Skip to content
Admission Mantra
Campus of Cégep de Chicoutimi
Flag of Canada

Cégep de Chicoutimi

Saguenay, Canada · Public · Est. Not stated on the college website

Updated 28 Oct 2026

Established

Not stated on the college website

Type

Public

Location

Saguenay, Canada

Ranking

Not ranked

Photo: Khayman, CC BY-SA 3.0

About the university

Cégep de Chicoutimi is a public CEGEP in Saguenay, Quebec. It offers two-year pre-university DECs and three-year technical DECs in health (nursing, respiratory therapy, physiotherapy, dental hygiene, biomedical laboratory technology), engineering technology (civil, electrical, metallurgical, architecture) and computer science and business. Its site also links the CQFA aviation school to its pilot training programme (Pilotage d'aéronefs). All teaching is in French.

The college's 2026-27 international admission tables list a fee for each programme: CAD 7,575, 9,805 or 11,740 per session. The pilot training programme is not in those tables, so we do not list it here. The college has on-campus residences from CAD 305 a month.

Type
Public CEGEP (college); awards the DEC, not degrees
Language of teaching
French
Programme length
Pre-university DEC 2 years (4 sessions); technical DEC 3 years (6 sessions)
Intakes
Autumn (deadline 1 March for most nationalities); winter for some programmes
Applications
Through SRASL (about CAD 85 application fee)
Residences
Two residences with 215 rooms, plus a 52-room partner residence

Rankings

    Popular courses with Indian students

    View all 13 courses with filters

    Fees for international students

    Course fees
    CourseDurationFee / year (CAD)Approx. in rupees
    Techniques de l'informatique (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$15,150≈ ₹10.2 lakh
    Soins infirmiers (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Technologie du génie civil (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie du génie électrique: Automatisation et contrôle (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Technologie du génie électrique: Électronique programmable (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$19,610≈ ₹13.1 lakh
    Techniques d'administration et de gestion (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$15,150≈ ₹10.2 lakh
    Techniques d'inhalothérapie (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh
    Techniques de physiothérapie (DEC)3 years (6 sessions)C$23,480≈ ₹15.7 lakh

    Fees are for international students for the entry year shown on each course page and can rise each year. Approximate exchange rates (based on ECB reference rates, March 2026). Actual rates on your payment date will differ.

    Want a course shortlist with fees?Our counsellor will compare courses at Cégep de Chicoutimi with similar universities in Canada.

    Scholarships

    • UG

      Bursary for international students at college level

      Value: Amount not stated by the college (see Cégeps Québec)

      Eligibility: Newly admitted full-time students in a technical DEC; priority to students from Francophonie member countries (excluding France) or Algeria. No application needed; the college selects candidates

      Official page (opens in a new tab)
    • UG

      Supplementary tuition exemption

      Value: Exemption from the international tuition supplement

      Eligibility: Full-time technical DEC students invited by the college to apply; based on French, academic record and the file. Not guaranteed

      Official page (opens in a new tab)

    Admission requirements

    Undergraduate

    • Apply through SRASL (about CAD 85 fee). For autumn, most nationalities must apply before 1 March; places are limited.
    • Winter 2028 applications open in mid-May 2027 and close in mid-September 2027.
    • You must take the SRASL French test unless you studied at a francophone institution in Canada, hold French or Belgian citizenship, or already have a recognised French test score.
    • Complete applications take about four weeks; the offer comes by email. Then apply for the CAQ and study permit.

    Postgraduate

    • Cégep de Chicoutimi does not offer postgraduate programmes.

    Documents

    • Passport
    • Class 10 and Class 12 records, as SRASL requires
    • French test result (SRASL test or a recognised test)
    • Quebec Acceptance Certificate (CAQ) and study permit

    Check if you are eligibleShare your marks and test scores and our counsellor will tell you which courses you can apply for.

    English language requirements

    English requirements
    Test or routeTypical requirement
    Language of teachingFrench
    English testsNot used for admission
    FrenchSRASL admission French test, unless exempt

    Accommodation and living costs

    The college has two residences with 215 rooms and a third 52-room residence run with a nearby landlord. Rooms are furnished with a fridge and sink; showers and toilets are shared on each floor. A CAD 180 yearly service fee and a CAD 305 reservation deposit apply.

    Accommodation and living costs
    ItemIn CADApprox. in rupees
    Pavillon Tremblay & Lemieux room or studio2026-27 ratesC$305–420per month≈ ₹20,435 – ₹28,140
    Pavillon Bon-Pasteur single room2026-27 rates; higher rate with private toiletC$450–570per month≈ ₹30,150 – ₹38,190
    Health insurance (GreenShield)2026-27C$1,380per year≈ ₹92,460

    Campus and location

    Cégep de Chicoutimi has its main campus in Saguenay; its pilot training programme is run through the CQFA.

    • Health DECs in nursing, respiratory therapy, physiotherapy, dental hygiene and biomedical laboratory technology.
    • Engineering technology in civil, electrical, metallurgical engineering and architecture.
    • Computer science and business administration DECs.
    • On-campus residences from CAD 305 a month.

    Careers and graduate outcomes

    Technical DECs prepare you for jobs in Quebec. Work rights during and after study depend on IRCC rules; see our Canada guide.

    Graduate outcomes
    WhatFigureSource

    Studying in Canada

    Visa rules, work rights and living costs apply to every university in Canada. Our country guide covers them in detail:

    Other universities in Canada

    Compare all universities in Canada

    FAQs

    Is Cégep de Chicoutimi taught in English?

    No. Teaching is in French, and most applicants must take the SRASL French test.

    How much is the tuition?

    For 2026-27 the college lists CAD 7,575, 9,805 or 11,740 per session depending on the programme, with two sessions a year, plus other fees and health insurance (CAD 1,380 a year).

    Can international students join the pilot training programme?

    The pilot training programme (CQFA) is not in the college's international fee tables, so ask the college directly before planning on it.

    When should I apply?

    For an autumn start, apply through SRASL before 1 March. Winter 2028 applications run from mid-May to mid-September 2027.

    Sources

    Talk to our counsellor

    Ask about courses, fees, scholarships and your eligibility for Cégep de Chicoutimi.

    IELTS / PTE status
    Best way to reach you

    #YouInspireUs

    Stories from our students and parents

    #StudyAbroadSample
    ft. Student nameMSc Data Science · United Kingdom

    #1 Student name

    MSc Data Science, United Kingdom · Study Abroad

    Sample text. A short story in the student's own words: how the counsellor helped them shortlist universities, understand the full cost and prepare their visa file.

    Design preview: sample cards show where real stories will appear. They are replaced by real students' stories (with written consent) before launch.

    All student stories