Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Flag of Netherlands

Fontys University of Applied Sciences

Eindhoven, Netherlands · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the Fontys pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on the Fontys pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Eindhoven, Netherlands

Ranking

Not ranked

About the university

Fontys University of Applied Sciences is a large public university of applied sciences based in the south of the Netherlands. Its English-taught bachelor's and master's run on campuses in Eindhoven, Tilburg and Venlo, out of more than 350 programmes and courses in total.

Fontys is known for ICT and engineering in Eindhoven, the heart of the Brainport technology region. Its English-taught ICT bachelor's has twelve specialisations, from Artificial Intelligence and Cyber Security to Software Engineering and Game Design, and its engineering bachelor's include Mechatronics, Automotive Engineering and Industrial Engineering and Management. In Venlo, near the German border, Fontys teaches International Business.

Indian students choose Fontys for practical, project-based technology degrees at a moderate fee, a February intake on some programmes, and Eindhoven's high-tech employers. Applied Mathematics/Data Science is taught at Building Nexus, on a campus shared with Eindhoven University of Technology.

Type
Public university of applied sciences in the south of the Netherlands
Programmes
354 programmes and courses in total, 54 of them in English (Fontys programme finder)
Campuses for English-taught degrees
Eindhoven, Tilburg and Venlo
Intakes
September for all; February for some, such as ICT, Mechatronics and International Business (Venlo)
Non-EEA tuition 2026/27
€10,210 standard rate; €13,080 for engineering, ICT, technology and natural sciences bachelor's
Living costs
€1,100–€1,500 a month on average, according to Fontys

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    • Undergraduate

      Bachelor of ICT (English-taught)

      Fee / year
      €13,080
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September (starts 6 September 2027; apply by 1 May); February (apply by 15 November)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    • Undergraduate

      Applied Mathematics/Data Science

      Fee / year
      €13,080
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September (starts 6 September 2027; apply by 1 May)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    • Undergraduate

      International Business

      Fee / year
      €10,210
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September in Eindhoven and Venlo (apply by 1 May); February in Venlo only (apply by 15 November)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    • Undergraduate

      Mechatronics

      Fee / year
      €13,080
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September in Eindhoven and Venlo (apply by 1 May); February in Eindhoven (apply by 15 November)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    • Undergraduate

      Automotive Engineering

      Fee / year
      €13,080
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September and February (taught in Dutch and English)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    • Undergraduate

      Industrial Engineering and Management

      Fee / year
      €13,080
      Duration
      4 years full-time
      Intakes
      September and February (taught in Dutch and English)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.0 (each part 6.0, one may be 5.5), PTE Academic 61, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale) or Cambridge 169
    View all 6 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (EUR)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of ICT (English-taught)4 years full-time€13,080≈ ₹13.9 lakh
    Applied Mathematics/Data Science4 years full-time€13,080≈ ₹13.9 lakh
    International Business4 years full-time€10,210≈ ₹10.8 lakh
    Mechatronics4 years full-time€13,080≈ ₹13.9 lakh
    Automotive Engineering4 years full-time€13,080≈ ₹13.9 lakh
    Industrial Engineering and Management4 years full-time€13,080≈ ₹13.9 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Fontys University of Applied Sciences with similar universities in the Netherlands.

    Scholarships

    • Full-time bachelor's or master's, non-EEA students

      NL Scholarship

      Value: €5,000, paid once in the first year (a partial scholarship)

      Eligibility: Selected non-EEA students who meet the entry requirements and have no previous Dutch degree. Fontys is a participating institution and sets its own deadline.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • A higher secondary diploma equivalent to Dutch standards; Nuffic can confirm equivalence. For engineering and data science, Fontys lists the Dutch VWO science profile (maths and physics) as the typical background, and Applied Mathematics/Data Science expects solid algebra, calculus and statistics.
    • Apply through Studielink by 1 May for September, or by 15 November for a February start where offered.
    • Send your Class 12 certificate and mark sheet in the original language with a certified English translation, plus your English test. Fontys may admit you conditionally on preliminary grades.
    • Non-EEA students pay the first year's tuition in full and prove living funds of €13,620 for the first year; Fontys applies for the visa and residence permit for you.

    Postgraduate

    • Fontys's English-taught master's are mainly in engineering (Digital Technology Engineering, System Design, Applied Quantum Technology) and the arts. Fees for these were not clearly stated in the regulations, so they are not listed here.
    • Master's rules for English and admission can differ; check with the admissions officer for your programme.

    Documents

    • Passport (if Studielink cannot verify your identity)
    • Class 12 certificate and transcript in the original language, with certified English, Dutch or German translations
    • English test certificate from an authorised test centre (no online tests)
    • Proof of funds for the IND (€13,620 for the first year)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic6.0 overall and 6.0 in each part; one part may be 5.5. Online tests are not accepted.
    PTE Academic61 overall and in each part; one part may be 58.
    TOEFL iBT4.5 overall and in each part on the new scale; one part may be 4.0.
    Cambridge and LanguageCertCambridge 169 overall and per part (one may be 162); LanguageCert Academic 65 (one part may be 60).
    ExemptionFor IB or European Baccalaureate holders, diplomas from countries on the Nuffic list with English on the final transcript, and education fully in English in countries such as the UK or USA. Ask Fontys whether your Indian board qualifies. Duolingo is not listed.

    Accommodation and living costs

    Fontys has no student housing of its own but arranges a limited number of rooms through agencies for international students on English-taught programmes. Submit the accommodation form by 15 June for September or 6 December for February; you pay rent and a deposit to the agency before you arrive.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn EURApprox. in rupees
    Standard room in EindhovenFontys-arranged room, up to about €750; semi-studios up to €800, studios above €800€750per month≈ ₹79,500
    Standard room in Tilburg or VenloUp to about €600€600per month≈ ₹63,600
    Average living costsFontys estimate: rent, insurance, food, transport, books€1,100–1,500per month≈ ₹1.2 lakh – ₹1.6 lakh
    IND proof of funds, degree studentsFor the first year€13,620per year≈ ₹14.4 lakh

    Campus and location

    English-taught degrees run in three southern Dutch cities. Each campus has computer facilities, libraries, student restaurants and wifi, and the range of programmes differs by city.

    • Eindhoven: ICT (Campus Rachelsmolen), engineering, and Applied Mathematics/Data Science at Building Nexus on the TU/e campus.
    • Venlo: International Business and Mechatronics, close to the German border.
    • Tilburg: a student city known for culture and creativity.
    • Some programmes have a February start as well as September.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Fontys degrees are practical, with projects and internships. Eindhoven's Brainport region is home to many high-tech companies, which suits ICT and engineering students. Fontys did not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we checked. See our Netherlands guide for post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in the Netherlands

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in the Netherlands. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in the Netherlands

    Compare all universities in the Netherlands

    FAQs

    How much are Fontys fees for Indian students?

    For 2026/27 the institutional fee is €10,210 a year at the standard rate and €13,080 for engineering, ICT, technology and natural sciences bachelor's. Check the 2027/28 figure with Fontys's tuition fee indicator.

    Does Fontys have a February intake?

    Yes, for some programmes, including ICT, Mechatronics (Eindhoven) and International Business (Venlo). International students apply by 15 November.

    What IELTS score does Fontys need?

    IELTS Academic 6.0 overall with 6.0 in each part; one part may be 5.5. PTE 61 and Cambridge 169 are also accepted.

    Does Fontys offer scholarships?

    Fontys awards the NL Scholarship (€5,000 in the first year) to selected non-EEA students. Other scholarships are listed on Study in NL's Grantfinder.

    How much money do I need to show?

    Fontys asks non-EEA degree students to show €13,620 for the first year for the IND, and estimates living costs at €1,100–€1,500 a month.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Fontys University of Applied Sciences.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories