About the university
The British University in Dubai (BUiD) was set up in 2003 as a not-for-profit university under a law issued by the late Ruler of Dubai. Its founders include the Al Maktoum Foundation, Dubai Holding, Rolls-Royce, the British Chamber of Commerce Dubai and Emirates NBD, and it works in alliance with Russell Group universities such as Edinburgh, Glasgow and Manchester.
BUiD is best known for research-based postgraduate study. It teaches master's degrees in artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, engineering management, structural engineering, finance and risk management, construction law and dispute resolution, sustainable design and education, an MBA and a joint MSc in Project Management with the University of Leeds, plus doctorates. It also offers bachelor's degrees in computer science (AI or cybersecurity), business management, law and engineering.
Indian graduates look at BUiD for its British-style, research-led master's degrees at one flat fee of AED 85,000 for the whole programme, with full-time and part-time study and a 20% scholarship advertised for the September 2026 intake.
The campus is in Dubai International Academic City, part of Dubai's education free zone.
- Founded
- 2003, as a not-for-profit university under a law issued by the Ruler of Dubai
- Founders
- Al Maktoum Foundation, Dubai Holding, Rolls-Royce, British Chamber of Commerce Dubai and Emirates NBD
- UK partners
- Alliance with Russell Group universities including Edinburgh, Glasgow and Manchester
- Recognition
- Licensed by the UAE Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research; recognised by UK ENIC; QAA quality accreditation
- Campus
- Block 11, Dubai International Academic City
- Master's fee
- AED 85,000 for the whole programme (all master's degrees)
- Intakes
- Two a year (September and April)
Rankings
Popular courses with Indian students
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Artificial Intelligence
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Cybersecurity
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Engineering Management
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Finance and Risk Management
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Structural Engineering
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Construction Law and Dispute Resolution
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
- Postgraduate
Master of Science (MSc) in Sustainable Design of the Built Environment
- Fee / year
- AED 85,000
- Duration
- Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length)
- Intakes
- Two intakes a year (September and April intakes advertised)
- English
- IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 (550 paper) or EmSAT 1400; conditional entry with IELTS 5.5
Fees for international students
| Course | Duration | Fee / year (AED) | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master of Science (MSc) in Artificial Intelligence | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Cybersecurity | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Business Administration (MBA) | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Engineering Management | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Finance and Risk Management | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Structural Engineering | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Construction Law and Dispute Resolution | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Master of Science (MSc) in Sustainable Design of the Built Environment | Full or part time; 180 credits (BUiD does not state the length) | AED 85,000 | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.
Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at British University in Dubai with similar universities in Dubai (UAE).
Scholarships
- Postgraduate
Special master's scholarship
Value: 20% off tuition
Eligibility: All master's applicants for the September 2026 intake.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Postgraduate
Distinction scholarship
Value: 15% off tuition
Eligibility: Your bachelor's degree certificate must state Distinction or equivalent; GPA is not considered.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Postgraduate
Companies group discount
Value: 20% off tuition
Eligibility: A group of five employees from the same company joining at the same time.
Official page (opens in a new tab) - Postgraduate
Family discount
Value: 10% off tuition
Eligibility: A first-degree relative is a BUiD MSc or PhD student or graduate. Scholarships cannot be combined.
Official page (opens in a new tab)
Admission requirements
Undergraduate
- BUiD teaches bachelor's degrees in computer science (AI or cybersecurity), business management, law and engineering, but does not publish their fees or Indian entry grades online; ask admissions.
Postgraduate
- A relevant bachelor's degree equivalent to a UK upper second class, or a GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, from an accredited university.
- Graduates of an unrelated subject may be admitted with at least two years' relevant work experience or professional development.
- IELTS 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 or EmSAT 1400; conditional admission is possible with IELTS 5.5 if you reach 6.0 by the end of the first term.
- A non-refundable AED 5,000 payment reserves your place.
Documents
- Online application
- Bachelor's degree certificate and transcripts
- English test score (IELTS, TOEFL or EmSAT)
- Passport copy
- Evidence of work experience if your degree is in a different subject
Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.
English language requirements
| Test or route | Typical requirement |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 for master's and postgraduate diplomas; 5.5 for conditional admission |
| TOEFL | iBT 79, CBT 213 or paper-based 550 |
| EmSAT Achieve English | 1400 |
| Exemptions | Some exemptions apply, for example for native English speakers; check with admissions |
Accommodation and living costs
BUiD's website does not list student housing or rent prices. Students usually rent rooms in private residences around Dubai International Academic City; ask BUiD admissions for options. The rows below are BUiD's published fees to include in your budget.
| Item | In AED | Approx. in rupees |
|---|---|---|
| Place reservation payment (master's)Non-refundable | AED 5,000one-off | ≈ ₹1.3 lakh |
| Master's tuition, whole programme | AED 85,000total programme | ≈ ₹21.3 lakh |
| Postgraduate diploma tuitionAED 60,000 on the fees page; AED 80,000 in the 2025–26 catalogue | AED 60,000–80,000total programme | ≈ ₹15 lakh – ₹20 lakh |
Campus and location
BUiD is based on the first and second floors of Block 11 in Dubai International Academic City, in Dubai's education free zone.
- Research-based master's and doctoral programmes, full or part time.
- Joint MSc in Project Management with the University of Leeds.
- Alliance with Russell Group universities including Edinburgh, Glasgow and Manchester.
- Recognised by UK ENIC and accredited for quality by the UK's QAA.
Careers and graduate outcomes
BUiD's master's programmes can be studied full or part time. BUiD does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we checked. See our Dubai guide for the rules on working after graduation.
| What | Figure | Source |
|---|
Studying in Dubai (UAE)
Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Dubai (UAE). Our country guide covers them in detail:
Other universities in Dubai (UAE)
- Private
University of Birmingham Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Computer Science & IT, Engineering

Photo: Scottish Government, CC BY 2.0 PrivateHeriot-Watt University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Engineering, Business & Management, Computer Science & IT
- Private
Middlesex University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Arts, Design & Media, Computer Science & IT

Photo: Jynorkh, CC BY-SA 4.0 PrivateUniversity of Wollongong in Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Finance & Accounting, Engineering
- Private
Rochester Institute of Technology Dubai (RIT Dubai) (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Engineering, Computer Science & IT, Business & Management
- Private
Murdoch University Dubai (official website, opens in a new tab)
Dubai, Dubai (UAE)
Often chosen for Business & Management, Computer Science & IT, Arts, Design & Media
FAQs
How much does a master's at BUiD cost?
Every master's degree costs AED 85,000 for the whole programme, according to BUiD's postgraduate fees page and 2025–26 catalogue. A 20% scholarship is advertised for the September 2026 intake.
What IELTS score do I need?
IELTS 6.0, TOEFL iBT 79 or EmSAT 1400. With IELTS 5.5 you may get conditional admission if you reach 6.0 by the end of the first term.
What degree marks do I need?
A relevant bachelor's equivalent to a UK upper second class, or a GPA of 3.0 out of 4.0. If your degree is in a different subject, two years of relevant work experience can help.
When can I start?
BUiD has two intakes a year; its pages advertise September and April intakes.
Is BUiD a British university?
BUiD is a Dubai university set up in 2003, licensed by the UAE Ministry of Higher Education and recognised by UK ENIC, with an alliance with UK Russell Group universities.
Sources
- British University in Dubai: homepage (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: Discover BUiD (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: postgraduate fees (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: programme fees (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: Masters and MBA programmes (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: Construction Law and Dispute Resolution fees (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: Construction Law entry requirements (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: PG scholarships (opens in a new tab)
- British University in Dubai: PG Catalogue 2025–2026 (PDF) (opens in a new tab)
Official website: www.buid.ac.ae (opens in a new tab)
Check the latest details