About the university
Bethlehem Tertiary Institute (BTI) is a small Christ-centred tertiary institute in Tauranga, in New Zealand's Bay of Plenty. It teaches three-year bachelor's degrees in counselling and social work, teacher education (primary, secondary and early childhood), and postgraduate study in responding to trauma. Many courses mix online learning with compulsory block weeks in Tauranga.
BTI has an international section and publishes 2027 international fees. Not every programme is open to international students: the Bachelor of Education (Teaching) Primary is for domestic applicants only, while the Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Early Childhood Education) is for international applicants who live in New Zealand. Check visa and attendance rules for your programme with BTI before applying.
- Type
- Private Christ-centred tertiary institute
- Campus
- Tauranga, with online and mixed-mode study
- Study areas
- Counselling, social work, teacher education and postgraduate trauma studies
- Course levels
- Level 4 certificate to Level 8 postgraduate diploma
- International fees 2027
- About NZ$25,558–NZ$30,198 a year (tuition plus student services fee)
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Early Childhood Education)
- Fee / year
- NZ$30,198
- Duration
- 1 year full-time (Level 7, 150 credits)
- Intakes
- Four intakes a year (rolling applications)
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; ask BTI
- Postgraduate
Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Secondary)
- Fee / year
- NZ$28,755
- Duration
- 1 year full-time (Level 7, 135 credits)
- Intakes
- Semester 1 (applications close 8 January 2027); Semester 2 for international applicants only (date to be confirmed)
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; ask BTI
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,742
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- Semester 1 only
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; ask BTI
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- NZ$25,742
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Intakes
- Semester 1
- English
- Not stated on the programme page; ask BTI
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (NZD) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Early Childhood Education) | 1 year full-time (Level 7, 150 credits) | NZ$30,198 | ≈ ₹16.3 lakh |
| Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Secondary) | 1 year full-time (Level 7, 135 credits) | NZ$28,755 | ≈ ₹15.5 lakh |
| Bachelor of Social Work | 3 years full-time | NZ$25,742 | ≈ ₹13.9 lakh |
| Bachelor of Counselling | 3 years full-time | NZ$25,742 | ≈ ₹13.9 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Bethlehem Tertiary Institute with similar universities in New Zealand.
Scholarships
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Meet the general entry requirements of your chosen programme; overseas qualifications may need an NZQA International Qualification Assessment (IQA).
- Bachelor of Counselling: over 25 at application, an interview, a small-group selection process, a professional referee and police clearance.
Postgraduate
- Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Secondary): a degree equivalent to a New Zealand Level 7 bachelor's or higher; email your transcripts to applications@bti.ac.nz for an eligibility check before applying.
- Overseas degrees may need NZQA verification (the exempt register or an IQA).
Documents
- Passport
- Class 12 mark sheet (bachelor's) or degree certificate and transcripts (graduate diplomas)
- NZQA qualification check or IQA if asked
- English test result
- Referee and police clearance for counselling, social work and teaching
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| English level | BTI requires the English competency set for each programme; scores are not listed on the pages reviewed. |
| Teaching language | All lectures are in English. |
| Advice | Ask BTI for the IELTS or other test score for your programme before booking a test. |
Accommodation and living costs
BTI's pages reviewed do not list student housing or prices. For the visa, Immigration New Zealand currently asks tertiary students to show at least NZ$20,000 a year for living costs, as BTI's fees page notes.
| Item | In NZD | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Living-cost funds for the student visa (as quoted by BTI)NZ$1,667 per month for study under one year | NZ$20,000per year | ≈ ₹10.8 lakh |
Campus and location
BTI is based in Tauranga and runs much of its teaching through online study with block weeks on campus.
- Onsite blocks in Tauranga for counselling, social work and teaching students.
- Placements in schools, early childhood centres and social service agencies.
- Study spaces, campus tours, transport and parking information on the main site.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Graduates work as counsellors, social workers and teachers. The early childhood and secondary teaching graduate diplomas lead to eligibility to apply for teacher registration in New Zealand. BTI publishes no graduate outcome figures on the pages reviewed. See our New Zealand guide for post-study work rules.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in New Zealand
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in New Zealand. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in New Zealand

Photo: Colin Rose from Montreal, Canada, CC BY 2.0 PublicUniversity of Auckland (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Medicine & Health Sciences

Photo: ArtNewNZ, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicUniversity of Otago (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dunedin, New Zealand
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Life Sciences

Photo: Panamitsu, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicVictoria University of Wellington (official website, opens in a new tab)
Wellington, New Zealand
Often chosen for Law, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media

Photo: Photograph by Greg O'Beirne, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicUniversity of Canterbury (official website, opens in a new tab)
Christchurch, New Zealand
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: Sophbuchan, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicAuckland University of Technology (AUT) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Auckland, New Zealand
Often chosen for Computer Science & IT, Business & Management, Nursing & Allied Health

Photo: Michal Klajban, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicMassey University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Often chosen for Business & Management, Life Sciences, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much does BTI cost for international students?
For 2027, bachelor's degrees cost NZ$25,741.60 a year onsite (NZ$25,558.00 offsite), the Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Secondary) NZ$28,755.31 and the Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Early Childhood Education) NZ$30,197.50, including the student services fee.
Can I study primary teaching at BTI?
Not as an international student. The Bachelor of Education (Teaching) Primary is for domestic applicants only.
What English score do I need?
BTI does not list test scores on the pages we reviewed. Ask its admissions team (applications@bti.ac.nz) for your programme's requirement.
Sources
- BTI: home page (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: international fees and costs (2027) (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: international entry requirements (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: study programmes (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: early childhood teaching (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: secondary teaching (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: primary teaching (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: Bachelor of Social Work (opens in a new tab)
- BTI: Bachelor of Counselling (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.bti.ac.nz (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
