Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Great Plains College

Swift Current, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Swift Current, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Great Plains College is a small public regional college in Saskatchewan, with campuses in Swift Current, Kindersley, Warman, Biggar and Maple Creek. Teaching and exams are in English.

For international students, the college's international page lists one eligible programme: the one-year Continuing Care Assistant (CCA) certificate, which is granted by Saskatchewan Polytechnic and leads to care-aide work in home care and long-term care. The 2026-27 international price is CAD 20,500 all-in. The college's pricing sheet also lists an Early Childhood Education Diploma (CAD 18,575 for Year 1). Indian students looking for business or IT programmes will not find them here.

Type
Public regional college in Saskatchewan and a Designated Learning Institution (DLI)
Campuses
Swift Current, Kindersley, Warman, Biggar and Maple Creek
Programme for international students
Continuing Care Assistant certificate (Kindersley, Swift Current and Warman)
International cost (2026-27)
CAD 20,500 for the Continuing Care Assistant programme, including tuition, books, fees and health and dental insurance
Residence
12 single rooms in Swift Current at CAD 700 a month, utilities and Wi-Fi included

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 1 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Continuing Care Assistant (CCA) Certificate1 year full-timeC$20,500≈ ₹13.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Great Plains College with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Continuing Care Assistant: Grade 12 (Class 12) plus the English requirement. The CCA programme page also lists Canadian citizenship or permanent residence, while the international page lists CCA for international students, so confirm with International Admissions before applying.
      • Before the clinical part you need first aid and CPR, WHMIS, a respiratory fit test, criminal record and vulnerable sector checks and up-to-date immunisations.
      • Apply online with a CAD 150 non-refundable application fee. After the offer, pay at least 50% of first-year tuition and all fees within 30 days to hold your seat and receive a Letter of Acceptance.

      Postgraduate

      • Great Plains College does not offer postgraduate programmes or graduate certificates for international students.

      Documents

      • High school and any post-secondary transcripts
      • Passport copy
      • English test result (IELTS, Duolingo, PTE or TOEFL)
      • Receipt for the CAD 150 application fee (paid through Flywire)
      • Proof of funds for the study permit

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS6.5 overall, no band below 5.0
      PTE Academic63, each component at least 50
      TOEFL iBT81, at least 19 in each section
      Duolingo English Test110
      Class 12 English waiverNot offered for India; India is not on the Saskatchewan Colleges exempt-country list

      Accommodation and living costs

      The college runs one small residence in Swift Current, a short distance from campus, with 12 furnished single bedrooms and shared kitchen, living and study spaces.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Swift Current residence, single roomIncludes utilities and Wi-FiC$700per month≈ ₹46,900
      Residence damage depositEqual to one month's rentC$700one-off≈ ₹46,900

      Campus and location

      Great Plains College has small campuses in rural Saskatchewan towns. The Continuing Care Assistant programme runs at several of them.

      • CCA students learn in classrooms and labs, then do clinical placements in home and long-term care settings.
      • The CCA certificate is granted by Saskatchewan Polytechnic.
      • Most CCA graduates work for the Saskatchewan Health Authority, under nurses.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      CCA graduates work in home care, long-term care, private care homes, acute care and supportive housing. Jobs are not guaranteed. For work rights during and after study, see our Canada country guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource
      Nurse aides and patient service associates, SaskatchewanCAD 17.00–24.86 an hour2024 Saskatchewan wage estimates, quoted on Great Plains College's CCA page

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      What can Indian students study at Great Plains College?

      The college's international page lists the Continuing Care Assistant certificate. Its 2026-27 international pricing also includes an Early Childhood Education Diploma. Ask the international admissions team which intakes are open.

      How much does the CCA programme cost?

      CAD 20,500 for 2026-27, covering tuition, books, student fees, health and dental insurance and lab costs. You pay at least half within 30 days of your offer.

      Can I get my deposit back if my visa is refused?

      Yes. If your study permit is denied, the deposit is refunded less a CAD 500 administrative fee. Once your permit is approved, the deposit is non-refundable if you do not attend.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Great Plains College.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories