Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of La Cité
Flag of Canada

La Cité

Ottawa, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the official pages we checked

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the official pages we checked

Type

Public

Location

Ottawa, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: SimonP at en.wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

La Cité is Ontario's largest French-language college of applied arts and technology, based in east Ottawa. It offers more than 140 full-time programmes: one-year Ontario college certificates, two-year diplomas, three-year advanced diplomas and four-year applied bachelor's degrees, most with built-in internships and some with paid co-op. Teaching is in French, so it suits Indian students who already study in French.

La Cité accepts international students and publishes each programme's international fee on its programme page. We could not verify those pages, so this page lists no courses or fees yet; check the programme page or contact international@collegelacite.ca. International applicants apply through OCAS (collegesdelontario.ca), pay a CAD 350 application fee and about CAD 8,000 for the first term before receiving their acceptance letter and Provincial Attestation Letter.

Type
Public French-language college of applied arts and technology in Ontario
Language of teaching
French (students also take English courses)
Programmes
More than 140 full-time programmes, from one-year certificates to four-year applied degrees
Campuses
Main campus in Ottawa (23 hectares, about 10 minutes from downtown), plus Hawkesbury and the Alphonse-Desjardins trades campus in Orléans
Application fee (international)
CAD 350, non-refundable
First payment
About CAD 8,000 for the first term, paid after pre-acceptance

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    La Cité doesn't publish course-by-course fees for international students online. See the courses on the official website (opens in a new tab), or ask our counsellor for the current list and fees.

      Scholarships

        Admission requirements

        Undergraduate

        • Apply through OCAS (collegesdelontario.ca) and pay the CAD 350 application fee.
        • Each programme has its own admission conditions for international applicants; check the programme page.
        • Take La Cité's diagnostic tests (Compétences pour réussir) through the student portal; these place you in French and English courses.
        • After pre-acceptance, pay about CAD 8,000 for the first term. La Cité then issues the acceptance letter and requests a Provincial Attestation Letter if needed, subject to available places.

        Postgraduate

        • La Cité offers college programmes; graduate certificates, where offered, are listed on individual programme pages.

        Documents

        • Valid passport and two passport photos
        • Academic transcripts (Class 10 and Class 12, and degree if relevant)
        • Acceptance letter and Provincial Attestation Letter
        • Proof of funds (IRCC asks for CAD 20,635 a year for living costs for one person)
        • Letter of explanation for the study permit

        Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

        English language requirements

        English requirements
        Test or routeTypical requirement
        Language of teachingFrench; English is also taught as part of studies
        Language test for admissionNot stated on the international pages we checked; La Cité uses diagnostic tests to place students in French and English courses
        English testsIELTS or PTE do not replace the need for good French

        Accommodation and living costs

        La Cité has residence life on its Ottawa campus, but the pages we checked do not publish residence costs. Ask the college for current rates.

        Accommodation and living costs
        ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees

        Campus and location

        La Cité's main campus covers 23 hectares in east Ottawa, about ten minutes from downtown, with a trades campus in Orléans and a satellite campus in Hawkesbury.

        • Most programmes include internships; several offer a paid co-op option.
        • Credit-transfer agreements with some Canadian universities.
        • Winter-start programmes include a compulsory spring term.

        Careers and graduate outcomes

        Programmes are career-focused technical training for jobs in Ontario's French-speaking and bilingual job market. For work rights during and after study, see our Canada guide.

        Graduate outcomes
        WhatFigureSource

        Studying in Canada

        Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

        Other universities in Canada

        Compare all universities in Canada

        FAQs

        Is La Cité taught in English?

        No. La Cité is a French-language college. Students also take English courses, but you need good French to follow the programmes.

        How do I apply to La Cité from India?

        Apply through OCAS (collegesdelontario.ca), pay the CAD 350 fee, take La Cité's diagnostic tests, then pay about CAD 8,000 for the first term after pre-acceptance to get your acceptance letter and PAL.

        What are La Cité's international fees?

        They vary by programme and are shown on each programme page. We have not yet verified them, so check the programme page before you apply.

        Sources

        1. La Cité: Étudiant international (opens in a new tab)
        2. La Cité: 6 étapes pour les étudiant.e.s internationaux (opens in a new tab)
        3. La Cité: À propos de nous (opens in a new tab)

        Official website: www.collegelacite.ca (opens in a new tab)

        Check the latest details

        We researched this page on 28 Oct 2026. Fees, entry requirements and scholarships change every year, so confirm them on the university's website before you apply. Listing a university doesn't mean Admission Mantra represents it.

        Talk to our counsellor

        Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for La Cité.

        IELTS / PTE status
        Best way to reach you

        #YouInspireUs

        Stories from our students and parents

        #StudyAbroadSample
        ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

        #1 Student name

        MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

        Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

        Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

        All student stories