Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Northwestern Polytechnic

Grande Prairie, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Grande Prairie, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Northwestern Polytechnic (NWP) is a public polytechnic in Grande Prairie, northwest Alberta. It offers bachelor's degrees, diplomas, certificates, university transfer and trades. International students can choose from 21 programmes, all taught at the Grande Prairie campus.

Indian students mostly look at the four-year Bachelor of Computing Science and Bachelor of Business Administration (about CA$18,900 a year in Years 1 and 2), the two-year Computer Systems Technology and Business Administration diplomas, and Power Engineering Technology. A useful point for Indian applicants: 75% in Class 12 CBSE or ISC English can meet the English requirement.

Type
Public polytechnic in northwest Alberta; designated learning institution
Campus for international students
Grande Prairie (all 21 international programmes)
Programmes for international students
21, including bachelor's degrees in business, computing science and education
Intakes
Mostly September; Early Learning and Child Care also January
Tuition basis
3.5 times the domestic rate
Deposit
At least CA$1,500 before the letter of acceptance and PAL

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 12 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Bachelor of Computing Science4 years (120 credits)C$18,900≈ ₹12.7 lakh
    Computer Systems Technology Diploma2 years (60 credits), with work-integrated learningC$18,900≈ ₹12.7 lakh
    Bachelor of Business Administration4 years (120 credits)C$18,900≈ ₹12.7 lakh
    Business Administration Diploma2 years (60 credits)C$18,900≈ ₹12.7 lakh
    Power Engineering Technology Diploma2 years (77 credits)C$27,800≈ ₹18.6 lakh
    Engineering, University Transfer1 year (40 credits), then transfer to a universityC$25,200≈ ₹16.9 lakh
    Computer Systems Technology Certificate1 year (30 credits)C$18,900≈ ₹12.7 lakh
    Health Care Aide Certificate1 year (36 credits)C$25,000≈ ₹16.8 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Northwestern Polytechnic with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Degrees and diplomas need a high-school diploma (Indian Class 12) with set subjects; for example, the Bachelor of Computing Science needs a 60% average across English, Mathematics and three other academic subjects.
      • Computer Systems Technology needs at least 50% in Grade 12 maths and English (or equivalents).
      • Apply 4–6 months before the start; new letters of acceptance and PALs generally stop about 10 weeks before the semester begins.

      Postgraduate

      • NWP does not list post-graduate certificates or post-degree diplomas for international students.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
      • English test result, or Class 12 CBSE/ISC English at 75% or above
      • CA$150 application fee
      • Tuition deposit of at least CA$1,500 (CA$250 kept if the study permit is refused)

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic6.5 overall with no band below 6.0 for most programmes; Health Care Aide 6.0 with no band below 5.5.
      PTE Academic60 overall with at least 55 in each skill.
      TOEFL iBT84 with no section below 21 (tests before 21 January 2026), or 4.5 on the new 1–6 scale.
      Duolingo115 overall with no sub-score below 100.
      Class 12 English waiverMet with 75% in CBSE Core or Elective English (80% in Functional English) or 75% in ISC English; may not apply to School of Health programmes.

      Accommodation and living costs

      NWP has on-campus housing in Grande Prairie, from dorm-style rooms to apartment-style suites, but rates are not on the housing page; contact the housing office (780-539-2802). Off-campus options include shared rooms, basement suites and apartments.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Student health and dental plan (September start)2026-27; Alberta also offers provincial health care to eligible international studentsC$456per year≈ ₹30,552

      Campus and location

      All international programmes run at NWP's Grande Prairie campus.

      • Grande Prairie campus at 10726 106 Avenue.
      • On-campus housing from dorm rooms to apartment-style suites.
      • Alberta has no provincial sales tax.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      Computer Systems Technology includes work-integrated learning, and the university transfer programmes lead into degree studies elsewhere. NWP does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we opened. For work rights, see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much does Northwestern Polytechnic cost?

      NWP estimates CA$18,900 a year (2026-27) for the Bachelor of Computing Science, BBA and Computer Systems Technology Diploma in Year 1, including mandatory fees. Power Engineering Technology is about CA$27,800 in Year 1.

      Do I need IELTS if I studied CBSE?

      Not always. NWP accepts 75% in CBSE Core or Elective English, or 75% in ISC English, for most programmes. Health programmes may still need a test.

      When can I start?

      Most international programmes start in September. Early Learning and Child Care also starts in January.

      How much is the deposit?

      At least CA$1,500, paid before NWP issues your letter of acceptance and PAL. CA$250 is kept if your study permit is refused.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Northwestern Polytechnic.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories