Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of CanadaUniversity of the Fraser Valley logo

University of the Fraser Valley

Abbotsford, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the UFV pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Not stated on the UFV pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Abbotsford, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

The University of the Fraser Valley (UFV) is a public university in British Columbia's Fraser Valley, east of Vancouver, with its main campus in Abbotsford and others in Chilliwack, Mission and Hope. It enrols about 15,000 students a year in more than 100 programmes, and has a growing presence in Chandigarh, India. UFV stresses small classes.

For Indian students the most relevant options are the four-year BBA and Bachelor of Computer Information Systems, the BSc in Computing Science, and two-year post-baccalaureate diplomas in AI and machine learning, cybersecurity and software engineering for graduates. UFV charges CAD 797 per credit in 2026-27 for new students and estimates a first year at about CAD 30,000 including living costs. A new MSc in Computer Science (CAD 1,500 per credit, 30 credits) is expected to launch in September 2027.

Type
Public university in the Fraser Valley, east of Vancouver, British Columbia
Students
About 15,000 a year
Campuses
Abbotsford (main), Chilliwack, Mission and Hope, plus a presence in Chandigarh, India
Programmes
More than 100, including 21 bachelor's and three master's degrees
Intakes
September, January and May (varies by programme)
International tuition (2026-27)
CAD 797 per credit for new students; about CAD 30,000 for the first year including living costs (UFV estimate)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 11 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Post-baccalaureate Diploma48 credits (14 courses), four full-time semesters; AbbotsfordC$19,128≈ ₹12.8 lakh
    Cybersecurity Post-baccalaureate Diploma49 credits (14 courses), four full-time semesters; AbbotsfordC$19,527≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Software Engineering Post-baccalaureate Diploma48 credits (14 courses), four full-time semesters; AbbotsfordC$19,128≈ ₹12.8 lakh
    Bachelor of Business Administration4 years; majors in accounting, finance, HR management, international business and marketing; co-op optionC$23,910≈ ₹16 lakh
    Bachelor of Computer Information Systems4 years; optional co-opC$23,910≈ ₹16 lakh
    Bachelor of Science (Computing Science major)4 yearsC$23,910≈ ₹16 lakh
    Bachelor of Business Administration in Aviation4 yearsC$23,910≈ ₹16 lakh
    Bachelor of Agricultural Science4 yearsC$23,910≈ ₹16 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at University of the Fraser Valley with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      International Excellence Entrance Scholarship (renewable)

      Value: CAD 20,000 in total (CAD 5,000 a year for four years)

      Eligibility: Applying to a four-year bachelor's degree, in or just finished your final school year with at least a 3.75 GPA in that year, and living outside Canada. Apply with a letter of intent after your offer; keep a 3.0 GPA at UFV to renew.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • UG

      International Regional Entrance Scholarship

      Value: CAD 5,000

      Eligibility: Applying to a four-year bachelor's degree or two-year diploma, in or just finished your final school year with at least a 3.00 GPA, and living outside Canada. Apply with a letter of intent after your offer.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Upper secondary qualifications equivalent to Canadian Grade 12 (Class 12), plus each programme's entrance requirements in the UFV Academic Calendar.
    • The BBA needs the prerequisites for Calculus for Business (MATH 141) and Academic Writing (ENGL 105); students who do not yet qualify can start in Qualifying Studies.
    • Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee an offer; apply early because scholarships and seats are limited.

    Postgraduate

    • Post-baccalaureate diplomas: a three- or four-year bachelor's degree, so Indian three-year degrees are accepted for these programmes.
    • MSc Computer Science (from September 2027): a four-year bachelor's in computer science or a related field with a 3.00 GPA (4.33 scale) over the last 60 credits, three references and a personal statement; no GRE.

    Documents

    • Class 10 and 12 marksheets (and degree transcripts for post-baccalaureate programmes)
    • English test score at the degree level
    • Letter of intent (for entrance scholarships)
    • References and personal statement (MSc Computer Science)
    • Valid passport

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic6.5 overall, no band below 6.0 (IELTS Indicator not accepted)
    PTE Academic61, with 60 in writing
    TOEFL iBT88, no section below 20 (Home Edition accepted)
    Duolingo110, accepted until further notice
    Other routesCambridge CAE grade A or CPE grade C, EIKEN Grade 1, ILAC 3.3 PW. Students below the level can join Qualifying Studies

    Accommodation and living costs

    UFV's Abbotsford residences are Lá:léms Ye EverGreen and Lá:lem te Baker (pending re-opening). A meal plan is required. Rates below are 2026-27 rates for the September–April academic year.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    EverGreen single suiteC$7,280per academic year (Sep–Apr)≈ ₹4.9 lakh
    EverGreen quad or studio suiteC$8,560–9,800per academic year (Sep–Apr)≈ ₹5.7 lakh – ₹6.6 lakh
    Required meal planC$2,800–3,360per semester≈ ₹1.9 lakh – ₹2.3 lakh
    Room offer acceptance feeNon-refundable; plus a CAD 50 application feeC$600one-off≈ ₹40,200
    UFV's estimate for accommodation off campusC$3,890per semester≈ ₹2.6 lakh

    Campus and location

    The main campus is at 33844 King Road, Abbotsford. UFV also teaches in Chilliwack, Mission and Hope.

    • UFV's international programme list shows which programmes are PGWP-eligible (last checked by UFV in September 2026).
    • Co-op options in business and computer information systems.
    • Full-time study (at least 9 credits) is required in fall and winter; summer is optional.
    • Continuing students' tuition may rise 0–4% a year, for up to five years.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    UFV's co-op programmes let students alternate study and paid work terms. UFV does not publish employment figures on the pages we checked. Post-study work rights depend on IRCC rules; see our Canada guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    How much does UFV cost for Indian students?

    New international students pay CAD 797 per credit in 2026-27, so a 30-credit year is about CAD 23,900 in tuition, plus CAD 485 a semester in fees and a one-off CAD 1,450 administration fee. UFV estimates the first year at about CAD 30,000 including living costs.

    Can I do a post-graduate diploma at UFV with a three-year Indian degree?

    Yes. UFV's post-baccalaureate diplomas in AI and machine learning, cybersecurity and software engineering accept a three- or four-year bachelor's degree.

    Are there scholarships for Indian students?

    Yes, for school leavers entering a bachelor's or diploma: CAD 5,000 for a 3.00 GPA, or CAD 20,000 over four years for a 3.75 GPA. You apply with a letter of intent after your offer.

    What IELTS score does UFV need?

    6.5 overall with no band below 6.0. PTE 61, TOEFL iBT 88 and Duolingo 110 are also accepted.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for University of the Fraser Valley.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories