Skip to content
Admission Mantra
The downtown Toronto skyline and the CN Tower seen across the harbour from Snake Island on a clear September day.
Flag of Canada

Confederation College

Thunder Bay, Canada · Public · Est. Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Founding year not stated on the pages we opened

Type

Public

Location

Thunder Bay, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Dillan Payne, CC BY-SA 4.0

About the university

Confederation College is a public Ontario college with its main campus in Thunder Bay and regional campuses across Northwestern Ontario. It teaches certificates, diplomas and advanced diplomas, one-year graduate certificates and a four-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Programmes on its international PGWP-eligible list include Computer Programming, Interactive Media Development, Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Technician, Aviation Technician - Aircraft Maintenance, Health Informatics, Health Administration and Leadership, Practical Nursing and Pharmacy Technician. Thunder Bay is a city of about 108,000 people and the regional hub of Northwestern Ontario, with four distinct seasons.

Programme tuition for international students is published only in fee charts on the college site. Full-time international tuition includes mandatory ancillary fees such as health insurance and a city-wide bus pass.

Type
Public college in Ontario; certificates, diplomas, advanced diplomas, graduate certificates and an honours nursing degree
Students
7,153 students (college figure; full-time and part-time not split)
Campuses
Main campus in Thunder Bay plus regional campuses across Northwestern Ontario, including Dryden, Kenora, Fort Frances, Red Lake, Sioux Lookout, Geraldton and Marathon
Programmes
60+ full-time programmes in 11 areas of study
PGWP-listed programmes
25 programmes on the international PGWP-eligible list
Intakes
September for most programmes; January as well for some (for example Health Informatics, Practical Nursing)

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    Confederation College doesn't publish course-by-course fees for international students online. See the courses on the official website (opens in a new tab), or ask our counsellor for the current list and fees.

      Scholarships

      • In-programme (current students)

        International Student Excellence Award

        Value: CAD 2,500

        Eligibility: Awarded to international students while they study; criteria are set by the International Education Centre

        Official page (opens in a new tab)

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Certificates and diplomas: secondary school (Class 12) with the subjects listed for the programme.
      • Apply through OCAS International; Confederation's International Admissions team issues the Letter of Acceptance.
      • Payment of the deposit or first payment is due by the date on your Letter of Acceptance, or you lose your seat.

      Postgraduate

      • Graduate certificates (such as Health Informatics, Health Administration and Leadership) need a completed diploma or degree; check the programme page for the field required.
      • Graduate certificates need the higher English level: IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0.

      Documents

      • Valid passport
      • Class 10 and Class 12 mark sheets
      • Degree or diploma transcripts and certificate (graduate certificates)
      • English test result from within two years of the programme start
      • Provincial Attestation Letter for the study permit, unless IRCC exempts you

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      IELTS AcademicCertificates and diplomas: 6.0 (no band below 5.5). Aviation, health care, accelerated and all graduate certificates: 6.5 (no band below 6.0). Pharmacy Technician: 7.0
      PTE Academic54 (no skill below 50); 60 (no skill below 54) for aviation, health care, accelerated and graduate certificates
      TOEFL iBT80 (no band below 20); 88 (no band below 22) for aviation, health care, accelerated and graduate certificates
      Duolingo English Test105 (no band below 95); 120 (no band below 105) for aviation, health care, accelerated and graduate certificates
      Class 12 English waiverNot offered for India; the exemption list of countries does not include India

      Accommodation and living costs

      Confederation has on-campus housing at Sibley Hall (residence with a mandatory meal plan, or dorm rental) and the Spruce and Cedar residence, plus home-sharing through SpacesShared and help with off-campus rentals. Off-campus landlords usually ask for first and last month's rent in advance.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Sibley Hall dorm rental, singleFurnished; utilities and internet includedC$488per month≈ ₹32,696
      Sibley Hall dorm rental, doubleFurnished; utilities and internet includedC$375per month≈ ₹25,125
      International health plan2026-27 mandatory feeC$652per year≈ ₹43,701
      International Student Recovery Fee2026-27: CAD 375 per semesterC$750per year≈ ₹50,250

      Campus and location

      The main Thunder Bay campus sits on green land along the McIntyre River. Most international programmes run there.

      • The Aviation Centre of Excellence is at Thunder Bay International Airport.
      • Regional campuses serve towns across Northwestern Ontario.
      • Mandatory fees include a universal bus pass (CAD 332 a year in 2026-27).
      • Thunder Bay calls itself the sunniest city in eastern Canada, with about 2,121 hours of sunshine a year.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      Confederation's programmes are career-focused, and some include co-op placements. Placements and jobs are not guaranteed. For work rights during and after study, including PGWP rules for college programmes, see our Canada country guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      How much is tuition at Confederation College for Indian students?

      Confederation publishes programme tuition in its full-time fee charts for each intake. Full-time tuition already includes mandatory fees such as health insurance and the bus pass. Books, uniforms and exam fees are extra.

      What English score do I need?

      IELTS 6.0 (no band below 5.5) for most certificates and diplomas, and 6.5 (no band below 6.0) for graduate certificates, health care and aviation programmes. PTE, TOEFL, Duolingo and CAEL are also accepted.

      Which programmes are PGWP-eligible?

      The college publishes an international PGWP-eligible list of 25 programmes, from Computer Programming to Practical Nursing. Check IRCC's current rules and our Canada country guide too.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Confederation College.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories