Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Auckland city skyline with the Sky Tower rising above the central business district on a clear morning.
Flag of New Zealand

New Zealand Tertiary College

Auckland, New Zealand · Private · Est. Not stated; NZTC says it has over 40 years' experience in early childhood teacher education

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated; NZTC says it has over 40 years' experience in early childhood teacher education

Type

Private

Location

Auckland, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: 111 Emergency from New Zealand, CC BY 2.0

About the university

New Zealand Tertiary College (NZTC) is a private college that has specialised in early childhood teacher education for over 40 years. It teaches NZ Diplomas in Early Childhood Education and Care, the Bachelor of Teaching and Bachelor of Education (ECE), graduate and postgraduate diplomas and three master's degrees, plus a Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary) and health and wellbeing certificates. Much of the coursework is online through NZTC Online, combined with work in early childhood centres or schools.

NZTC publishes a separate fee schedule for international students and lists programmes open to them. Indian students with an interest in teaching young children often look at its bachelor's and postgraduate diplomas. Some study options are fully online and do not lead to NZ teacher registration, so check with international@nztc.nz which option fits a student visa.

Type
Private tertiary college specialising in early childhood teacher education
Experience
Over 40 years in early childhood teacher education
Course levels
NZ diplomas (Level 5–6), bachelor's degrees, graduate and postgraduate diplomas, master's degrees
Other areas
Secondary teacher education; health and wellbeing certificates (Levels 2–4)
Study modes
Online, blended and centre-based, with practice in early childhood centres or schools
Intakes
Undergraduate students can usually start on most Mondays of the year

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 6 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of Teaching (Early Childhood Education)3 years full-time (360 credits)NZ$28,000≈ ₹15.1 lakh
    Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood Education)3 yearsNZ$28,000≈ ₹15.1 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary)1 year full-time (120 credits, Level 8)NZ$38,000≈ ₹20.5 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Education)1 yearNZ$33,600≈ ₹18.1 lakh
    NZ Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 6)1 yearNZ$28,000≈ ₹15.1 lakh
    NZ Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 5)1 yearNZ$28,000≈ ₹15.1 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at New Zealand Tertiary College with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

    • PG

      International scholarship, Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary)

      Value: Up to NZ$10,000

      Eligibility: International students on the Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary); ask NZTC for the conditions

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • International applicants must be at least 18 before the programme starts.
    • Bachelor's degrees need University Entrance or an academic equivalent (for example the IB Diploma with 24 points).
    • Bachelor of Teaching applicants also need a professional reference, an interview, literacy and numeracy at Step 5, and police checks, and must work at least 16 hours a week in a licensed ECE centre.
    • Overseas police certificates are needed for each country lived in for over a year in the last 10 years.

    Postgraduate

    • The Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary) needs a Level 7 bachelor's degree or equivalent with subject depth for the NZ curriculum; STEM, English, languages and social sciences are preferred.
    • Applicants give a reference, a statement of intent and an interview, and pass police vetting.
    • Postgraduate ECE programmes need evidence of English under NZQA Rule 22.

    Documents

    • Passport
    • Class 12 mark sheet or degree certificate and transcripts
    • English test result
    • Professional reference and statement of intent
    • Overseas police certificates
    • Medical and travel insurance (about NZ$861 a year)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Teaching programmesMust meet the Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand's English proficiency requirements
    Other programmesMust meet English requirements under NZQA Rule 22
    IELTS, PTE, TOEFLScores are not listed on the pages reviewed; ask international@nztc.nz

    Accommodation and living costs

    NZTC can arrange a homestay for international students. Other housing costs are not published.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees
    Homestay placement fee (non-refundable)NZ$350one-off≈ ₹18,900
    Medical and travel insurance (compulsory, approx.)NZ$861per year≈ ₹46,494

    Campus and location

    NZTC is based in Auckland and teaches mainly online, with practice in early childhood centres and schools.

    • Coursework through NZTC Online.
    • Centre-based study while working in a licensed early childhood centre.
    • International secondary teaching students attend compulsory campus tutorials.
    • Fully online options exist but do not lead to NZ teacher registration.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    The bachelor's degrees and graduate diplomas in teaching lead to work as early childhood or secondary teachers. NZTC publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our New Zealand guide for post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in New Zealand

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in New Zealand

    Compare all universities in New Zealand

    FAQs

    How much is the Bachelor of Teaching for international students?

    NZ$28,000 a year in 2027 (NZ$84,000 for three years), plus resource and enrolment fees.

    When can I start?

    Undergraduate students can usually start on most Mondays. The Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary) starts on 25 January 2027.

    What English score do I need?

    NZTC follows the Teaching Council and NZQA Rule 22 requirements and does not list scores on its pages. Ask international@nztc.nz for the accepted tests.

    Are there scholarships?

    NZTC lists a scholarship of up to NZ$10,000 for international students on the Postgraduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary).

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for New Zealand Tertiary College.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories