Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Saint Paul University
Flag of Canada

Saint Paul University

Ottawa, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated; the home page refers to 178 years of existence

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated; the home page refers to 178 years of existence

Type

Public

Location

Ottawa, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Unknown author, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

Saint Paul University (Université Saint-Paul) is a small bilingual university in Ottawa, closely linked to the University of Ottawa: some degrees, such as the MA in Conflict Studies, are conferred jointly by the two universities' senates, and students use uOttawa services. It teaches in English and French in conflict studies, social communication, counselling and psychotherapy, social innovation, ethics and public affairs, canon law and theology.

Indian students can take several programmes in English, including honours BAs in conflict studies, social communication and social innovation, and the MA in Counselling, Psychotherapy and Spirituality. International tuition for 2025-2026 was CA$19,955 a year for undergraduates and up to CA$29,965 for graduate study. Saint Paul's international page explains PGWP basics; see our Canada guide for the rules.

Type
Bilingual (English and French) university in Ottawa, linked to the University of Ottawa
Student-to-professor ratio
12 students per professor on average (home page)
Programme areas
Conflict studies, social communication, counselling and psychotherapy, social innovation, ethics and public affairs, canon law, theology
International tuition
CA$19,955 (undergraduate) and up to CA$29,965 (graduate) a year, 2025-2026
Housing
USP Residence: shared two-bedroom apartments with kitchenette

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 5 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    M.A. in Counselling, Psychotherapy and Spirituality: Individual Psychotherapy5 terms (2 years), with professional practiceC$29,965≈ ₹20.1 lakh
    M.A. in Conflict Studies4 terms (offered in French; some courses online)C$29,965≈ ₹20.1 lakh
    Honours B.A. in Conflict Studies4 years (8 terms)C$19,955≈ ₹13.4 lakh
    Honours B.A. in Social Communication4 years (8 trimesters), with two internshipsC$19,955≈ ₹13.4 lakh
    Honours B.A. in Social Innovation4 years (8 trimesters), with field experienceC$19,955≈ ₹13.4 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Saint Paul University with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG and PG

      Étudier en français scholarship

      Value: Reduces international tuition by CA$3,000 (undergraduate) and up to CA$4,500 (graduate) a year, based on 2025-2026 figures

      Eligibility: International students studying in French

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • 12 years of schooling equivalent to an Ontario Secondary School Diploma; Saint Paul lists recognised diplomas on its admission requirements page.
    • Applications are for a specific programme, year and session, and are assessed only once all documents arrive.

    Postgraduate

    • Master's and graduate diplomas: a four-year bachelor's degree or equivalent with at least 70% (B).
    • Some programmes have extra requirements, set out in each programme description.

    Documents

    • Official transcripts for all studies, sent directly by your institution
    • Certified translations if transcripts are not in English or French
    • Official English (or French) test result
    • Programme-specific documents
    • Deposit for study-permit students (deducted from tuition; refundable only with a study permit refusal)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS Academic6.5 overall with 6.5 in writing (all levels).
    TOEFL86 (writing 22) for undergraduate; 79 (writing 24) for master's.
    PTE Academic60 (writing 60) for undergraduate; 58 (writing 58) for master's.
    Duolingo English Test120, undergraduate only.
    ExemptionAt least three years of full-time study at an English-medium institution in a country where English is an official language (uOttawa list); Saint Paul may still ask for a test. Score page last revised March 2024.

    Accommodation and living costs

    USP Residence offers two-bedroom apartments shared by two students, with a kitchenette and bathroom. Saint Paul does not help formally with off-campus housing but suggests nearby Ottawa neighbourhoods.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    Estimated housing costSaint Paul estimateC$8,000–10,000per 8 months≈ ₹5.4 lakh – ₹6.7 lakh
    Estimated housing costSaint Paul estimateC$12,000–15,000per 12 months≈ ₹8 lakh – ₹10.1 lakh
    University Health Insurance Plan (UHIP/RAMU)2025-2026C$792per year≈ ₹53,064

    Campus and location

    Saint Paul is a small campus in Ottawa, with access to University of Ottawa services.

    • Bilingual teaching; many programmes run in both English and French.
    • About 12 students per professor on average.
    • Students use uOttawa health services and sports facilities.
    • An internships office supports co-op and placements.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Several programmes include internships or professional practice. Saint Paul does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we opened. For work rights, see our Canada guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    How much does Saint Paul University cost for Indian students?

    For 2025-2026, international tuition was CA$19,955 a year for undergraduate study and up to CA$29,965 a year for graduate study.

    Can I study in English at Saint Paul?

    Yes. Many programmes, such as the honours BAs in conflict studies and social communication and the MA in Counselling, Psychotherapy and Spirituality, are offered in English. The MA in Conflict Studies is offered in French.

    What IELTS score does Saint Paul need?

    IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with 6.5 in writing, for undergraduate and graduate study.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Saint Paul University.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories