Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Nova Scotia Community College

Halifax, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Halifax, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) is a public community college in Nova Scotia, with campuses across the province and its largest IT and business campuses in Halifax and Dartmouth. It offers certificates, diplomas, advanced diplomas and one-year graduate certificates, many of them eligible for a post-graduation work permit.

International tuition is a single flat rate of CA$13,505 a year in 2026-27, which is low for Canada. Indian students mostly look at the two-year IT diplomas (IT Data Analytics, IT Programming, Cyber Security) and the one-year graduate certificates in Business Intelligence and Analytics, IT Programming for AI and Business Analysis. Some popular programmes put international applicants on a waitlist, so apply as soon as applications open in November.

Type
Public community college in Nova Scotia
Campuses
Across Nova Scotia, including the Institute of Technology, Ivany and Akerley campuses in Halifax–Dartmouth, Truro and Sydney Waterfront
International tuition
CA$13,505 a year for any full-time programme (2026-27)
Intakes
Mainly September; January for some programmes (international applications for January 2027 are closed)
Application deadline
1 April 2027 for programmes starting in 2027-28
Deposit
CA$5,000, counted towards tuition

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 6 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Business Intelligence and Analytics (Graduate Certificate)1 year (Institute of Technology Campus, Halifax)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh
    IT Programming for Artificial Intelligence (AI) (Graduate Certificate)1 year (Institute of Technology Campus, Halifax)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh
    IT Data Analytics (Diploma)2 years (Institute of Technology Campus, Halifax)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh
    IT Programming (Diploma)2 years (several campuses)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh
    Cyber Security (Diploma)2 years (Halifax or Sydney)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh
    Business Analysis (Graduate Certificate)1 year (Ivany Campus, Dartmouth)C$13,505≈ ₹9 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Nova Scotia Community College with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Diplomas need high-school graduation or equivalent. For India, NSCC asks for a board-attested or board-issued Class 12 certificate and the Class 12 statement of marks; school-issued transcripts and notarised copies are not accepted.

      Postgraduate

      • Graduate certificates need a diploma, advanced diploma or undergraduate degree in a related field (for example IT, computer science, engineering technology or business). Business Analysis accepts a two-year diploma or a degree.
      • International applicants submit official post-secondary documents for assessment.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Board-attested or board-issued Class 12 certificate and mark sheet
      • Degree or diploma documents (graduate certificates)
      • English test result less than two years old, sent by the test provider
      • CA$100 application fee; CA$5,000 deposit after an offer

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic6.0 in each band (listening, reading, writing and speaking).
      PTE Academic55.
      TOEFL iBT80 for tests before 21 January 2026; 4 overall on the new scale for later tests.
      Duolingo115 overall with no subscore below 95.
      ExemptionsThree years of full-time study in English at an accredited institution in a country where NSCC does not require testing, or one year of full-time study at an English Canadian college or university. India is a country where testing is required.

      Accommodation and living costs

      NSCC has campus housing at Ivany, Akerley, COGS (Annapolis Valley), Pictou, Strait Area and Truro campuses. Ivany Campus rates for 2026/27 include furniture, utilities, internet, laundry, Halifax Transit and CA$500 in dining dollars per term; a CA$500 non-refundable deposit applies. NSCC's survey of international students puts median rent near rural campuses at about CA$800 a month.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Ivany Campus, 4-bedroom suite2026/27C$8,004per year (September–April)≈ ₹5.4 lakh
      Ivany Campus, 1-bedroom suite2026/27C$9,338per year (September–April)≈ ₹6.3 lakh
      Off-campus rent near rural campuses (median, all housing types)NSCC international student surveyC$800per month≈ ₹53,600
      Health insurance (no Nova Scotia health card)2026-27C$1,024per year≈ ₹68,608

      Campus and location

      NSCC's campuses are spread across Nova Scotia; most IT and business programmes run in Halifax and Dartmouth.

      • Institute of Technology Campus, Halifax: IT diplomas and IT graduate certificates.
      • Ivany Campus, Dartmouth: business graduate certificates and on-campus housing.
      • Sydney Waterfront Campus: Cyber Security and IT Programming.
      • Halifax Transit U-Pass for the Akerley, Institute of Technology and Ivany campuses (CA$197 for a September start).

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      The programmes listed here are marked PGWP eligible on NSCC's pages, but part-time and Blended Flex offerings are excluded, so check your offering. Some programmes include co-operative education (CA$1,290 fee). For work rights, see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much does NSCC cost for Indian students?

      International tuition is CA$13,505 a year in 2026-27 for any full-time programme. Add the CA$1,000 international student fee, CA$200 college service fee, health insurance (CA$1,024 without a Nova Scotia health card) and programme costs.

      What IELTS score do I need?

      IELTS Academic 6.0 in each band. NSCC also accepts PTE 55, Duolingo 115 and TOEFL iBT 80 (older test format).

      When should I apply for 2027?

      Applications for most 2027-28 programmes open in November, with an 1 April 2027 deadline. Popular programmes can fill or waitlist international applicants early.

      Does NSCC have a hostel?

      Yes, at six campuses. At Ivany Campus a room in a 4-bedroom suite costs CA$8,004 for September to April 2026/27, including utilities, internet and dining dollars.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Nova Scotia Community College.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories