Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of New Zealand

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology

Tauranga, New Zealand · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on Toi Ohomai's pages used

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on Toi Ohomai's pages used

Type

Public

Location

Tauranga, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

About the university

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology is a public institute of technology in New Zealand's Bay of Plenty region, with five campuses: Mokoia in Rotorua, Windermere in Tauranga, and campuses in Taupō, Tokoroa and Whakatāne.

It offers certificates, diplomas, bachelor's degrees and postgraduate study in business and management, information technology, hospitality and tourism, nursing, engineering, construction, environmental management and more.

Indian students most often look at the Master of Management (Business, Health or Hospitality) and the Postgraduate Diploma in Management, which start in February and July, along with bachelor's degrees in IT, applied management and nursing. Toi Ohomai offers new international students a free airport shuttle and an international orientation.

Type
Public institute of technology in the Bay of Plenty
Campuses
Five: Rotorua (Mokoia), Tauranga (Windermere), Taupō, Tokoroa and Whakatāne
Intakes
February and July for most degrees and postgraduate programmes; nursing starts in January
International fees 2027
NZ$24,120–27,360 a year for most bachelor's; NZ$26,520 for a postgraduate diploma (indicative)
Arrival support
Free airport shuttle and International Orientation for new international students

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 8 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Management (Business)18 months (180 credits) or 2 years (240 credits), full timeNZ$25,080≈ ₹13.5 lakh
    Master of Management (Hospitality)18 months (180 credits) or 2 years (240 credits), full timeNZ$25,080≈ ₹13.5 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Management1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$26,520≈ ₹14.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Applied Information Technology3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$25,560≈ ₹13.8 lakh
    Bachelor of Nursing3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$30,600≈ ₹16.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Applied Management (Business Management)3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$24,120≈ ₹13 lakh
    Bachelor of Applied Hospitality and Tourism Management3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$24,120≈ ₹13 lakh
    New Zealand Diploma in Engineering (Civil) (Level 6)2 years (240 credits, full time)NZ$30,720≈ ₹16.6 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Degrees ask for NZQA University Entrance or an equivalent; school qualifications from outside New Zealand are assessed case by case.
      • Bachelor of Nursing applicants must be 17 or over and provide police vetting, references, a first aid certificate, immunity evidence and a health declaration.
      • Apply with the international application form, directly or through an agent. Pay fees after Immigration New Zealand approves your visa in principle.

      Postgraduate

      • The 180-credit Master of Management needs a bachelor's degree with at least a B- average at Level 7 plus one year of relevant work experience and two references; the 240-credit pathway needs a bachelor's degree.
      • The Postgraduate Diploma in Management needs a bachelor's degree or Level 7 graduate diploma in business or management.
      • All applicants are invited to an information session.

      Documents

      • International application form
      • Passport
      • Verified academic transcripts (Class 10, Class 12 and degree as relevant)
      • English test result (IELTS from a single test report form, valid for two years)
      • Two written references for the 180-credit Master of Management

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic (bachelor's and diplomas)6.0 overall with no band below 5.5
      IELTS Academic (postgraduate)6.5 overall with no band below 6.0
      NursingIELTS 6.5 in every band, or OET 300 in all sub-tests
      NZCELNZ Certificate in English Language Level 4 (Academic) for bachelor's, Level 5 (Academic) for postgraduate; NZCEL Level 4 costs NZ$8,760 at Toi Ohomai
      PTENot mentioned on the programme pages we checked; ask Toi Ohomai before using a PTE result

      Accommodation and living costs

      Toi Ohomai does not publish accommodation prices on its accommodation page. Its International Accommodation team helps with homestays, flats, hostels and halls of residence, and it lists current vacancies across the region.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees

      Campus and location

      Most programmes for international students are taught at the Mokoia campus in Rotorua and the Windermere campus in Tauranga.

      • Mokoia campus, Rotorua: master's in management, nursing, hospitality and tourism.
      • Windermere campus, Tauranga: engineering, IT and business.
      • Further campuses in Taupō, Tokoroa and Whakatāne.
      • Free airport shuttle and international orientation for new students.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      Toi Ohomai's programmes are applied and practical. It does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we used. For post-study work rights, see our New Zealand guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in New Zealand

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in New Zealand

      Compare all universities in New Zealand

      FAQs

      How much does Toi Ohomai cost for Indian students?

      Indicative international fees for 2027 intakes are NZ$24,120–27,360 a year for most bachelor's, NZ$26,520 for the Postgraduate Diploma in Management, and NZ$37,620 for the 180-credit Master of Management. Course-related costs are extra.

      When can I start?

      Most postgraduate and bachelor's programmes start in February and July. The Bachelor of Nursing in Rotorua starts in late January.

      What IELTS score do I need?

      IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for bachelor's and diplomas, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for postgraduate study. Nursing needs 6.5 in every band.

      Which campus is best for international students?

      Rotorua (Mokoia) for management master's, nursing and hospitality; Tauranga (Windermere) for engineering and IT. Business is taught at both.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories