About the university
The Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg was founded in 1973 and has about 16,000 students. It is a public university in Lower Saxony, so most programmes charge no tuition fee, only a semester contribution.
Oldenburg covers the humanities, education, economics and social sciences, computer science, mathematics and the natural sciences, and has offered medicine and health sciences since 2012. Its master's programmes have a strong focus on energy, sustainability and the link between computing and society.
Indian students mostly look at the English-taught MSc programmes in Applied Economics and Data Science, Digitalised Energy Systems, Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems and Engineering Physics. Most of them start only in the winter semester, and non-EU applicants face earlier deadlines (15 June, or 30 April for some programmes).
Oldenburg is a green, bicycle-friendly city in north-west Germany, close to Bremen and the North Sea coast. The university estimates living costs at about €1,000 a month.
- Founded
- 1973
- Type
- Public university in Lower Saxony
- Students
- About 16,000 (university profile page)
- Tuition
- No tuition fee for most programmes; semester contribution €457.90 (winter 2026/27)
- Intakes
- October (winter) for most English-taught master's; Engineering Physics also April (summer)
- Medicine
- Medicine and health science programmes established in 2012
Rankings
QS World University Rankings 2027
1001–1200 in the world
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
MSc Applied Economics and Data Science
- Fee / year
- €916
- Duration
- 2 years (4 semesters, 120 ECTS)
- Intakes
- October (winter semester only)
- English
- English at B2 level (CEFR); proof not older than two years at enrolment
- Postgraduate
MSc Digitalised Energy Systems
- Fee / year
- €916
- Duration
- 2 years (4 semesters)
- Intakes
- October (winter semester only)
- English
- English at B2 level (CEFR); proof not older than two years at application
- Postgraduate
MSc Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems
- Fee / year
- €916
- Duration
- 2 years (4 semesters)
- Intakes
- October (winter semester only)
- English
- English at C1 level (CEFR); a degree taught in English is accepted
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- €916
- Duration
- 2 years (4 semesters)
- Intakes
- October (winter); April (summer)
- English
- English at B2 level (CEFR)
- Postgraduate
- Fee / year
- €916
- Duration
- 2 years (4 semesters)
- Intakes
- October (winter semester only)
- English
- English at B2 level (CEFR); proof not older than five years
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (EUR) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSc Applied Economics and Data Science | 2 years (4 semesters, 120 ECTS) | €916 | ≈ ₹97,075 |
| MSc Digitalised Energy Systems | 2 years (4 semesters) | €916 | ≈ ₹97,075 |
| MSc Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems | 2 years (4 semesters) | €916 | ≈ ₹97,075 |
| MSc Engineering Physics | 2 years (4 semesters) | €916 | ≈ ₹97,075 |
| MA Social Sciences | 2 years (4 semesters) | €916 | ≈ ₹97,075 |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg with similar universities in Germany.
Scholarships
- Enrolled students
Deutschlandstipendium and Landesstipendium Niedersachsen
Value: Amounts not stated on the university's finance page
Eligibility: Listed by the university as open to international students; apply once enrolled.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Enrolled international students
DAAD STIBET and DAAD Prize (via the International Office)
Value: Amounts not stated on the overview page
Eligibility: International students at Oldenburg; see the finance page for the current calls.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Master's and doctoral students
DAAD scholarships
Value: Monthly stipend; amount depends on the programme
Eligibility: Competitive awards; check the database for awards open to Indian applicants.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Oldenburg's bachelor's programmes are taught in German, or in German and English, so plan for German proof (for example DSH-2 or TestDaF level 4 in all parts).
- International applicants apply through uni-assist, which checks whether your Class 12 gives direct university entry.
- Indian applicants need an APS certificate for the student visa.
Postgraduate
- A bachelor's of at least 180 ECTS in a related subject, plus the module credits each programme sets (for example 20 ECTS economics, 10 maths, 10 statistics and 5 econometrics for Applied Economics and Data Science).
- International applicants apply through uni-assist; allow about four weeks for processing.
- Non-EU deadline for winter entry: 15 June for Applied Economics and Data Science and Digitalised Energy Systems; 30 April for Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems. Engineering Physics: 15 July (winter) and 15 January (summer).
- Indian applicants need an APS certificate for the student visa.
Documents
- Bachelor's degree certificate (and Diploma Supplement if available)
- Transcript of records showing the credits for each module
- Proof of English (B2 or C1, depending on the programme)
- CV and letter of motivation, where the programme asks for them
- APS certificate
- Valid passport
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| Level needed | B2 (CEFR) for most English-taught master's; C1 for Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems |
| Accepted proof | TOEFL, IELTS or Cambridge certificates, among others listed on each programme page |
| English-medium degree | A degree from an English-taught programme in a country where English or German is official can count as proof |
| German | Not needed for the English-taught master's listed here |
Accommodation and living costs
Most students rent rooms in Studierendenwerk Oldenburg halls or in shared flats. The university advises budgeting about €1,000 a month for rent, health insurance and food.
| Item | In EUR | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| AccommodationUniversity estimate | €200–450per month | ≈ ₹21,200 – ₹47,700 |
| FoodUniversity estimate | €250–350per month | ≈ ₹26,500 – ₹37,100 |
| Health insuranceUniversity estimate (approx.) | €140per month | ≈ ₹14,840 |
| Broadcasting fee (Rundfunkbeitrag)Per flat; can be shared with flatmates | €18per month | ≈ ₹1,946 |
| Semester contributionWinter 2026/27, includes semester ticket | €458per semester | ≈ ₹48,537 |
Campus and location
Oldenburg is a campus university with short distances between buildings, in a city known for cycling.
- Broad range of subjects from humanities and education to computer science and natural sciences.
- Medicine and health sciences programmes since 2012.
- Semester contribution includes a semester ticket for public transport.
- Bremen and the North Sea coast are within easy reach.
Careers and graduate outcomes
Oldenburg's energy, data and computing programmes lead into the energy sector, IT and research. The figures below are general German rules, not a promise of a job.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Job-search permit after graduating | Up to 18 months | Make it in Germany |
| Work allowed while studying | 140 full days or 280 half days a year (student assistant jobs at the university don't count) | Make it in Germany |
Studying in Germany
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Germany. Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Germany
- Public
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Data Science & AI
- Public
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT

Photo: juhotski, CC BY-SA 3.0 PublicOften chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Life Sciences

Photo: TU Berlin/Pressestelle/Ulrich Dahl, Copyrighted free use PublicOften chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management

Photo: Seeott, CC BY-SA 4.0 PublicLudwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Munich, Germany
Often chosen for Life Sciences, Medicine & Health Sciences, Law

Photo: Hermann Luyken, CC0 PublicHeidelberg University (official website, opens in a new tab)
Heidelberg, Germany
Often chosen for Medicine & Health Sciences, Life Sciences
FAQs
Does the University of Oldenburg charge tuition?
Not for the English-taught master's listed here. You pay the semester contribution, €457.90 from winter 2026/27, which includes a semester ticket. Some programmes are fee-based, so check each course page.
When should Indian students apply?
Earlier than EU students. Non-EU deadlines are 15 June for Applied Economics and Data Science and Digitalised Energy Systems, and 30 April for Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems.
Do I apply directly or through uni-assist?
International applicants apply through uni-assist. Allow about four weeks for processing, so submit well before the deadline.
What English level is needed?
Mostly B2, and C1 for Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems. A degree taught in English from a country where English is official can count.
How much does living in Oldenburg cost?
The university suggests about €1,000 a month, with rent of €200–€450.
Sources
- University of Oldenburg: course of study overview (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: MSc Applied Economics and Data Science (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: MSc Digitalised Energy Systems (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: MSc Engineering of Socio-Technical Systems (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: MSc Engineering Physics (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: MA Social Sciences (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: semester contribution (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: finances for international students (opens in a new tab)
- University of Oldenburg: profile (opens in a new tab)
- Make it in Germany: working while studying (opens in a new tab)
- Make it in Germany: visa for studying and job search after graduation (opens in a new tab)
- QS World University Rankings 2027: University of Oldenburg (opens in a new tab)
Official website: uol.de (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details
