Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Cégep de Matane
Flag of Canada

Cégep de Matane

Matane, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the college website

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the college website

Type

Public

Location

Matane, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Ji-Elle at French Wikipedia, Public domain

About the university

Cégep de Matane is a public CEGEP in Matane, on the south shore of the St Lawrence in eastern Quebec. It offers two-year pre-university DECs and three-year technical DECs, including 3D animation, digital creation, photography, computer science, electrical engineering technology, dental hygiene, nursing, tourism and urban planning. All teaching is in French.

The college does not publish international tuition per programme: its 2026-27 cost page gives only a maximum of CAD 22,796 a year, varying by programme, and an estimated total of CAD 38,320 a year with living costs. For that reason no courses with fees are listed here; ask the college for the fee of your programme before you apply.

Type
Public CEGEP (college); awards the DEC, not degrees
Language of teaching
French
Programmes
10 technical DECs and 3 pre-university DECs
International students
More than 2,000 have studied at the college over 20+ years
Intake
August (autumn) for non-French international students; apply by 1 February

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    Cégep de Matane doesn't publish course-by-course fees for international students online. See the courses on the official website (opens in a new tab), or ask our counsellor for the current list and fees.

      Scholarships

      • UG

        Quebec tuition exemption (technical DECs)

        Value: Exemption from the international tuition

        Eligibility: A few full-time students in a technical DEC each year; you must still cover your living costs

        Official page (opens in a new tab)
      • UG

        Bourse d'excellence

        Value: CAD 14,000, plus the tuition exemption and RAMQ health cover

        Eligibility: Strict criteria; very few awards each year

        Official page (opens in a new tab)

      Admission requirements

      Undergraduate

      • Apply online through the international section of SRACQ, choosing Cégep de Matane and your programme, by 1 February for August.
      • You need the last three years of secondary school transcripts; technical programmes such as Informatique ask for 11 years of schooling and a set level in mathematics.
      • You may need to pass a French test; SRACQ explains who must take it and the levels.
      • Non-French international students pay a CAD 7,000 deposit after admission, and full tuition before 1 June. There are no payment plans.

      Postgraduate

      • Cégep de Matane does not offer postgraduate programmes.

      Documents

      • Birth certificate showing parents' names
      • Colour scans of Class 10 and Class 12 (and any later) transcripts and certificates
      • Translations into French or English where needed
      • Proof of passing the French test, if required
      • CAQ and study permit after admission

      Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

      English language requirements

      English requirements
      Test or routeTypical requirement
      Language of teachingFrench
      English testsNot used for admission
      FrenchA French test may be required; levels are set by SRACQ

      Accommodation and living costs

      The college runs an on-campus residence with single and double rooms, shared kitchens and lounges, on a 10-month lease from August to May.

      Accommodation and living costs
      ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
      Residence, small single room2026-27, 10-month leaseC$352per month≈ ₹23,584
      Residence, large single room2026-27, 10-month leaseC$387per month≈ ₹25,929
      Residence, double room (shared)Per person, 2026-27C$379per month≈ ₹25,393
      Health insurance (non-French students)College cost page, 2026-27; may changeC$1,380per year≈ ₹92,460

      Campus and location

      Cégep de Matane has one campus in Matane with an on-site residence.

      • Technical DECs in 3D animation, digital creation, photography and computer science.
      • Computer science includes a final-session internship and up to two paid ATE work placements.
      • Health DECs in nursing and dental hygiene.
      • DEC-to-bachelor's pathways in computer science with Quebec universities such as UQAR and Université Laval.

      Careers and graduate outcomes

      Technical DECs prepare you for jobs in Quebec, and pre-university DECs lead to university. Work rights depend on IRCC rules; see our Canada guide.

      Graduate outcomes
      WhatFigureSource

      Studying in Canada

      Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

      Other universities in Canada

      Compare all universities in Canada

      FAQs

      Is Cégep de Matane taught in English?

      No. All programmes are taught in French, and you may need to pass a French test to be admitted.

      How much is tuition?

      The college gives only a maximum of CAD 22,796 a year for 2026-27, varying by programme, and estimates about CAD 38,320 a year including living costs. A CAD 7,000 deposit is due after admission.

      Can I start in January?

      No. The January intake is only for French citizens in some programmes. Apply by 1 February for August.

      Sources

      Talk to our counsellor

      Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Cégep de Matane.

      IELTS / PTE status
      Best way to reach you

      #YouInspireUs

      Stories from our students and parents

      #StudyAbroadSample
      ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

      #1 Student name

      MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

      Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

      Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

      All student stories