Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Northern College

Timmins, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Timmins, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Northern College is a public Ontario college with campuses in Timmins, Haileybury, Kirkland Lake and Moosonee in Northern Ontario. It offers certificates, diplomas, advanced diplomas and a four-year BScN, with strengths in engineering technology, trades, mining, health sciences and veterinary sciences. A separate set of programmes, mostly in business, IT and health care management, is delivered in Toronto with Pures College of Technology, leading to a Northern College credential.

For Indian students, Northern's main draw is cost: most diplomas are estimated at about CA$17,377 a year for Fall 2027, including ancillary fees, which is low for Ontario. Popular choices include Computer Engineering Technician, Business – Accounting, the three-year engineering technology diplomas and Practical Nursing. The northern campuses are in small mining and forestry towns, so check part-time work and housing early.

Type
Public college of applied arts and technology in Northern Ontario
Campuses
Timmins, Haileybury, Kirkland Lake and Moosonee, plus Pures – Toronto (delivered with Pures College of Technology)
Programmes for international students
38 on the main international list (certificates, diplomas, advanced diplomas, one graduate certificate and the BScN)
Intakes
Mainly Fall (September); some programmes also Winter (January)
Application fee
CA$100 through OCAS International

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 15 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Computer Engineering Technician2 years (4 semesters)C$17,377≈ ₹11.6 lakh
    Business – Accounting2 years (4 semesters)C$17,377≈ ₹11.6 lakh
    Business2 years (4 semesters)C$17,377≈ ₹11.6 lakh
    Practical Nursing2 years (4 semesters)C$19,460≈ ₹13 lakh
    Electrical Engineering Technology3 years (6 semesters, advanced diploma)C$17,377≈ ₹11.6 lakh
    Mechanical Engineering Technology3 years (6 semesters, advanced diploma)C$17,377≈ ₹11.6 lakh
    Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BScN)4 years (8 semesters)C$32,361≈ ₹21.7 lakh
    Medical Laboratory Technician1 year (3 semesters, certificate)C$22,572≈ ₹15.1 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Northern College with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG and PG

      International Entrance Scholarship

      Value: CA$2,000 (CA$1,000 in each of the first two semesters)

      Eligibility: New international students registered full-time in an eligible programme and campus for Fall 2026 or Winter 2027; apply with the online form by 31 August (Fall) or 31 December (Winter); second payment needs no failed courses

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Certificates and diplomas need the equivalent of an Ontario Secondary School Diploma plus programme-required courses, so Indian Class 12 with the right subjects.
    • A credential assessment (ICAS, University of Toronto CES or WES) may be required.

    Postgraduate

    • Graduate certificates need college or university transcripts; check the programme page for the credential required.

    Documents

    • Valid passport
    • Certified transcripts (Class 10, Class 12 and any degree), with notarised English translations where needed
    • English test result dated within the last 24 months
    • CA$100 OCAS International application fee
    • Deposit after accepting the offer (amount in the offer letter)

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    IELTS6.0 overall with no band below 5.5 for most certificates and diplomas; 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for Practical Nursing, Paramedic, Medical Laboratory Technician, instrumentation and the BScN.
    TOEFL iBT79 for most programmes; 88 for the higher-requirement programmes and the BScN.
    PTE58 for most certificates and diplomas; 60 for graduate certificates, higher-requirement programmes and the BScN.
    Duolingo105 for most certificates and diplomas; not accepted for health programmes such as Practical Nursing, Paramedic and the BScN.
    ExemptionsIndia is not on Northern's list of English-exempt countries, so plan to take a test.

    Accommodation and living costs

    Northern has residences at its Timmins (single rooms with private washroom), Haileybury (4-bedroom apartments) and Kirkland Lake (1- to 3-bedroom units) campuses. Space is limited and rates are not listed on the residences page, so apply early and ask the college for current prices.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees

    Campus and location

    Northern College has four campuses across Northern Ontario and a partner delivery site in Toronto.

    • Timmins campus: residence rooms with a private washroom and shared kitchens.
    • Haileybury campus: four-bedroom apartment-style residence.
    • Kirkland Lake and Moosonee campuses serve smaller communities.
    • Pures – Toronto (1450 Midland Avenue) delivers Northern programmes such as Health Care Management, Supply Chain Management and Information Systems Business Analysis with Pures College of Technology; we did not verify their fees.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Northern's international programme list marks PGWP eligibility programme by programme, so check the list before you apply. The college does not publish graduate employment rates on the pages we opened. For work rights, see our Canada guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    How much does Northern College cost for Indian students?

    Most diplomas are estimated at CA$17,376.60 a year for Fall 2027, which is 2026-27 tuition of CA$15,715.60 plus Timmins ancillary fees. Practical Nursing is about CA$19,460 and the BScN about CA$32,361 a year.

    What IELTS score do I need?

    IELTS 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for most certificates and diplomas. Health programmes and the BScN need 6.5 with no band below 6.0.

    Is there a scholarship for international students?

    Yes. The International Entrance Scholarship is worth CA$2,000 for new students in eligible programmes; you must apply with the online form by the deadline.

    Which campus will I study at?

    Most international programmes run at the Northern Ontario campuses. Some business, IT and health management programmes run in Toronto with Pures College of Technology; check the campus on your offer letter.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Northern College.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories