Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Université du Québec à Rimouski
Flag of CanadaUniversité du Québec à Rimouski logo

Université du Québec à Rimouski

Rimouski, Canada · Public · Est. Awarding degrees since 1969 (founding year not stated on the pages we checked)

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Awarding degrees since 1969 (founding year not stated on the pages we checked)

Type

Public

Location

Rimouski, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: AzertyFab, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

The Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) has awarded degrees since 1969 and belongs to the Université du Québec network. It has campuses in Rimouski and Lévis, more than 180 programmes and more than 950 international students a year. Its research focuses on four areas: marine and coastal sciences, nordicity, rurality and maritime regions, and social practices and health. Its Institut des sciences de la mer (ISMER) is known for oceanography.

Teaching is in French. Indian students who have, or can reach, intermediate-to-good French look at UQAR for engineering and maritime studies: about CAD 24,550 a year for a bachelor's in 2026–2027. Residence places on the Rimouski campus start at CAD 400 a month.

Type
Public, French-language university in the Université du Québec network
International students
More than 950 a year, from more than 45 countries
Campuses
Rimouski and Lévis, plus centres in Baie-Comeau and Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine
Programmes
More than 180, from bachelor's to doctorate
Class size
About 30 students on average
Intakes
Autumn (September) and winter (January); students from abroad cannot start in summer

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 2 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Baccalauréat en génie des systèmes électromécaniques (Bachelor of Engineering in Electromechanical Systems)120 credits over eight full-time terms, with three four-month work placementsC$24,552≈ ₹16.4 lakh
    Maîtrise en gestion des ressources maritimes, avec mémoire (Master's in Maritime Resource Management, thesis)45 credits: 24 credits of courses and a 21-credit thesis; Rimouski campusC$24,918≈ ₹16.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Université du Québec à Rimouski with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • Research master's and doctorate

      Excellence programme: exemption from supplemental international tuition

      Value: Exemption from the extra fees charged to international students (amount not stated)

      Eligibility: International students in research master's and doctoral programmes; see UQAR's page for the competition rules.

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • UQAR's general rule for bachelor's entry is a diploma after at least 13 years of schooling, equivalent to Quebec's DEC.
    • For the electromechanical engineering degree, applicants with 12 years of schooling outside Quebec (such as Indian Class 12) can apply, with admission conditional on passing UQAR's preparatory-year science courses and an average of at least 12/20 or equivalent.
    • Apply directly online (no agents): the application fee is CAD 90.28, and documents must be uploaded within six weeks.
    • Autumn 2027 applications close on 1 March 2027; winter 2028 applications on 1 August 2027.

    Postgraduate

    • Master's level needs a bachelor's after at least 16 years of schooling, equivalent to a North American bachelor's.
    • Maritime resource management master's: a cumulative average of at least 3.2/4.3 or equivalent.
    • Research programmes may need a supervisor's agreement; check each programme sheet.

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • Copy of the diploma and mark sheets for the years leading to it (certified copies)
    • Birth certificate showing parents' names and place of birth
    • French test result (TEF or TCF 460, or Bright 3.5)
    • Proof of funds of at least CAD 24,617 for living costs (Quebec requirement since 1 January 2026)
    • Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ) and study permit after admission

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Language of teachingFrench.
    French testTEF Études/Canada/Québec 460 or TCF/TCF Québec/TCF Canada 460 in reading, listening and writing, or Bright Language 3.5; some programmes ask for more.
    UQAR French examAdmitted students who do not meet the French policy sit a 500-word writing exam in their first term (CAD 25); failing it means a compulsory French course.
    EnglishNot used for admission, except for some doctorates (biology, engineering, oceanography, environmental sciences) that can admit on English with a compulsory French course.

    Accommodation and living costs

    UQAR has residences on its Rimouski campus for full-time students, with 8-month or 4-month leases. Electricity, TV and internet are included. Places are given from a waiting list.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    Room in a four-bedroom furnished apartmentC$400–420per month≈ ₹26,800 – ₹28,140
    Single room with shared kitchen and bathroomC$450–470per month≈ ₹30,150 – ₹31,490
    Proof of funds for living costs (Quebec rule from 1 January 2026)C$24,617per year≈ ₹16.5 lakh

    Campus and location

    UQAR has two campuses, Rimouski and Lévis, and centres in Baie-Comeau and Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

    • Institut des sciences de la mer (ISMER) for oceanography and marine sciences.
    • UQAR manages the Réseau Québec maritime research network.
    • Rimouski residences with 104 four-bedroom apartments and a 34-room building.
    • Engineering degrees include paid work placements of about four months.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    UQAR's engineering bachelor's degrees include three placements of about four months in companies. See our Canada guide for work and post-study work rules.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    Is UQAR taught in English?

    No. Teaching is in French. Most applicants with Indian qualifications need TEF or TCF 460, or Bright Language 3.5.

    How much are the fees?

    UQAR's indicative 2026–2027 international tuition is about CAD 24,552 for the first year of a bachelor's, CAD 19,802 for the first year of a course-based master's and CAD 24,918 for the first year of a thesis master's, including compulsory insurance.

    Can I start in summer?

    No. UQAR says students coming from abroad cannot start in the summer term because full-time study is not possible then. Apply for autumn or winter.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Université du Québec à Rimouski.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories