About the university
Canadian University Dubai (CUD) opened in 2006, growing out of a partnership between two Canadian institutions, Centennial College and Athabasca University. All its degree programmes are accredited by the UAE Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research through the Commission for Academic Accreditation.
CUD teaches business (with many BBA majors such as business analytics, accounting and finance, and events and tourism), engineering and computing (computer science, AI, cyber security, cloud computing, mechatronics), architecture and interior design, communication, health sciences and psychology. Its master's degrees include an MBA and MSc programmes in business analytics, financial technology, project management, digital marketing and artificial intelligence.
Indian students look at CUD for its QS ranking (=616 in the world in 2027), its Canadian links and its transfer route: students can start in Dubai and move with credit to a Canadian or other partner institution. CUD says it ranks 6th in the world for international student ratio in the QS 2027 table.
The campus is in City Walk, in central Dubai, and CUD runs its own university residence nearby with a campus shuttle.
- Opened
- 2006, growing out of a partnership between Centennial College and Athabasca University (Canada)
- Type
- Private university; all degree programmes accredited by the UAE Commission for Academic Accreditation (CAA)
- Campus
- City Walk, Dubai
- Nationalities
- Over 120 in the campus community
- QS World University Rankings 2027
- =616 in the world; CUD says #1 in Dubai for the sixth year running
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring and Summer for undergraduates; applications accepted year-round
Rankings
QS World University Rankings 2027
=616 in the world
QS Arab Region University Rankings 2026
21st in the Arab region
Popular courses with Indian students
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- AED 72,466
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January) and Summer
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61 (2.5 on the new scale), or a waiver with proof of English-medium schooling
- Postgraduate
Master of Science in Business Analytics
- Fee / year
- AED 84,263
- Duration
- 30 credit hours (CUD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January 2027) and October (MBA); see CUD's graduate intake schedule
- English
- English proficiency required; CUD does not publish the master's minimum score online, so confirm with admissions
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- AED 79,712
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January) and Summer
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61 (2.5 on the new scale), or a waiver with proof of English-medium schooling
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration
- Fee / year
- AED 101,115
- Duration
- 36 credit hours (CUD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January 2027) and October (MBA); see CUD's graduate intake schedule
- English
- English proficiency required; CUD does not publish the master's minimum score online, so confirm with admissions
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- AED 72,466
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January) and Summer
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61 (2.5 on the new scale), or a waiver with proof of English-medium schooling
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- AED 70,781
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January) and Summer
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61 (2.5 on the new scale), or a waiver with proof of English-medium schooling
- Postgraduate
Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence
- Fee / year
- AED 135,135
- Duration
- 33 credit hours (CUD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January 2027) and October (MBA); see CUD's graduate intake schedule
- English
- English proficiency required; CUD does not publish the master's minimum score online, so confirm with admissions
- Undergraduate
- Fee / year
- AED 70,781
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring (January) and Summer
- English
- IELTS Academic 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61 (2.5 on the new scale), or a waiver with proof of English-medium schooling
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (AED) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| BS in Computer Science | Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length) | AED 72,466 | ≈ ₹18.1 lakh |
| Master of Science in Business Analytics | 30 credit hours (CUD does not state the length) | AED 84,263 | ≈ ₹21.1 lakh |
| BS in Artificial Intelligence | Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length) | AED 79,712 | ≈ ₹19.9 lakh |
| Master of Business Administration | 36 credit hours (CUD does not state the length) | AED 101,115 | ≈ ₹25.3 lakh |
| BS in Cyber Security | Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length) | AED 72,466 | ≈ ₹18.1 lakh |
| BBA in Business Analytics | Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length) | AED 70,781 | ≈ ₹17.7 lakh |
| Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence | 33 credit hours (CUD does not state the length) | AED 135,135 | ≈ ₹33.8 lakh |
| BBA in Accounting and Finance | Bachelor's degree (credit-hour based; CUD's fee page does not state the length) | AED 70,781 | ≈ ₹17.7 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Canadian University Dubai with similar universities in Dubai (UAE).
Scholarships
- Undergraduate
Academic Excellence Scholarship
Value: 20–50% tuition waiver
Eligibility: New students by school result: 99%+ = 50%, 95–98.9% = 40%, 90–94.9% = 30%, 85–89.9% = 20%. Open to any citizenship; at least 12 credit hours a semester.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Undergraduate
Study Scholarship
Value: 5% or 10% (Spring 2026/27: 10% for new students)
Eligibility: Register for at least 12 credit hours and pay the semester fees by CUD's deadlines (6 November 2026 for new Spring students).
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Undergraduate
Special Talent Scholarship
Value: Up to 40% tuition waiver
Eligibility: Students with achievements at city level or above in any field and at least 70% in school; up to 15 hours of community service a month.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Undergraduate
Sports Scholarship
Value: Up to 40% tuition waiver
Eligibility: Elite or talented athletes with success at least at city level and at least 70% in school.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Undergraduate
Financial Hardship Scholarship
Value: Up to 40% tuition reduction
Eligibility: At least 75% in school, with family financial documents; reapply each semester.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- Class 12 from an Indian board, with Class 10 and 12 certificates and transcripts and a UAE equivalency certificate.
- Engineering: at least 70% in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry or Biology for Indian boards; students below this take non-credit remedial courses first.
- Proof of English (IELTS 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61), or a waiver with official proof that your school taught in English.
- Applications are accepted year-round for Fall, Spring and Summer; the application fee is AED 525.
Postgraduate
- A recognised bachelor's degree; CUD does not publish the minimum CGPA or English score for master's entry online, so confirm with admissions.
- Master's programmes are taught on campus and attendance is required; CUD does not offer online or distance degrees.
- Check the graduate intake schedule: the MBA has an October intake and many programmes start in Spring (January 2027).
Documents
- Completed online application and AED 525 application fee
- Class 10 and Class 12 certificates and transcripts, attested, with a UAE equivalency certificate
- Valid passport copy (and residence visa copy if already in the UAE)
- IELTS or TOEFL certificate, or proof of English-medium schooling
- Recent coloured passport-size photograph
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 5.0 for most bachelor's programmes (5.5 for the BA in Creative Industries). IELTS Indicator, online and UKVI versions are not accepted. |
| TOEFL | iBT 61 for tests before 21 January 2026, or 2.5 on the new scale; TOEFL ITP 500. TOEFL Home Edition is not accepted. |
| PTE Academic | Listed as an accepted test; CUD does not publish the minimum score on its admission page |
| English-medium schooling | Waiver for applicants from non-UAE curricula taught in English, with official proof of the medium of instruction |
Accommodation and living costs
CUD runs a university residence a few minutes from the City Walk campus. Apartments are semi-furnished, and rent includes Wi-Fi, DEWA utilities and a daytime shuttle to campus. You pay a refundable AED 3,000 deposit and 50% of the rent in advance, with the rest after four months. Rooms are allocated first come, first served.
| Item | In AED | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Two-bedroom apartment, shared (2 per room) | AED 36,000per year | ≈ ₹9 lakh |
| Studio, shared | AED 42,625per year | ≈ ₹10.7 lakh |
| One-bedroom apartment, shared by 2 | AED 46,500per year | ≈ ₹11.6 lakh |
| Studio, single | AED 85,250per year | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Refundable deposit | AED 3,000one-off | ≈ ₹75,000 |
Campus and location
CUD's expanded campus is in City Walk, in Dubai's business district, with a university residence nearby and a shuttle to campus.
- All degree programmes accredited by the UAE CAA.
- A community from over 120 nationalities.
- Transfer route with credit to Canadian and other partner institutions.
- On-campus IELTS (through CES) and institutional TOEFL testing.
- QS Five-Star rating.
Careers and graduate outcomes
CUD's business, computing and engineering programmes match Dubai's job market, and its City Walk location is close to the business district. CUD does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we checked. See our Dubai guide for the rules on working after graduation.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | =616 in the world | QS World University Rankings |
| International student ratio, QS 2027 | 6th in the world | CUD accreditation and rankings page |
Studying in Dubai (UAE)
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Dubai (UAE). Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Dubai (UAE)
- Private
University of Birmingham Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Computer Science & IT, Engineering

Photo: Scottish Government, CC BY 2.0 PrivateHeriot-Watt University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Computer Science & IT
- Private
Middlesex University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Arts, Design & Media, Computer Science & IT

Photo: Jynorkh, CC BY-SA 4.0 PrivateUniversity of Wollongong in Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Finance & Accounting, Engineering
- Private
Rochester Institute of Technology Dubai (RIT Dubai) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management
- Private
Murdoch University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much does a bachelor's degree at CUD cost?
At CUD's published rates (effective from 2023/24, including VAT), a BS in Computer Science costs about AED 72,466 a year in tuition, a BBA about AED 70,781 and the Bachelor of Architecture about AED 88,476, plus AED 2,236.50 a year in incidental fees. CUD says fees may rise by up to 10% a year.
How much is a master's?
Total tuition is AED 84,263 for the MSc in Business Analytics or Project Management, AED 101,115 for the MBA and AED 135,135 for the MSc in Artificial Intelligence, including VAT.
Do I need IELTS with a CBSE or ISC Class 12?
CUD waives the English test for students from non-UAE curricula taught in English if you provide official proof of the medium of instruction. Otherwise you need IELTS 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 61.
What marks do I need for engineering?
Indian board students need at least 70% in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry or Biology. Below that, you take remedial courses before starting.
Can I get a scholarship with 90% in Class 12?
CUD's Academic Excellence Scholarship gives new undergraduates 30% off tuition for a school result of 90–94.9%, 40% for 95–98.9% and 50% for 99% and above, open to any citizenship. Apply by 7 July for Fall or 20 December for Spring.
Sources
- Canadian University Dubai: homepage (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: facts and history (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: accreditation and rankings (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: about (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: fees (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: undergraduate admission (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: English requirements and placement tests (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: graduate programmes (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: scholarships (opens in a new tab)
- Canadian University Dubai: accommodation (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.cud.ac.ae (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details