Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Northern Lakes College

Slave Lake, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Slave Lake, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Northern Lakes College (NLC) is a public college serving a large region of northern Alberta from Slave Lake and a network of community campuses. It offers certificates and diplomas in health, human services, business and power engineering, plus upgrading, and much of its teaching is online or blended (online with some campus attendance). Trades programmes are open only to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

International students pay three times the domestic tuition rate, which still works out at about CA$14,000–21,000 a year. NLC has a limited number of provincial attestation letters (PALs) and stops accepting international students who need one once they run out, so apply early. Check that your chosen programme is not fully online, because a study permit and PGWP may not cover online study; see our Canada guide.

Type
Public college and designated learning institution in northern Alberta
Delivery
Face to face, blended or supported distance learning
Student residences
High Prairie, Fairview, Slave Lake and Stony Point (Wabasca)
International deadlines
Fall: 1 May; Winter: 15 October; Spring: 1 January
Deposit
CA$5,000 (CA$3,500 refundable if the study permit is refused)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 10 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Practical Nurse Diploma2 years (blended)C$20,796≈ ₹13.9 lakh
    Primary Care Paramedic1 year (blended)C$18,648≈ ₹12.5 lakh
    Advanced Care Paramedic Diploma2 years (blended)C$20,478≈ ₹13.7 lakh
    Social Work Diploma2 years (blended)C$18,171≈ ₹12.2 lakh
    Health Care Aide1 year (blended)C$15,876≈ ₹10.6 lakh
    Business Administration Management Studies Diploma2 yearsC$19,380≈ ₹13 lakh
    Human Resource Management DiplomaYear 1 and Year 2 fees listed (online)C$19,380≈ ₹13 lakh
    Computer Network Specialist1 year (online)C$19,380≈ ₹13 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Northern Lakes College with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Each programme sets its own entrance requirements; Indian Class 12 marks are assessed against them.
      • Trades programmes are not open to international students.
      • A PAL is issued only after you meet all entrance requirements and pay the CA$5,000 deposit, and NLC has a limited number.
      • Apply at least four months before the start date and have funding ready two months before.

      Postgraduate

      • NLC does not offer post-graduate certificates for international students.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
      • English test result (usually valid for two years)
      • CA$5,000 deposit before the PAL and letter of acceptance

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS Academic6.0 overall with no band below 6.0.
      PTE Academic50.
      TOEFL iBT84 with no section below 21.
      Duolingo110 with no subtest below 100.
      CAEL60 with no subtest below 60. Some programmes ask for higher scores.

      Accommodation and living costs

      NLC lists student residences in High Prairie, Fairview, Slave Lake and Stony Point (Wabasca). Rates were not on the pages we opened, so ask the college for current prices.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees

      Campus and location

      NLC serves a wide northern Alberta region through community campuses and distance learning.

      • Blended programmes are online with some campus attendance.
      • Pre-employment trades run in Drayton Valley, Fairview, High Level, High Prairie, La Crete, Slave Lake and Wabasca (not open to international students).
      • The region includes 15 First Nations and four Métis Settlements.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      NLC's health programmes, such as Practical Nurse and Paramedic, include clinical practice. The college does not publish graduate employment figures on the pages we opened. For study permits, online study and work rights, see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much does Northern Lakes College cost?

      International students pay three times domestic tuition. The 2026-27 maximum is CA$20,796 for Year 1 of Practical Nurse, CA$18,648 for Primary Care Paramedic and CA$19,380 a year for business programmes, plus fees.

      What IELTS score do I need?

      IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 6.0. Some programmes ask for more.

      Can I study online from India on a study permit?

      Many NLC programmes are online or blended. Choose a blended or campus-based programme and check our Canada guide on study permits and online study before you apply.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Northern Lakes College.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories