Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Northern Lights College

Dawson Creek, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Talk to our counsellorCall usOfficial website (opens in a new tab)

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Dawson Creek, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Northern Lights College (NLC) is a public college in northeast British Columbia, with its main campuses in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John. It offers associate degrees, diplomas, post-degree diplomas and trades, and trains aircraft maintenance technicians at its Dawson Creek Aerospace Centre. NLC says it has BC's lowest annual tuition for two-year programmes and a low cost of living.

Indian graduates mostly look at the two-year post-degree diplomas, such as Information Technology Management, Management Science and Environmental Management, which cost about CA$13,500–14,000 in tuition for Year 1. These accept a three-year degree. Diploma options include Practical Nursing, Interactive and Digital Technologies and the Aircraft Maintenance Technician Diploma.

Type
Public college in northeast British Columbia
Campuses
Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Chetwynd, Fort Nelson and Tumbler Ridge
PGWP-eligible programmes listed
24, including five post-degree diplomas
Academic tuition
CA$452.03 per credit for international students (2025-26)
Student housing
190 beds in Dawson Creek and 98 in Fort St. John
Application fee
CA$100

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 6 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Post-Degree Diploma in Information Technology Management62 credits, usually 4 semesters (Fort St. John)C$14,013≈ ₹9.4 lakh
    Post-Degree Diploma in Management Science61 credits, usually 4 semesters (Dawson Creek and Fort St. John)C$13,561≈ ₹9.1 lakh
    Post-Degree Diploma in Environmental Management61 credits, about 2 years (Dawson Creek and Fort St. John)C$13,561≈ ₹9.1 lakh
    Practical Nursing Diploma2 years (22 months, 1,850 hours)C$17,438≈ ₹11.7 lakh
    Interactive and Digital Technologies Diploma2 years (4 semesters)C$14,239≈ ₹9.5 lakh
    Aircraft Maintenance Technician Diploma4 semesters of 20 weeks (1,820 hours)C$14,060≈ ₹9.4 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Northern Lights College with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Diplomas need Grade 12 (Indian Class 12) or equivalent with English and maths at set levels; for example Practical Nursing needs Grade 11 maths and Biology 12 or Anatomy and Physiology 12 at C (60%).
      • Aircraft Maintenance needs Grade 11 or 12 English and Pre-Calculus maths at C, or IELTS 6.0.

      Postgraduate

      • Post-degree diplomas need a degree of at least three years, so Indian three-year degrees qualify.
      • Information Technology Management needs a three-year degree in computer science, IT or a related field completed within 5 years, or an equivalent mix of study and at least two years' relevant work.
      • Management Science accepts degrees in business, economics, computer science, IT, maths, engineering or related fields.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
      • Degree transcripts and certificate (post-degree diplomas)
      • English test result
      • CA$100 application fee

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      General requirementEnglish 12 at C or higher, or a university-level English course. Other international applicants must meet NLC's English proficiency requirement in the academic calendar (Appendix A).
      Practical Nursing (IELTS)7.0 overall, with speaking 7.0, listening 7.5, reading 6.5 and writing 7.0, or CELBAN.
      Aircraft Maintenance (IELTS)6.0 overall with no band below 5.5, or equivalent.

      Accommodation and living costs

      NLC has student housing in Dawson Creek (190 beds) and Fort St. John (98 beds). Rates include electricity, heat, hot water, campus internet and parking; a CA$50 laundry fee per term applies from August 2026.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Bedroom in a 3–4 bedroom unitC$2,240per four-month semester≈ ₹1.5 lakh
      Bedroom in a 2-bedroom unitC$3,500per four-month semester≈ ₹2.3 lakh
      1-bedroom unitC$4,760per four-month semester≈ ₹3.2 lakh
      International medical insurance (GuardMe)C$290per four months≈ ₹19,417

      Campus and location

      NLC's main campuses are Dawson Creek and Fort St. John, with smaller campuses in Chetwynd, Fort Nelson and Tumbler Ridge.

      • Dawson Creek Aerospace Centre for aircraft maintenance training.
      • Practical Nursing theory is by videoconference, with labs at both Dawson Creek and Fort St. John from September 2026.
      • On-campus housing in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      NLC lists 24 programmes as eligible for a post-graduation work permit, including all five post-degree diplomas. It does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we opened. For work rights, see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much is a post-degree diploma at Northern Lights College?

      Year 1 international tuition is about CA$13,561 for Management Science or Environmental Management and CA$14,013 for IT Management, plus student fees and medical insurance.

      Is a three-year Indian degree accepted for the post-degree diplomas?

      Yes. NLC's post-degree diplomas ask for a degree of at least three years in a related field.

      How much does housing cost?

      A bedroom in a 3–4 bedroom unit costs CA$2,240 for a four-month semester, and a 1-bedroom unit CA$4,760, including utilities and internet.

      When can I start?

      Post-degree diplomas have Fall, Winter and Spring starts. Practical Nursing starts only in September.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Northern Lights College.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories