Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The Auckland city skyline with the Sky Tower rising above the central business district on a clear morning.
Flag of New Zealand

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology

Nelson, New Zealand · Public · Est. Not stated on the pages reviewed

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the pages reviewed

Type

Public

Location

Nelson, New Zealand

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: 111 Emergency from New Zealand, CC BY 2.0

About the university

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (NMIT) is a public institute of technology at the top of New Zealand's South Island, with its main campus in Nelson and others in Richmond and Marlborough. It is rated Category 1 by NZQA and teaches certificates, diplomas, bachelor's degrees and master's degrees in business, IT, nursing, engineering, maritime studies, aquaculture and viticulture and winemaking.

Indian students mostly choose NMIT's master's degrees in IT, applied management and professional accounting, its graduate diplomas and the Bachelor of Nursing. For 2027 NMIT offers a NZ$5,000 study grant on all master's intakes and NZ$3,000 off the first year of most bachelor's degrees. Most international programmes are taught in Nelson.

Type
Public institute of technology; NZQA Category 1 provider
Learners
6,628 in total, including 494 international learners (2027 International Prospectus)
Campuses
Four campuses in Te Tauihu (top of the South Island), including Nelson, Richmond and Marlborough
Intakes
February and July for most programmes (some also April or October)
Study areas
Business, IT, engineering, nursing, aviation engineering, maritime, viticulture, creative industries
International fees 2027
About NZ$23,947–NZ$31,554 a year for degrees; NZ$39,508–NZ$46,478 a year for master's

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 13 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (NZD)Approx. in rupees
    Master of Information Technology18 months full-timeNZ$44,520≈ ₹24 lakh
    Master of Applied Management18 months full-time (14 months for the October intake)NZ$39,508≈ ₹21.3 lakh
    Master of Professional Accounting18 months full-timeNZ$44,933≈ ₹24.3 lakh
    Bachelor of Nursing3 yearsNZ$31,554≈ ₹17 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Information Technology1 yearNZ$28,170≈ ₹15.2 lakh
    Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Management9–12 monthsNZ$26,338≈ ₹14.2 lakh
    Bachelor of Information Technology3 yearsNZ$28,170≈ ₹15.2 lakh
    Graduate Diploma in Management1 yearNZ$23,947≈ ₹12.9 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology with similar universities in New Zealand.

    Scholarships

    • PG

      NMIT Master's Study Grant 2027

      Value: NZ$5,000 off tuition

      Eligibility: International students starting any master's degree intake in 2027.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • UG

      NMIT Bachelor's Study Grant 2027

      Value: NZ$3,000 off first-year tuition

      Eligibility: International students starting most bachelor's degrees, the NZ Diploma in Engineering (Civil) or Adventure Tourism (Guiding) in 2027.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Degrees: a school qualification equivalent to NCEA Level 3 (Class 12 for Indian students); NMIT's prospectus has a country table.
    • Certificates and diplomas: equivalent to NCEA Level 1 or 2.
    • If your marks are not high enough, the New Zealand Certificate in Study and Career Preparation is a pathway.

    Postgraduate

    • Master's: a bachelor's degree or relevant qualification; some master's also accept relevant professional experience.
    • Graduate and postgraduate diplomas: an undergraduate degree in any discipline.

    Documents

    • Passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
    • Degree certificate and transcripts (for graduate and postgraduate study)
    • IELTS, PTE or TOEFL result
    • CV (where work experience is used for entry)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Master's and postgraduate (Level 8–9)IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 79 (writing 21); PTE Academic 58 (no band below 50); NZCEL Level 5 Academic
    Degrees and graduate diplomas (Level 7)IELTS Academic 6.0 (no band below 5.5); TOEFL iBT 60 (writing 18); PTE Academic 50 (no band below 42); NZCEL Level 4 Academic
    Nursing, counselling and social workIELTS Academic 6.5 with no subtest below 6.5
    English coursesNZ Certificate in English Language (Levels 3–5) in Nelson, 18 weeks per level

    Accommodation and living costs

    NMIT has on-campus Nikau Apartments in Nelson and can arrange homestays. Many students rent a room in a shared house. Prices are from the 2027 International Prospectus.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn NZDApprox. in rupees
    Nikau Apartments (on campus, Nelson)NZ$210–320per week≈ ₹11,340 – ₹17,280
    Homestay, full boardNZ$365 non-refundable placement feeNZ$400per week≈ ₹21,600
    Homestay, half boardNZ$360per week≈ ₹19,440
    Room in a shared housePlus billsNZ$200–300per week≈ ₹10,800 – ₹16,200

    Campus and location

    NMIT has four campuses across Te Tauihu, the top of the South Island; most international programmes are taught in Nelson.

    • Nelson: main campus with business, IT, nursing, engineering, maritime and creative programmes.
    • Marlborough: viticulture and winemaking, plus nursing.
    • A campus in Richmond.
    • On-campus Nikau Apartments in Nelson.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    NMIT's programmes are built around regional industries such as aviation engineering, maritime, aquaculture, wine and health. NMIT states that 91% of its graduates are employed after study. See our New Zealand guide for post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource
    Graduates employed after study91%NMIT international page

    Studying in New Zealand

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in New Zealand

    Compare all universities in New Zealand

    FAQs

    How much does NMIT cost for international students?

    For 2027, most bachelor's degrees cost NZ$23,947–NZ$28,170 a year (Nursing NZ$31,554), and master's degrees NZ$39,508–NZ$46,478 a year before the NZ$5,000 study grant.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    6.5 (no band below 6.0) for master's and postgraduate study, 6.0 (no band below 5.5) for degrees and graduate diplomas, and 6.5 in every band for nursing.

    When are the intakes?

    February and July for most programmes. The Master of Applied Management also starts in October; nursing starts in February only.

    Are there scholarships?

    For 2027 intakes NMIT offers a NZ$5,000 study grant on all master's degrees and NZ$3,000 off the first year of most bachelor's degrees.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories