Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Vancouver Island University
Flag of CanadaVancouver Island University logo

Vancouver Island University

Nanaimo, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the VIU pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the VIU pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Nanaimo, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Nle1229, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

Vancouver Island University (VIU) is a public university on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, with its main campus in Nanaimo and smaller campuses in Cowichan and Powell River. It had 12,022 students in May 2026, including 976 international students from 83 countries, and offers more than 100 programmes, from trades and diplomas to bachelor's and master's degrees.

Indian students look at VIU for its computer science degree with co-op, its business degrees and its 20-month MBA, which needs no GMAT. Undergraduate tuition is the same for all degree programmes (CAD 832.09 per credit, about CAD 24,960 for a 30-credit year).

VIU guarantees first-year housing for new international students who register by 1 May, from autumn 2027.

Type
Public teaching university in British Columbia
Total students
12,022 (enrolment snapshot, 1 May 2026)
International students
976 from 83 countries (1 May 2026)
Campuses
Three: Nanaimo (main), Cowichan and tiwšɛmawtxʷ (Powell River)
Programmes
100+; more than 50 accept international students
Intakes
September for most degrees; some (BBA, MBA) also January

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    • Undergraduate

      Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (Major, Honours or Co-op)

      Fee / year
      C$24,963
      Duration
      4 years; the co-op major adds three summer work placements
      Intakes
      September (international applications 1 October 2026 to 31 March 2027 for September 2027)
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0), PTE Academic 60 (no section below 60), TOEFL iBT 88 (no section below 20; or 4.5 on the new scale), Duolingo 115 (no band below 105) or CAEL 60; English 12 C and Pre-calculus 12 B also required
    • Undergraduate

      Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Majors and Minors

      Fee / year
      C$24,963
      Duration
      4 years; majors in accounting, economics, financial services, HR, international business, management and marketing
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0), PTE Academic 60 (no section below 60), TOEFL iBT 88 (no section below 20; or 4.5 on the new scale), Duolingo 115 (no band below 105) or CAEL 60
    • Undergraduate

      Bachelor of Business Administration – Accounting

      Fee / year
      C$24,963
      Duration
      4 years
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0), PTE Academic 60 (no section below 60), TOEFL iBT 88 (no section below 20; or 4.5 on the new scale), Duolingo 115 (no band below 105) or CAEL 60
    • Postgraduate

      Master of Business Administration (MBA)

      Fee / year
      C$31,462
      Duration
      20 months, 68 credits, in person at Nanaimo; ACBSP-accredited
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      Graduate English requirement, for example IELTS Academic 6.5, if your degree was not taught in English
    View all 4 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (Major, Honours or Co-op)4 years; the co-op major adds three summer work placementsC$24,963≈ ₹16.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Majors and Minors4 years; majors in accounting, economics, financial services, HR, international business, management and marketingC$24,963≈ ₹16.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Business Administration – Accounting4 yearsC$24,963≈ ₹16.7 lakh
    Master of Business Administration (MBA)20 months, 68 credits, in person at Nanaimo; ACBSP-accreditedC$31,462≈ ₹21.1 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Vancouver Island University with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • All students

      VIU scholarships, awards and bursaries

      Value: Donors fund more than 2,000 awards a year (values vary)

      Eligibility: Open to VIU students; VIU's international page does not list awards only for international students.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • VIU lists India's school-leaving equivalent as the State Higher Secondary School Certificate (Class 12); you must also meet each programme's subject requirements.
    • Computer science: English 12 with at least C and Pre-calculus 12 (or equivalent) with at least B; seats are limited and ranked by GPA.
    • BBA: one of Pre-calculus 11, Foundations of Mathematics 11 or Computer Science 11/12 with at least C.
    • If you meet the academic requirements but not English, VIU may offer conditional admission with its English Language Centre programme.

    Postgraduate

    • MBA: a bachelor's degree in any field with at least a B average in the last two years, one year of work experience, a résumé, introduction letter and two references. No GMAT.
    • MBA international application windows: 1 October 2026 to 31 March 2027 for September 2027; 1 January to 30 June 2027 for January 2028.

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
    • Degree transcripts and certificate (MBA)
    • IELTS, PTE, TOEFL, Duolingo or CAEL result (valid for 2 years)
    • Résumé, letter of introduction and two recommendation letters (MBA)
    • Application fee of CAD 156.06

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no band below 6.0
    PTE Academic60 with no section below 60
    TOEFL iBT88 with no section below 20 (tests before 21 January 2026); 4.5 with no section below 4.0 on the new scale
    Duolingo115 with no band below 105. VIU accepts online tests, but IRCC may want an in-person test for your study permit
    Class 12 EnglishVIU's page does not list Indian Class 12 English as a waiver; India is not on its list of English-speaking countries

    Accommodation and living costs

    VIU has on-campus housing in Nanaimo with traditional singles, modern singles or doubles and apartment singles. From autumn 2027, first-year and new international students who register by 1 May get guaranteed housing, and a new ten-storey residence with a dining hall opens. VIU's housing page does not show prices.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees

    Campus and location

    The main campus is in Nanaimo, with two smaller campuses in Cowichan and Powell River (tiwšɛmawtxʷ).

    • Computer science co-op with three summer work terms.
    • MBA taught in person in Nanaimo, with September and January starts.
    • New first-year residence tower opening in autumn 2027.
    • More than 1,200 faculty and staff.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    VIU says eligible graduates of its bachelor's and master's programmes, and of selected diplomas and certificates, can apply for a Post-Graduation Work Permit. See our Canada guide for the rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    How much is tuition at VIU?

    Undergraduate tuition is CAD 832.09 per credit, about CAD 24,963 for a 30-credit year, plus student fees. The MBA is CAD 52,436.16 in tuition for the whole 20-month programme.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0, or PTE 60, TOEFL iBT 88 or Duolingo 115.

    Can I study nursing at VIU?

    No. VIU's Bachelor of Science in Nursing is not currently available to international students. The Bachelor of Hospitality Management is also not accepting applications at present.

    Is housing guaranteed?

    From autumn 2027, VIU guarantees housing for first-year, new and international students who register by 1 May.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Vancouver Island University.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories