Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of University of Winnipeg
Flag of CanadaUniversity of Winnipeg logo

University of Winnipeg

Winnipeg, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the UWinnipeg pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the UWinnipeg pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Winnipeg, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: KrazyTea, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

The University of Winnipeg (UWinnipeg) is a public university in downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba, known for small classes and for programmes such as a Bachelor of Arts in Human Rights and a Master's in Development Practice focused on Indigenous development. It has more than 1,000 international students from over 75 countries. Its faculties include Business and Economics, Science (with Applied Computer Science and a data science specialisation in Statistics) and Kinesiology and Applied Health.

UWinnipeg charges tuition per course, and the rate depends on the course. Its international fee pages still showed 2023-24 figures when we checked, so this page lists no course fees; ask international admissions for the current cost. The university says it remains among the lowest-cost in Canada, and it raised international undergraduate tuition by 6.5% for 2026-27.

Type
Public university with a downtown campus in Winnipeg, Manitoba
International students
More than 1,000 from over 75 countries, nearly 10% of all students
Intakes
September (apply by 1 June), January (by 15 October) and May (by 15 February)
Application fee (international)
120, non-refundable
Tuition deposit
Minimum CAD 10,000 before a Letter of Acceptance is issued; non-refundable except after a visa refusal
2026-27 tuition change
International undergraduate tuition up 6.5%; graduate tuition up 4%

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    University of Winnipeg doesn't publish course-by-course fees for international students online. See the courses on the official website (opens in a new tab), or ask our counsellor for the current list and fees.

      Scholarships

        Admission requirements

        Undergraduate

        • First-year requirements for Indian applicants are on UWinnipeg's Admission Requirements by Country page; some science and business majors need specific Class 12 maths, chemistry or physics.
        • Deadlines: 1 June for September, 15 October for January and 15 February for May. Apply three to four months before the start term; letters of acceptance cover two start terms.
        • Transcripts must be emailed directly by your school to intladmissions@uwinnipeg.ca or mailed to Admissions; scans may be accepted if they can be verified online.

        Postgraduate

        • Graduate programmes include MA and MSc programmes (Applied Computer Science and Society, Applied Economics, Bioscience, Technology and Public Policy, and others), the Master of Development Practice and the Master in Management (MiM).
        • Graduate applications go through the Faculty of Graduate Studies, which sets its own requirements.

        Documents

        • Official Class 10 and 12 transcripts (and any college or university transcripts)
        • English test score, unless exempt
        • Passport scan (and study permit, if you have one)
        • Educational History/Gap form if you have been out of school for more than 6 months
        • International application fee of 120

        Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

        English language requirements

        English requirements
        Test or routeTypical requirement
        IELTS Academic6.5 overall (Academic, Online or UKVI)
        PTE Academic58
        TOEFL iBT4.5 overall with 4.0 in each part (tests from 21 January 2026); 86 with 20 per part for older tests
        Duolingo120
        Class 12 English waiverNot available for Indian boards: India is not on UWinnipeg's English-exempt country list, so plan to take a test

        Accommodation and living costs

        UWinnipeg has on-campus residence, including McFeetors Hall (furnished rooms with a meal plan) and the Balmoral Houses. The international tuition page still shows 2023-24 residence prices, so check Campus Living for current rates before you budget.

        Accommodation and living costs
        ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees

        Campus and location

        UWinnipeg's campus is in downtown Winnipeg, with the Richardson College for the Environment and Science Complex and the Axworthy Health and RecPlex.

        • Small class sizes and a focus on Indigenous inclusion.
        • Research in climate change, isotope production and cancer testing, and air and lake pollutants.
        • Three intakes a year: September, January and May.

        Careers and graduate outcomes

        UWinnipeg does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we checked. Post-study work rights depend on IRCC rules; see our Canada guide.

        Graduate outcomes
        WhatFigureSource

        Studying in Canada

        Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

        Other universities in Canada

        Compare all universities in Canada

        FAQs

        What are UWinnipeg's fees for Indian students?

        UWinnipeg charges per course and the rate varies by course. Its international pages still showed 2023-24 figures when we checked, and international undergraduate tuition rose 6.5% for 2026-27, so ask intladmissions@uwinnipeg.ca for a current estimate. You must pay a deposit of at least CAD 10,000 before you get your Letter of Acceptance.

        Can I use my Class 12 English marks instead of IELTS?

        No. The English waiver covers Canadian schools, IB and AP English and English-exempt countries, and India is not on that list. You need IELTS 6.5, PTE 58, TOEFL or Duolingo 120.

        When can I start?

        September, January or May. Deadlines are 1 June, 15 October and 15 February.

        Sources

        Talk to our counsellor

        Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of Winnipeg.

        IELTS / PTE status
        Best way to reach you

        #YouInspireUs

        Stories from our students and parents

        #StudyAbroadSample
        ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

        #1 Student name

        MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

        Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

        Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

        All student stories