 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for bachelor's and graduate diplomas, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for master's and postgraduate diplomas. Nursing needs 6.5 in every band.

    Can I work after studying at Unitec?

    Post-study work rights depend on your qualification level and New Zealand immigration rules. See our New Zealand country guide for details.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Unitec Institute of Technology.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories