Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of OCAD University
Flag of CanadaOCAD University logo

OCAD University

Toronto, Canada · Public · Est. Celebrating 150 years (founding year not stated on the pages we opened)

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Celebrating 150 years (founding year not stated on the pages we opened)

Type

Public

Location

Toronto, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: John Vetterli from Toronto, Canada, CC BY-SA 2.0

About the university

OCAD University is a specialist public university of art and design in downtown Toronto, marking 150 years and calling itself Canada's largest and oldest art and design institution. It offers 17 undergraduate programmes across design, art and visual culture, leading to a Bachelor of Design (BDes), Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) or Bachelor of Arts (BA), and seven graduate programmes such as Digital Futures, Inclusive Design and Strategic Foresight and Innovation.

Indian students mostly look at Graphic Design, Industrial Design, Illustration, Advertising, Digital Futures and Experimental Animation. Admission to BDes and BFA programmes depends mainly on your portfolio and statement of intent, with at least 70% in your final school year. International undergraduate tuition is about CA$30,250 a year, or around CA$34,000 with fees.

Type
Public university of art and design; describes itself as Canada's largest and oldest art and design institution
Programmes
17 undergraduate programmes (BDes, BFA and BA) and 7 graduate programmes
Intakes
Fall (September) and Winter (January) for international undergraduates
International undergraduate tuition
About CA$34,000 a year (2026/27 estimate)
Campus
Downtown Toronto

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    • Undergraduate

      Graphic Design (BDes)

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      4 years (honours BDes); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Industrial Design

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Digital Futures

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Illustration

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Advertising

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Experimental Animation

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Environmental Design: Interior Design Specialization

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    • Undergraduate

      Integrated Media

      Fee / year
      C$30,248
      Duration
      Full-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio required
      Intakes
      September; January
      English
      IELTS Academic 6.5 (no part below 6.0); TOEFL iBT 84 (tests before 21 January 2026); PTE Academic 58 (56 in all sections); Duolingo 110; CAEL 70
    View all 12 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Graphic Design (BDes)4 years (honours BDes); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    Industrial DesignFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    Digital FuturesFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    IllustrationFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    AdvertisingFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    Experimental AnimationFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    Environmental Design: Interior Design SpecializationFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh
    Integrated MediaFull-time honours degree (5.0 credits a year); portfolio requiredC$30,248≈ ₹20.3 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at OCAD University with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Secondary school equivalent to Ontario Grade 12 with an overall average of at least 70% (B) in the final year, so Indian Class 12 with 70% or more.
      • If your school taught in English, at least 70% in Class 12 English; otherwise an English test is needed unless you studied four consecutive years in an English-medium school.
      • BDes and BFA offers are based mainly on your portfolio and statement of intent; the BA in Visual and Critical Studies needs a writing sample and creative profile.
      • Apply through OUAC as a '105' applicant.

      Postgraduate

      • Graduate programmes have their own application requirements; see OCAD U's graduate admissions site. The pages we opened do not state the degree requirement or deadlines.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
      • Portfolio and statement of intent (BDes and BFA)
      • English test result or proof of four years of English-medium schooling
      • Non-refundable admission confirmation deposit after an offer

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no part below 6.0.
      TOEFL iBT84 (reading 20, listening 19, speaking 22, writing 20) for tests before 21 January 2026; 4.5 on the new scale.
      PTE Academic58 overall with at least 56 in all sections.
      Duolingo110 overall with at least 105 in Production.
      English-medium school exemptionNo test needed if you completed at least four years of full-time study at an accredited school where English is the main medium of instruction; OCAD U may ask for a school letter.

      Accommodation and living costs

      OCAD U works with housing partners near campus, including Parkside (residence-style with a dining programme), Avant, HOEM and The Darcy, plus the Neill-Wycik and Campus Co-op housing co-operatives and homestay providers. Rates are not listed on OCAD U's housing page, so check with each provider.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      UHIP health insurance (fall term)2026/27 fee schedule; CA$632 for the winter termC$316per term≈ ₹21,172

      Campus and location

      OCAD U's campus is in downtown Toronto.

      • Graphic Design sits in the Faculty of Design.
      • Studio-based BDes and BFA degrees with portfolio entry.
      • Partner student housing within walking distance on Carlton, Gerrard and Jarvis Streets.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      OCAD U's pages we opened do not publish graduate employment figures. For work rights, see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much does OCAD University cost for Indian students?

      International course tuition is CA$6,049.64 per credit in 2026/27, about CA$30,250 for a full-time year of 5.0 credits. OCAD U estimates about CA$34,000 a year with fees. Laptop and material fees are extra.

      Do I need a portfolio?

      Yes for all BDes and BFA programmes; offers are based mainly on the portfolio and statement of intent. The BA in Visual and Critical Studies uses a writing sample instead.

      Can I skip IELTS with Class 12 English?

      Possibly. If you studied at least four years in an English-medium school, you may be exempt; otherwise you need IELTS 6.5 with no part below 6.0 or an equivalent test.

      When can I start?

      International undergraduates can start in September or January.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for OCAD University.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories