Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of New Zealand

Otago Polytechnic

Dunedin, New Zealand · Public · Est. Celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016 (exact founding year not stated on the page used)

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016 (exact founding year not stated on the page used)

Type

Public

Location

Dunedin, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

About the university

Otago Polytechnic is a public institute of technology based in Dunedin, in the south of New Zealand's South Island. It also has campuses in Central Otago and an Auckland International Campus for international students. It celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016.

The polytechnic is known for hands-on, career-focused programmes in engineering technology, information technology, construction, nursing, design, culinary arts and applied management. Its Bachelor of Engineering Technology is accredited by Engineering New Zealand and its Bachelor of Construction by the New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors.

Indian students often choose the Auckland International Campus for master's and postgraduate diplomas in applied management and for IT, business and construction degrees with four intakes a year. Dunedin offers lower living costs and a student village on campus. New international students starting in 2027 are automatically considered for a scholarship that cuts first-year fees.

Dunedin is a compact university city with a large student population. Auckland is New Zealand's largest city and its main job market.

Type
Public polytechnic (institute of technology)
Campuses
Dunedin, Central Otago (Cromwell and Wānaka) and the Auckland International Campus
Staff
Almost 800 employees (About us page)
Intakes
February and July in Dunedin; February, April, July and October at the Auckland International Campus
Graduate outcomes
96% of graduates in work or further study (Otago Polytechnic international page)
On-campus housing
Te Pā Tauira student village in Dunedin, 231 beds

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 10 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Applied Management (Business Information Systems)18 months (180 credits, full time)NZ$28,590≈ ₹15.4 lakh
    Master of Applied Management (Business Management)18 months (180 credits, full time)NZ$29,600≈ ₹16 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management (Business Information Systems)1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$28,590≈ ₹15.4 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Information Technology1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$26,900≈ ₹14.5 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Applied Management1 year (120 credits, full time)NZ$23,400≈ ₹12.6 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$26,900≈ ₹14.5 lakh
    Bachelor of Engineering Technology3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$29,000≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Nursing3 years (360 credits, full time)NZ$29,000≈ ₹15.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Otago Polytechnic with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

    • Most certificates, diplomas, degrees and postgraduate programmes

      2027 Otago Polytechnic International Scholarships

      Value: Varies by programme; applied to tuition for up to 120 credits in the first year (for example NZ$26,900 becomes NZ$23,400 for the Bachelor of Information Technology)

      Eligibility: New international students starting full-time study in 2027 who meet entry requirements. No application: you are considered automatically. Cannot be deferred to 2028 or combined with other awards.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • English language pathway students

      2026/2027 International English Pathways Scholarship

      Value: See the scholarship page for current value

      Eligibility: International students taking an English pathway into an Otago Polytechnic programme.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • A secondary school qualification equivalent to New Zealand NCEA levels; Otago Polytechnic publishes country equivalences on its international entry requirements page.
    • Bachelor of Nursing is very competitive and needs referee reports, a CV, a cover letter, health and police declarations and vaccination evidence.
    • There is no application fee, and you pay nothing until you receive an Offer of Place.

    Postgraduate

    • Master's in applied management ask for a related bachelor's degree with a B- average at Levels 7/8, or equivalent qualifications and work experience.
    • Graduate diplomas accept an undergraduate degree or equivalent experience.
    • If there are more applicants than places, selection is based on academic record.

    Documents

    • Passport (certified copy)
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets, and degree certificate and transcripts for postgraduate study
    • IELTS or other accepted English evidence from a test taken in the last two years
    • CV, cover letter and references where the programme asks for them

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic (bachelor's and graduate diplomas)6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for most programmes; Bachelor of Engineering Technology needs 6.0 in writing and speaking
    IELTS Academic (master's and postgraduate diplomas)6.5 overall with no band below 6.0
    Bachelor of NursingIELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.5, or OET C+ in each section in one sitting
    Other evidenceOther internationally recognised tests are accepted under NZQA rules; English courses are available if you fall short

    Accommodation and living costs

    In Dunedin, the Te Pā Tauira student village on campus has 231 beds, with internet and power included. Homestay is arranged through New Zealand Homestay, and Salmond College is a catered hall shared with the University of Otago. Below are Te Pā Tauira's 2027 weekly rates.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees
    Te Pā Tauira catered dorm roomNZ$535per week≈ ₹28,890
    Te Pā Tauira catered ensuite roomNZ$561per week≈ ₹30,294
    Te Pā Tauira self-catered studioStudio from $444, deluxe studio from $466NZ$444–466per week≈ ₹23,976 – ₹25,164
    Te Pā Tauira room in a 4-bedroom apartmentFrom $393NZ$393per week≈ ₹21,222
    Te Pā Tauira upfront fees$250 administration, $350 residents' association, $300 refundable contingencyNZ$900one-off≈ ₹48,600

    Campus and location

    The main campus is in Dunedin, close to the city centre and the University of Otago. International students can also study business, construction and IT at the Auckland International Campus in central Auckland.

    • Dunedin campus with the Te Pā Tauira student village.
    • Auckland International Campus in the city centre, with computer labs, study spaces and an employability team; some programmes are delivered by Future Skills Academy under a sub-contract.
    • Central Otago campuses in Cromwell and Wānaka for horticulture, bicycle and snowsport programmes.
    • Engineering technology degree accredited by Engineering New Zealand under the Dublin and Sydney accords.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Programmes are practical and many include work placements. Engineering and construction degrees lead to professional membership. For post-study work rights, see our New Zealand guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource
    Graduates in work or further study96%Otago Polytechnic international page

    Studying in New Zealand

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in New Zealand

    Compare all universities in New Zealand

    FAQs

    How much are Otago Polytechnic's fees for Indian students?

    Most bachelor's degrees cost NZ$26,900 to NZ$29,000 a year, and graduate diplomas NZ$23,400 to NZ$26,900. The 18-month master's in applied management costs NZ$42,885 to NZ$44,400 in total. The 2027 scholarship lowers the first year's fee.

    Should I study in Dunedin or Auckland?

    Auckland offers four intakes a year and programmes in business, IT and construction for international students. Dunedin has a wider range of subjects, including engineering and nursing, and lower living costs.

    Do I need to apply for the scholarship?

    No. New international students starting full-time in 2027 are considered automatically, and the reduction appears on your offer of place.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    Usually 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for bachelor's and graduate diplomas, and 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for postgraduate study. Nursing needs 6.5 in every band.

    Is there an application fee?

    No. Otago Polytechnic does not charge an application fee, and your offer of place is also your invoice.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Otago Polytechnic.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories